We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Holyrood Hotel to your Saves list
The Holyrood Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Enjoyable Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here in August with my family. Had a relaxing stay with my husband and 2 kids, excellent kids club with a list of activities everyday.. Found it good for a rainy afternoon when we couldn't get out as planed. Dinned in the restaurant which was very busy but food was up 2 standard and staff courteous. Reception staff have there hands full with the hotel so busy but always so helpful and thanks Sarah for sorting a birthday surprise for my eldest. All in all cannot see what all the bad reviews are about, needs updating a small bit but in times like this I think most places do.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel. Thank you very much for your kind words in relation to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family to the Hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    125
    81
    69
    130
See reviews for
207
159
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carrickmacross, Monaghan, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I booked this hotel as I had wanted to go to bundoran and wanted a hotel with a pool for the kids. I had booked a family room with a travel cot, we arrived at the hotel on Friday evening and the reception area was quite nice and the lady in reception was lovely but after that I have very little positives about this hotel. I found the room to be dreadful and no travel cot in the room windows looking out onto the street but the dirt outside the windows was disgusting, toilet seat falling off, no wee extras of shampoos or not even a remote for the telly. These rooms in major need of a revamp. The smell of stale cigarettes on the corridor is horrible. And our week end package included a meal. we had no sooner ordered and the starter was out so led me to believe that everything was not made fresh. Breakfast was not great either, ordered a poached egg and whoever was cooking couldn't even do that it was like a hard boiled egg. I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am most disappointed to read your review. The Holyrood is a family run 3 star property with an excellent location in the centre of the pretty seaside resort of Bundoran. Our aim is to offer a warm welcome, comfortable rooms with excellent service & food at reasonable prices. It is not our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy with service & hospitality offered.

Upon check in a cot was requested and brought to your room and when a staff member brought it there it was noted there was no remote which was then got again straight away. The Holyrood Hotel is ideally located on the sea front and at present we are experiencing high winds which accounts for sand and debris on the outside of the windows. I am once again sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had the good fortune to spend 5 days in the Holyrood Hotel in mid-August. This was my first time in the hotel and I sincerely hope to return there some time in the near future. I enjoyed every minute of my stay and would highly recommend it to family and friends. The staff were friendly, courteous and professional in every way. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was clean, bright and comfortable. Clean towels were distributed every day. Tea, coffee and milk were replenished daily - without having to ask. The food was excellent - great variety and served piping hot. Breakfasts were substantial and service prompt and courteous. We were never made to feel rushed.Even though the hotel was almost full throughout our stay we were never made to feel rushed. Reception was staffed at all times and the general atmosphere was very people friendly.

Room Tip: Corner suites and large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel. Thank you very much for your kind words in relation to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
navan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

after reading many negative reviews of this hotel i was nervous to say the least but we had a great deal and decided to go ahead with it. One thing i did do was note on my booking form and call ahead of time asking for a "refurbished" room. Staff were very accommodating the room was lovely and clean. the walls and radiator could use a clean and repaint but other than that was good. bed was very comfy, sheets clean, big flat screen, large bathroom and tea and coffe making facilities. no complaints for room. i do think , however, not all rooms were as nice as ours. We had meals included in our cost and i must say the evening meals could definitely be improved, it was a set menu to choose from and u could tell the meals had been sitting out under a heat lamp for quite some time, potatoes inedible. dessert was nice and staff were efficient and friendly. breakfasts were fine. fiance used the pool and said it was fine and staff friendly. one minor complaint was i was looking forward to "abba show" on sunday nite as advertised on the board in the reception area only be told on the nite this was an old board from the previous month and no longer applied. bit of a downer. i would stay again if going to bundoran.

Room Tip: ask for a refurbished room. nightclub is noisy on a sat night so if that is something that will bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 day mid week break at the Holyrood. We had a spacious room with excellent views. From the customer service provided by staff to the beautiful food served for both breakfast and dinner and the lovely spa we really could not have asked for a better short break. We had a fantastic break, just totally relaxing . We were apprehensive after reading previous negative reviews but thankfully we had the opposite experience. Thanks so much to the lovely team at this hotel , we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Rooms are a bit tired for the price but a great size and very clean, the tv was broken in the room and the repair man was unavailable until Monday to fix it but they did send a string of people to have a go in the end I was able to fix it myself. The breakfast can be a bit of a nightmare with a queue to get into the restaurant but once your there the food is fab. Location is great for an old time holiday with amusements, knick knack shops and the best surfing in Ireland. Overall we'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We did not stay in the hotel but have eaten in the carvery on a few occasions. We found the staff to be very helpful and courteous. The food was excellent in quantity and quality. We recommended the carvery to our friends and they were as happy us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoy and recommend dining in The Holyrood Hotel. Our aim is to offer a warm welcome, with excellent service & food at reasonable prices. We look forward to your continued custom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holyrood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.