We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Holyrood Hotel to your Saves list
The Holyrood Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
1 review
“Great hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Room and food was great except they were no Wi-Fi access and window wouldn't shut so alot of noise.Not much to do at night at all.Other thing was that they weren't much TV channels at all and supposed to be certain good channels but weren't there when we checked. I definitely would give it 3 stars but no more.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We were happy to read that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel. We have free wifi in the lobby area which does not require a password. We also have entertainment in our Waterfront Bar every Saturday night and family entertainment each evening in The Spinning Wheel.

We hope you return to the Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    109
    71
    59
    117
See reviews for
176
141
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Went here on the 12th July for 5 nights half board. I couldn't fault the place. The staff was brilliant, food was beautiful, kids club was amazing. Sandra the receptionist was brilliant I had car trouble and she got a mechanic sorted for me and made sure that everything was sorted for me to collect my car e.g arranging transport. This should be a 5* hotel. Any bad reviews about this hotel is people just being fussy.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed the service and hospitality you received. We have passed on your kind words to Sandra and hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We as a family would like to thank the Holyrood Hotel for a wonderful break in Bundoran, my husband and I and 3 boys aged 14, 10 & 2 have just returned from a 4 night stay & we can't praise the Holyrood enough from start to finish it was just amazing, the reception staff, restaurant staff & of course the kids club & entertainment in the Spinning wheel bar was fantastic we always travel abroad but have never experienced such hospitality as the Holyrood has to offer, we were very sad to leave today but excited too book our next visit, we had the pleasure to meet the
Legend himself Mr Brian McEniff & have a few conversations as a Gaa family of boys this was an experience in itself but when we got home to. Belfast we realised we didn't get his autograph much to their Grandas dismay so roll on our next visit we will definitely not forget thank you all so much Hokyrood & keep doin what your doing cause your doing brilliantly, The Wisdom family xo

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed the service and hospitality you received. We passed on your kind words to Brian who said he would be happy to give you an autograph if you email the hotel on info@holyroodhotel.com with your address we could arrange this for you.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed Friday night in this busy hotel. Found the staff to be friendly and patient. If you have no patience for kids this hotel isn't for you! It's a family hotel so get over it! I picked Bundoran for the beaches (always enjoy the walks there) and for the choice of places to stay (ensuring good value). Time was limited so I selected the option to book a 4 course dinner on the website. I went via the Discover Ireland website. The B&B including dinner came around €127 each. The rooms were a bit dated, but clean and comfortable. The food was very tasty, well cooked and good portions. My wife had the salmon roulade to start the the chicken in a cheesy sauce for main. I had the chicken strips to start, a bit dry these, then the leg of lamb. Both served with a nice mash, and excellent veg. To finish I'd the apple and berry crumble with custard, my wife the pavlova. Hard to find value in July, I recommend you check out this friendly wee hotel!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and your meal in The Watermelon Restaurant.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newry
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I made a group booking for a hen party with this hotel. The customer service provided from the time the booking was made was excellent. Sandra in particular was very helpful when I made email enquiries about the local area & activities we had planned. As we had booked to stay during sea sessions i had expected our check-in etc to be rushed but the staff were very friendly & took timer to answer all our queries etc. the rooms were lovely & all amenities required for a short stay available. The location is excellent, very central. The price was very reasonable. Breakfast the next morning was spot on, some buffet items & a cooked breakfast served to the table. The car park out the back is very convenient & free when you are staying. All in all a great stay & a lovely weekend in Bundoran. Special thanks to the staff of the Holyrood Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your weekend away. We are lucky to have a great team of friendly, hardworking staff and we have passed on your kind words to Sandra. We are centrally located in Bundoran which is ideal for groups staying as all amenities are within walking distance. We hope to see you all again in the near future and enjoy the wedding day girls.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in late June and it was a nice place in general. The facilities were good especially the pool but we could not get wifi in our room and found out you need to pay by voucher for the internet....also the cleaners NEVER EVER came once!! We were disappointed because of this. Other than that it was a good hotel, with a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. Firstly we are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. In relation to wifi it is now available in our guest rooms free of charge this is something we have been working on recently. I was disappointed to read that the house keepers did not visit your room, I have spoken to the housekeeping supervisor about this and we are unsure as to how your room was overlooked during your stay, perhaps was your do not disturb sign on the door. I do apologize that this happened and hope you return to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed here a while back with a living social deal. Hotel was nice, Spa and pool are great and the spa receptionist/manager was so helpful!! The deal we got on LS was a very good deal. dinner breakfast and a treatment in the spa!! The hotel was very quiet, but it meant we had the pool to ourselfs! The room was very warm however, there was no AC in the rooms. Its in a nice location, so I would return!!

Room Tip: ask for a sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed the service and hospitality you received. We have passed on your kind words to the manager of our Escape Spa. We do hope you return to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holyrood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.