We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem, can't believe it's only a 3 star” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Sands Hotel to your Saves list
Ocean Sands Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Enniscrone, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Enniscrone
Western Ireland, Ireland
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
110 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
712 helpful votes 712 helpful votes
“A real gem, can't believe it's only a 3 star”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Really easy to find, located on Enniscrone’s main street & free parking, no problem in the hotel’s covered car park. Just one lift which was quite slow & in to reception for checking in which was very quick, very friendly & very informative. Up the lift to my non smoking room on the second floor which faced on to the street.
A very good room which was very clean, fresh, bright & modern with carpet floor & light coloured walls. A little bit on the warm side but easily cooled by a very good air con control. All the things needed for a comfortable stay were there with a large double bed, large wardrobe, wall mounted tv, workstation, luggage rack, table, 2 armchairs, iron & ironing board, tea/coffee, full length mirror, wall mounted hairdryer & smoke alarm. On checking in, I asked if wifi was available & was told that good quality, free wifi was available in the foyer but that it was most probably going to be very sketchy at best in the room. That proved to be the case as I tried to connect in the room several times but couldn’t get on to the hotel’s wireless network. My room had a very large roof window which let in an abundance of natural light. As I’ve already mentioned, my room faced the street but I had no issues with noise from outside the hotel or indeed, from inside.
The bathroom, clean, bright & modern was a nice size with fully tiled floor & walls & had a bath, fixed head shower with good pressure & plenty of hot water, shower curtain, large mirror, toiletries, several bath & hand towels, shaving socket & wall mounted vent/fan.
I went down for breakfast at 0900 & even though the hotel was full, I was the only person in the dining room. With friendly & attentive staff, breakfast was excellent with a good selection of cereals, full Irish fry, tea, coffee, fruit juices, croissants, toast, yoghurts, fruit slices & fresh whole fruit. Other guests finally started to appear for breakfast as I was leaving the dining room at 0930/35.
Checking out was another friendly experience with a complimentary national daily newspaper, no queues & the receptionist asking if my stay had been ok, a very simple question but a question which wasn’t asked in quite a few of the hotels that I have previously reviewed.
All in all, a pleasant one night stay in a very good hotel. With a great location, friendly & attentive staff, a very good room & a good quality breakfast, I’d return to this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    80
    29
    17
    13
See reviews for
134
133
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sligo, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had our Christmas staff party at the Ocean Sands and it was lovely! All of our food was delicious and the portions were huge! The set Christmas Menu had something for everyone and everything was cooked to perfection. Our waitress Fiona was brilliant, she was very attentive and made sure our night was a great success and that everyone was happy. After the meal there was music in the bar which was lovely and there was a great buzz about the place. Aoife (Another of the girls working there) made sure that we had our fill of mulled wine and kept a great eye on everything; she made sure everything ran smoothly! Our night was great and I could not recommend this place enough! Thanks to Fiona and Aoife for looking after us :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

after giving away the disabled room we had booked weeks before. The receptionist decided that my elderly disabled badge holder mum was able to walk across the courtyard to another. The room was dull and dimly lit but quite modern with a small window sea view. after we had settled Breakfast was a grand banquet, no skimping very fresh with all your basic needs and helpful staff. The toaster was extremely noisey to the point of annoying and no one could work it very well! The resturant had some lovely tables with the Hotel logo carved on them and lots with seaview. They were quite lax about a flashing light above our table and the cod that night was skimpy and tasteless but apart from the mentioned above the package was GR8 and liked the breakfast. No wifi in room an didnt want 2 sit in reception in my pjs. Turned out just okay.

Room Tip: seaview is best away from smoking places
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roundstone, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Stayed here a couple of times now. Food always very good, rooms very nice and staff extremely pleasant and helpful. Located right beside lovely beach and a couple of nice bars. Also the value for money is very good. Food very reasonable as are room rates. Will be back again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We in Ireland seem to think that we have to go abroad to get good value for our euro.??? Not so, the Ocean Sands provided us with excellence in every department during our stay there this weekend. Initially I thought because it was so inexpensive that there would be compromises in quality or standards, but I was pleasantly surprised , food was outstanding both breakfast time and evening meal time. Served by competent pleasant local staff. Receptionists were flawless, intelligent, pleasant and well informed , I feel the reason is team work, it's seldom that you see the owners of a Hotel "digging in " on all levels I was served my drinks in the bar on Saturday night by Teresa Devaney herself and I was served in seconds. Direct hands on leadership. This Quality was clear to be seen in all services in this Hotel. Thank you for making our weekend so enjoyable and we will definitely be back soon. I do recommend this hotel for all the above but I have to mention the fantastic walks we had on the beach which the hotel is practically built upon. Excellent and proud we have such a GEM in Ireland. Thank You.

Room Tip: We were overlooking the sea. This surely was a bonus but we spent very little time in the room as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Visited here in August with my family,great food, friendly atmosphere,pleasant helpful staff,fabulous view.Early bird menu fantastic value. its a busy spot but staff always made time to chat to customers. Rooms clean and spacious.Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely weekend break here. The hotel is small and very friendly and welcoming. All the staff were extremely helpful and the service was great. We asked for a sea view and this was not a problem - the receptionist happily changed our room. The room was spacious clean and comfortable with a comfy bed and a lovely bathroom - end of course a great view over the beautiful beach and the Atlantic. We had an evening meal as part of our package which was very good- amazing deep fried Brie! Breakfasts were also very good. Enniscrone itself is quiet with not much to do but the beach is amazing foe a long walk - and there's Ballina just 10 minutes away by car if you want a bit more to do. In summary- a very nice stay in a 3 star hotel with 4 star service!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sands Hotel

Address: Main Street, Enniscrone, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Sligo > Enniscrone
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Enniscrone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Sands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Enniscrone, a picturesque seaside town in County Sligo, this hotel is situated on a hill overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, near to 5 km of golden beach. The hotel enjoys spectacular views of Killala Bay, Enniscrone Pier and the Valley of Diamonds. Located within 5 minutes walk of the hotel is Enniscrone's Championship Golf Links. Children’s activities in the area include Waterpoint, a fully-equipped water park, health suite and sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and HostelBookers so you can book your Ocean Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ocean Sands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.