We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel (and avoid bundoran)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Central Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Central Hotel to your Saves list
Grand Central Hotel
Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Cork
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel (and avoid bundoran)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

As always when I review in trip advisor I endeavour to be fair and objective. So I will explain my low rating

The hotel in this staff were friendly and helpful to us but that was its only redeeming point

The rooms are it's low point. I am not too sure to rate them as 1 or 2 star rooms. I believe they should shutdown the hotel over the winter and invest heavily in bringing the rooms up to at least 3 star rating(I have included pictures). Also the old thin windows allow do nothing to prevent the noise coming in from the main street

I thought the breakfast was only ok and cemented the 2 star rating to me

Also I believe it was such poor value. My expectations were not high for this hotel but at €110 per night for a double room,irritating represents no value for customers. These rooms should be no more than €60/70 per night



Finally do yourself a favour and avoid bundoran .. It's a tacky seaside town with amusements, fast food and unpleasant bars.
Donegal is an incredible county, go and enjoy all it's other wonderful areas

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your review however we have to disagree with you on a few points that you have made.

Our Rooms have met with the requirements and standards of a 3 Star property and our superior rooms have exceeded that rating. August is our Peak Season in Bundoran as you would have noticed the hundreds of visitors to Bundoran being such a popular sea side destination and is reflected in our rate. At the moment we are offering B&B at €29per person sharing Midweek as it is no longer Peak Season.

On weekends there can be on occasion noise but we are located on the main street of Bundoran "Central" in location and close to all the numerous amenities that "Beautiful Bundoran" has to offer.

The photo you have included is of your own room while you were occupying it and it is also unfair to show this picture as our rooms do not look like this on arrival.

If you were not happy with Breakfast we would advise that you should have said something to staff at the time who are more than willing to assist you, a replacement breakfast would have been offered.

Finally we would like to mention that your comment on Bundoran being "Tacky" and "unpleasant" was totally unfair and biast as our repeat customers will all agree.

Yes Donegal is a wonderful place to visit and Bundoran is the perfect place to start, the most southern Town in County Donegal, sandwiched between the mountains and the Atlantic Ocean, with Blue Flag Beaches, and numerous outdoor adventure activities as well as a pub for every mood and various top class eating establishments, prooves that Bundoran is and continues to be a "Jewel in the crown of the North West"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    60
    34
    31
    58
See reviews for
56
72
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Grand Central for 3 nights in August.Check-in was quick and friendly enough.We got a family room which was basically 2 rooms joined together and proved to be very spacious for our family of 5.Rooms basic but clean and comfortable but slightly worried that child safety locks on windows were broken - we brought this to the attention of the hotel staff but no action was ever taken to repair or replace the safety locks.
When I asked for 2 wine glasses to bring to my room I was stunned to hear that hotel policy didn`t allow this due to health and safety as there had been incidents where people had stepped on broken glass (despite the fact that tumbler type glasses are provided in the rooms?).We eventually got the wine glasses after offering to pay a 10 Euro damage deposit. We had to transport ice to our room in plastic pint glasses from the hotel bar as hotel policy didn`t allow ice buckets to be brought to the rooms which I find very strange.
Breakfast and dinner were pretty much what you`d expect in a 3 star property.Staff were friendly enough but didn`t seem to want to go out of their way to help resolve issues.
Bundoran is a great little town and the hotel is in an excellent location but this hotel could be so much more with a little more "Can-do" attitude.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co cavan ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

exellent hotel. we stayed for one week. there were no complaints.telivisions could be improved rooms were cleaned every day at same time so we knew when to be there or not. receptionist was very helpfull.staff very efficent .the food was good with large portions

Room Tip: corner suites are larger with extra windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Wow, Thank you for your excellent review. Televisions are currently in transition in Ireland to be upgraded between analog and digital so when this gets completed more channels with a clearer picture will become available to guests.

Thank you for mentioning how helpful our reception team is and how efficient our staff are.
Our head chef would like to also pass on his thanks to you for mentioning how good the food is!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Grand Central Hotel in the Future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast northern ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

stayed here with husband and two children, bit worried wen read reviews. Hotel on main street our room at fron of hotel
Very central, room very nice and down the street was a lovely beach and park.
would stay here again, very good value

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you for such a nice review!

Looking forward to hopefully welcome you and your family back to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

on arriving to the hotel, the receptionist was not very friendly or helpful. I did not get the room which I had requested but this was changed and I was given the room I requested. The room was basic but could have been cleaner. There was a layer of dust on the bedside locker. Comfortable sleep though. TV is very out dated with poor reception. Bathroom was spacious and it was clean. Rooms are quiet. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your review.
The Reception Team in the Grand Central Hotel are more than happy to assist our Guests in a friendly and pleasant manor.
Had you mentioned the state of your room when you checked in we would have sent a housekeeper to finish off the room for you.
Televisions in Ireland are in Transition between analog and digital television, so when this is upgraded nationwide more channels will be available with a clearer picture.
Thank you for mentioning that the bathrooms are clean and spacious.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the Future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blarney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Went to stay for 1 night while touring Ireland. When we got to the room allocated the room had a strong smeel of smoke from the previous occupant. They changed our room to another and this room hadpart of the carpet was soaking due to the skylight being left open overnight. Was offered another room but was to tired. Breakfast was ot good. The cooked fried eggs were congelled due to the time they had been left and we were one of the first to get breakfast. Not what you would expect from a 3 star hotel. Bundorian itself was not a nice experence. Anywhere you wanted to park you in Bundoran you had to pay for it. Nice welcome for visitors, I dont think. Avoid Bundoran and the hotel.

Room Tip: go to another town
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
The Grand Central Hotel has one floor dedicated for smokers which can be requested at the time of booking, these are also Seaview Rooms, which are aired out after each guest Checks out. We did offer a room move because of the odor and it was unfortunate that the skylight had been left open which was an oversight on our behalf. We would have offered a replacement Breakfast if you had said this to us at the time. Bundoran is Pay and Display for the entire Summer, which is only €3 per day which is not excessively expensive.
I was Horrified to Read that you think that Bundoran is not a nice Experience as it is an extremely popular Seaside Resort Town that is Family Friendly, has a Blue Flag Beach and Host to the Seasessions Festival as well as World Championship Surfing competitions. There is even a song called "Beautifull Bundoran". But you are entitled to your opinion, thank you for making these comments. We hope you find an alternative Destination in the Future to take your Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

stayed here for 1 night - very central hotel - clean and food was good would stay again. Staff very efficient and friendly. Bundoran was unusally quiet. Nothing much to do at night so I spent my time walking roguey which I enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShielaMcGrath, Front Office Manager at Grand Central Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for such a great comment! Bundoran has numerous activities and amenities for guests to enjoy, next time have a word with our Reception Team and they are more than happy to assist you in choosing from the numerous activities and attractions that are locally available. Roguey is definately a "must do" walk when visiting Bundoran and we are glad that you enjoyed the spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean.

Looking froward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the Future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Central Bundoran
Hotel Grand Central

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Central Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.