We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As my first review was removed..???” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Holyrood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Holyrood Hotel to your Saves list
The Holyrood Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Dundalk, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“As my first review was removed..???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stay clear of this hotel....has to be hands down the worst hotel iv ever stayed in...site pics are at least 20 years old and VERY misleading...food was very average...not enough staff...rooms where very dirty and shabby...bathroom was disgusting cracked tiles everywhere and this was in a family room and with 2 small kids with us for the weekend this was dangerous...heating didn't work room was freezing..i had to block the gaps in the window with toilet roll to stop the wind from getting in..had to ask for electric heaters and we got 2 broken heaters fit for the bin.. both showers it the room didn't work first night...and no water AT ALL 2nd night ..we had to use the showers in the swimming pool...so if your going to stay in bundoran stay well clear of the holyrood hotel..(Faulty Towers) and as for my last review been removed iv now copied and pasted this review so i can replace it every time its removed...THIS HOTEL SHOULD BE CLOSED DOWN...or charge the proper prices for this hell hole.. 280euro for 2 nights stay is wayyyyyyyyyyyyy over priced for the dump they expect you to sleep in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am most disappointed to read your review. The Holyrood is a family run 3 star property with an excellent location in the centre of the pretty seaside resort of Bundoran. Our aim is to offer a warm welcome, comfortable rooms with excellent service & food at reasonable prices. It is not our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy with service & hospitality offered. It is regrettable that I did not get the opportunity to meet with you during your stay to discuss your unhappiness with the hotels facilities & I am sorry that the hotel did not meet the standards you expected. The pictures featured on our website are all recent images of the hotel and fairly depict the hotel facilities. We have an excellent reputation for food and have a large amount of both local customers & hotel guests who eat with time & time again. You haven't specified as to what department you felt we were understaffed. We always endeavour to provide a high level of service and we staff our departments accordingly. Sometimes it can be difficult to get it right especially with an unexpected rush. I have asked the accommodation manager to thoroughly check for "dangerous" broken tiles and when found the tiles will be replaced immediately. We do employ the services of a full time maintenance man who is on site to provide ongoing repairs. On the weekend you and your family stayed with us the country was suffering under extreme weather conditions with unseasonably cold weather. As a result we did have trouble with hot water in a small number of rooms, this problem was rectified as soon as possible. I apologise for any convenience caused to you and your family. I am available to speak with you at you earliest convenience if you would like to discuss this matter further. Please email or phone the hotel and we can arrange a suitable time to discuss your comments in more detail .
I would also like to point out that we did not remove your first review. We cannot remove any reviews from Tripadvisor. Reviews can only be removed by Tripadvisor, I would suggest that you contact them directly to clarify this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    109
    71
    59
    117
See reviews for
176
141
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have been travelling up to Bundoran for about 16 years with my family and have never had to complain about anything! All the staff are obliging and friendly, the rooms are clean and the food always fresh and gorgeous. What more could you want? Love it :-)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel will give a similar view to that below, which makes it even more enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

It's a rather old-fashioned Irish hotel, nice big building on the Main street and easy access to the beach for walks etc. The rooms are large and light but very warn-out and shabby. I took some photos which I rarely do, if it was one or two scratches on the wall or an odd cracked tile - I wouldn't mind, i am a reasonable person, but the room we got had simply required alot of maintenance and a good thorough clean! Some furniture definately needs replacing as well! The first travel cot we got for the baby didn't work either.
Now, the dinner... I can only say that out of four of us noone finished any of the three courses and not because we were not hungry! My mother-in-law (english teacher) had a good laugh at the bar reading the signs with numerous spelling mistakes.
Overall the staff are good and helpful, and the spa/pool is very nice, but the lack of maintenance and updating is starting to show! Their housekeeping staff need a kick up their back side, the dirty bathrooms are simply uneccaptable!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guest,
I am glad you found our staff to be 'good' and 'helpful' but I am disappointed to read about your disatisfaction. The Holyrood is a family run 3 star hotel located in the centre of Bundoran town. It is not our policy to have patrons of the hotel leave unhappy with service & hospitality received. I would like to assure you your comments have been taken seriously and will be discussed at our next management meeting, we have since checked all spelling on signage throughout the Hotel and it was just a case of some members of staff putting things up without them being checked.

We have a very high level of regular customers who love the Holyrood for a number of reasons including our food ,the warm welcome they receive, our prime location, our comfortable rooms, our leisure & spa facilities & the excellent value for money we offer our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my partner arrived for a nights stay on 9th March for a birthday treat for myself from my partner. The reception we received on arrival was fantastic very friendly and welcoming. The room was great very clean and spacious also the dinner we had that night in the hotel bar was mouthwatering . The breakfast in the morning was also lovely overall our stay was brilliant from the room to the food to the warm and friendly staff in the hotel . We loved our stay and we'd love to come back again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here, staff were very welcoming and it's just simply in a great spot. Had a great sea view from our room and Bundoran is a sweet spot for a surfing holiday. Will go back and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel. Bundoran is renowned for surfing, the Hotel is ideally located just across from the beach and we are always happy to store any surfboards or equipment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a 16 man conference last week and were overwhelmed by the facilities and the hospitality at the Holyrood. The rooms were luxurious and the leisure facilities were serene.
The bar facility was cool and the interior decor, especially for photographs were great. Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel. Bundoran is a very scenic area so we hope you and your team got some good images and enjoyed your conference

We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dromore, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

An absolutely wonderful stay at a great price. The food was fabulous - we ended up having 3 meals in the hotel because it was so good and no dearer than eating in one of the cafes up the street. The seaweed bath was an added treat that was well worthwhile. The staff were really lovely and nothing was too much trouble. the fire in the reception area creates a lovely space to relax and people watch. We arrived on Friday evening and stayed until Sunday night and I felt as if I'd been away for a week! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management321, Manager at The Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest, we really appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your stay at the Holyrood Hotel. We are delighted that you were satisfied with the hospitality and service you received at The Holyrood Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyrood Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Holyrood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holyrood Hotel, Bundoran has always been renowned for its warmth and hospitality down through the years. The first of the McEniff Hotels, it has been in the family for three generations.Managed by Seanie and Audrey McEniff, they carry on a proud tradition which has been handed on by Mrs. Elizabeth McEniff, Founder of the hotel group.The Holyrood Hotel with its well appointed and spacious ensuite bedrooms, ensures that guests enjoy the comfort and stress free environment they have become to expect from the Holyrood Hotel. Located just a stones throw away from Blue Flag Beaches, a world renowned 18 hole links Golf course, and shadowed by the Darty Mountains. The Holyrood Hotel can only captivate you and yours.One can experience the truly traditional atmosphere in the Waterfront Bar. Spacious and beautifully decorated. Sit in real comfort and sample a wine from our wide ranging cellar or perhaps try one of our exotic cocktails. An extensive bar menu is available in the Waterfront Bar daily.With beautiful views over Donegal bay you won't find a more Soothing place to unwind with a drink and watch the sun setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Holyrood Bundoran
Hotel New Holyrood

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holyrood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.