We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zipit exhilaration” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lough Key Forest and Activity Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boyle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lough Key Forest and Activity Park
Save
You added Lough Key Forest and Activity Park to your Saves list
Boyle, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Zipit exhilaration”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Visited zipit on st Patrick's weekend after the parade in carrick on Shannon and it is really good. Great staff and a great healthy outdoors activity. There are lovely walks through the forest paths also. We'll be back in June.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    7
    5
    7
See reviews for
27
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I visited Lough Key Forest Park primarily to go to Zip It but had a walk around the lovely grounds, I'm sure it would be a great place to take kids as there's a large playground, plenty of space to run around and ducks on the lake waiting to be fed!

We spent 3 hours in Zip it and it was the best fun i've had in a long time. It's quite a challenging course and I wouldn't advise it if you are afraid of heights. There are several different courses you can do and they cater for all abilities. I was aching all over the next day so be warned its quite a workout. I would recommend it as a great activity for families with older kids. I'll definitely pay a return visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Aug 10th 2012 - Just returned from first family (2ad & 4 girls 4-9 ) camping trip to Lough Key (Erris camping area €22pn). Were warned on booking that ground condition were soft due to rain which was fair enough.Upon arrival greeted by chirpy attendant who pointed out best available place in Erris to pitch. In agreement with other reviewers about the cleaniness of the toilet block - Cleaning sheet would appear to be signed more often than toilets cleaned! Security man did ro am around but we were lucky as no rowdies in our earshot.

We stayed for two nights and used the middle day to use the park paid activities. We took the family package of Adventure Kingdom, Boda Borg and Lough Key Experience for family at €50,discounted from €60 as were campers. Only worth it at that price though. The Adventure Kingdom @ €5 per child is steep considering it is a mere playground with no out of the ordinary features. It was well marshalled on our day there with only bracelet holders allowed access. Unsupervised children not allowed in or out. Parental seating could be increased given the supervision rule!


The on site cafe provides good food (check their facebook page for dets) but the children's selections are pricey. (Plain chicken wrap €5, but includes free Ribena!). Staff were completely overwhelmed on the day we used it with a 15 min Q to order and a futher 30min wait for food. (Gift shop sells take away teas & coffees for €1.50). Cafe does not serve breakfast! Cafe toilets had an unpleasant smell too!

There is no shop onsite for bread, milk of basic stuff so come prepared. A local shop advertisess twice daily deliveries but we didn't avail of or witness. Don't get excited about a trip into Boyle, although the Supervalu is large and woould appear the best place for supplies.

All in all a good trip. The only reason that I didn't award 2* is probably because the weather was 25 degrees, Katie Taylor won and everybody was in good form. This place needs dry weather for the enjoyment to be fulfilled.

We didn't avail of the water stuff like boat trips, fishing which are available on the Lake. Think it costs €10 per adult and €5 per child on the hour long lake tour but not sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a beautiful location on the shores of lough key in the spacious & comfortable riverhaven log houses in knock vicar. Only 10 min drive from Lough key forest park. Spent 2 fab days in lough key -loved Zipit. The staff were really great & took plenty of time with the kids(7&9) - explaining how to use the harnesses etc. we also did the tree top walk which was lovely, gave the boro puzzle thing a miss as it was a glorious sunny day. Went rowing on the lake, which was also a bit hit.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Just returned exhausted from Lough Key forest park. We did not camp there but stayed in the Abbey Hotel in Roscommon Town on a Super Valu break ( would highly recommend this hotel, but it is 40 mins away)
Our group consisted of two mums and four kids aged 7 to 12 . We did Zip it the first day arriving at 11.30 and ended up staying most of the day! The instruction was good and we all soon got the hang of it and progressed through the different levels as allowed by the kids ages. We had a few wobbles on the blue course but got there in the end! It was fantastic flying along through the trees. You would need to have a moderate level of fitness and agility to pull yourself around . We all had sore abs the next day.
Following a fab breakfast and swim at the hotel, we returned to Lough Key to do the Boda Borg game. This was good fun but we must be a bit thick as we only managed to stamp our card once on the balance game. We solved an odd bit of other courses but didnt complete any oher full level. The kids got a bit frustrated with it and I feel it may be more suitable for teenagers. We felt better at the end when we found out that only 17 teams have worked it all out in the five years it is open!
We had lunch in the restaurant, very good selection of food and spotless. We sat out on the deck overlooking the marina and enjoyed every mouthful.
The play ground was great and we did the tree top walk activity , climbing to the top of the viewing tower and then spotting that there was a lift!!!
All in all we had a ball!
There must be new toilets there because we could not fault them , absolutly spotless, soap hot water, dryers, showers. ( beside marina).
We spent about €200 between the two families which covered activities and food.
Ask for a parking token at desk when booking in and avoid €4 exit fee.
We didnt go on any walks or the boat trip as we ran out of time but will return during the summer again.
TIP pre book the activities as you can avoid longer waiting times !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Recently on the way home from a trip to Sligo myself any my girlfriend stopped in at Lough Key Forest Park. We didn’t use the camp site or follow any of the walks. We did however use the Zipit adventure centre. This was a great experience. It is well managed and there is a great atmosphere around it. We were lucky to get there on the second day of the season- so it wasn’t too busy. We were harnessed up, given an induction course (20 mins-its all that’s needed) and sent to the first course. The courses are tough and challenging but thoroughly enjoyable. The courses are all suspended aprox 5m in the forest in-between trees with a mix of rope bridge challenges, Zip lines, climbing walls and much more. This was a fantastic experience. The admission fee is totally worth it as to complete all courses will take up to 4 hours or more. After a fantastic experience we headed on our way. Exhausted but really good fun. We’ll definitely be back..Cant recommend Zipit enough

Room Tip: Zipit is a great day out, ample parking- bring a change of clothers-trackies, trainers adn an old ts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This camp site is as old as the hills and is run in the same way. A lot of people come year after year to it as it offers plenty of space and is close to the lough. Apart from that it has nothing else going for it. If it rains go home ! Management change year in and year out and do not care to much about anything,The toilet block can somtimes look and smell like a cow shed and there is very little for the children to play with except VERY expensive facilities at Lough Key itself. €5 a child for the play park does not work when you have 4 kids and lough key walk , Boda Borg, Zip etc are totally extortionate and not financially suited to families, unless you wish to part with over €100 for a days entertainment.

If its a spur of the minute thing when the sun is shinning it can be quite fun provided you do not get a bad crowd, Dubliners tend to head up at the weekends simply intent on a pissup, August was a nightmare for us last year and the single security man is no use at all.

If the sun shines take the bikes and fishing rods and make your own entertainment. There is some lovely walks but as for the camping, fore armed is fore warnded, If you get a bad crowd beside you pack up and go as they will drink, fight and light fires until 2 or 3 in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lough Key Forest and Activity Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Key Forest and Activity Park

Address: Boyle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Roscommon > Boyle
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Boyle
Number of rooms: 52

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lough Key Forest and Activity Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.