We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Holyrood Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Holyrood Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Bundoran
Cavan, Cavan, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great family Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We just checked out today. Great family hotel, the owner really takes an interest in his business and seems to chat with ease to everyone in the hotel, he gives great advice on where to visit in the area etc. The breakfast is great, one evening meal was included in our stay and it was excellent. I had a grandparent, niece and three children aged 4, 2 and 10 months and all our needs were met. The staff were lovely yet very competent. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Lovely hotel, well located in the town. We were too busy with three children to get to use the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    94
    59
    52
    115
See reviews for
150
129
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed here with a number of married friends. Having viewed Tripadvisor I was a little concerned of what I had let ourselves in for. Our room was clean and tidy although there was A/C noise and our other choice was at the front with the warning that it was noisy during the weekends to 4 am! Our evening was excellent with very good service in the main dining room as was our Sunday night meal in the bar/entertainment area. What put a damper on the weekend was the number of anti British songs sung to the glorification of murder by terrorists by a female singer. I quite like Irish and country music but some, and I emphasise some, were over the top and wouldn't encourage some people to book here again. Our wives visited all the rooms of the others with us and one, especially, left a lot to be desired to the extent that even the management thought that it was poor when they were asked to view it!!! I'm still open minded about returning but I fear what I will see/hear again!!!!

Room Tip: Don't in all accounts use room 110 - a dump when I stayed. Some of the back rooms facing the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel. Entertainment in The Waterfront Bar is by local artists with playlists which we have approved, we do not condone any "anti British songs", sometimes the singers take requests which may have occurred in this instance.

We hope you come back to The Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crumlin, Co Antrim
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend in dec 2012 the hotel staff were very very friendly and helpful the evening meal was lovely the only down side was the decor in the hotel and the manky bathroom with discoloured shower curtain and mouldy grout not good, hotel in the very centre of the town close to all bars and restaurants if I was going back ask for one of the more updated rooms although I don't think the updated rooms have the sea view it's up to yourself do you prefer a modernised room looking over a car park or a dated room with magnificent views

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We called at this hotel for a coffee on our way to Sligo, when we walked in , it was very dark and uninviting. The reception staff never acknowledged our arrival or inquired if we needed any help. I asked the lady on reception where could we get a coffee, she spoke to us abruptly, no menu, just 'Is it coffee you want'? A lady came with a tray with scones and cups etc but no tea or coffee, this all took 40mins, we got fed up and told the reception lady we were unsatisfied and would go else where. Further up the street a lovely wee coffee shop nice food and staff made up for the previous Hotel.

Room Tip: wouldn't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your time at the Holyrood Hotel although I was very disappointing to read you were not satisfied with the hospitality offered. I can only apologize that you found our reception staff unhelpful, I can assure you this is very unusual for our staff.

We hope you return to the Hotel in the near future and have a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My friend Bridget and I stayed there at the weekend 17th May 2013. I drove from Bray Co. Wicklow. A very long drive with beautiful views. We had a great weekend. The place was very clean and the staff were lovely. Some of the wardrobes etc could do with updating but they are only there to hang clothes in so that did not matter too much to us. !!!!
The weather was not great but we had lovely walks and the pubs were great fun. All in all I had a great time there and I would go back again and recomend it to friends. I think that all the people who left bad reviews need to lighten up a bit and have a sense of fun and just get over little things that annoy them.
Hi to the lovely girls at reception. They were so nice. We will be back again.Berni Vickers, Wicklow

Room Tip: nice views from most rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights on a deal (Tues-Friday in early May) which for the price, all 3 of us reckoned it to be tremendous value. Reading the other reviews we had certain reservations but we were very happy we made the choice and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The outside of the hotel does need redecorating and the sign writing needs attention; the reception area is a great standard and very comfortable as are the dining areas and bar (which is very comfortable); the rooms were recently decorated, very clean, average spaciousness with a fresh, very clean bathroom; furniture is certainly tired and past it's sell by date BUT it is clean and functioning; the beds were again, very comfortable.
The rooms were cleaned every day plus as much fresh towels as required. It has a large car park and although the deal allowed for a free spa treatment, we ran out of time and never got to the spa area.
The choice of food is good, the quality of the offering is again good and the service is excellent.
The real gem of this hotel is a) its staff.....no matter what we asked for it was always met with, "that's no bother" be it first thing in the morning or last thing at night. They are real stars of the hotel trade and make for a superb team. Thankyou to each and every one of them!!! b) its location......Donegal, Sligo, Enniskillen, Killybegs and the beautiful Donnegal countryside and seaside are all on your door step.
Be sensible....this is not nor does it purport to be, a 5 star hotel but if you want a homely, comfortable hotel and can put up with a few scratches and knocks on your wardrobe door, pampered by staff who genuinely wish to see your stay enjoyed as much as possible, don't even hesitate.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of the hotel have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel. We are very pleased with your kind words in relation to our staff and hope that we can welcome you and your friends back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

First things first - we got terriffic value through one of the daily deal sites and in fairness to this hotel you get what you pay for. Myself and my partner and two friends stayed here for a weekend in early May.
POSITIVES:
Staff are great, Sarah on reception was very helpful in particular when I was booking. In general all staff are really friendly and helpful. The owner introduced himself to us twice which was a nice touch. The spa is good, I went for the aqua therapy and it was really great and herself went for the seaweed bath and it was super too. Nice little bar with music on Fri and Sat night. The food was terrific - breakfast cooked to order was great and we all had a three course sit-down dinner with wine on the Saturday which (except for one really tiny stuffed Portobello for my starter and crumble which was served cold with warm custard) was absoutely lovely. The ground floor of the hotel is old fashioned style but is quite charming and spotless. The location is great in middle of main street overlooking the sea. The second of our bedrooms was a family room and had been recently refurbished and was very large with two double beds and a single and was a perfectly good room, complete with flatscreen. Everywhere was very clean.
NEGATIVES:
On check-in we were greeted by a lovely girl at reception who advised us it was her first day and wasn't able to answer many questions. (strange for a girl on first day to be on her own at reception on a Friday evening?!)We were allocated a room on 2nd floor which was really dark, had a broken light over the bed with wires sticking out of it, only one ceiling light and 1 lamp to light the room, a shower which was cracked and seen better days and the bed was ready for the skip. We immediately went to reception to request a change of room, which was done by a receptionist who came out from the back to help the new receptionist and was actually a little rude. We weren't the only people, as another couple at the desk were demanding a refund and refusing to stay in the hotel...!! We were changed rooms (from 231 to 308) and although the room was brighter, it really wasn't any better. The double bed had dubious stains (which may have been blood) on the mattress, the curtains were thin and didn't keep out the light, the furniture was ancient, the whole back of the wardrobe was coming away, the tv was at least 20 years old, the bathroom was not good at all - rusty shower pole over bath, toilet seat was coming away from toilet, wood panel was rotten around the bath. Main problem was no hot water in shower - reported to staff on 2nd day but the issue was never rectified. Breakfast is only from 8.30-10am, which invariably led to huge queues from 9.30 to 10am. On Sunday we queued from 9.50 and finally got breakfast at 10.31 served. Also, strangely, the cereal and juices are just inside the main door so lots of confusion and people blocking the entrance. Hotel only has one lift, so constantly waiting for lifts or climbing the stairs to third floor. On the Saturday night a night club in the basement went on until 3am and was loud and vibrated through the whole place.
OVERALL: This is a hotel with character in places, great staff and lovely food, but awful guest rooms and a major need for the basics you expect in any three star hotel are evident throughout. This seems to be the hotel in the McEniff group that has sadly been forgotten. Unless serious money is invested I most definitely would not return.

Room Tip: Request a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holyrood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.