We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wont be back” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Allingham Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bundoran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allingham Arms Hotel
Save
You added Allingham Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
monaghan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“wont be back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Myself and a couple of friends are just back from a night in Bundoran on 29th of June. We dined in the restaurant the waitress that served us was pleasant however the food was not good. My friend and I ordered the duck for the main but we would have needed a steak knife to cut it and it was tasteless but the vegetables were ok and the desert was lovely.
When we booked the hotel we were told by the receptionist our package included one nights b&b and free entry into the dance. We went to the reception to get our free tickets into the dance but they told us that we had to pay in as our package didnt included the price into the dance. The two women at reception called us liars, kept shouting, very abrupt and rude. One of them was claiming to be the manager of the hotel !!?????
We ended up paying 15 euro each this incident and the way we were treated by hotel staff members ruined our stay. We will not be back in this hotel again and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, Trip advisor is an excellent forum for sharing tips and experiences following your visit to an establishment.

However, it also gives the owner/manager an opportunity to respond fairly. This is something which you told us not to bother doing.

As you state in the first line of your review, “yourself and a couple of friends” came to stay. Can I stress that when you booked you asked for a twin bedroom, which sleeps two people comfortably. You failed to notify us prior to arrival that there would be a third person in your party, as we were fully booked we couldn’t accommodate you in one of our triple rooms therefore we offered you a 15% discount on the third person sharing with you. Once payment had been made you proceeded to accuse our staff member of overcharging you, until you realised you were incorrect with your accusation.

Dance tickets weren’t included in your rate and the Manager (who you seem to question in your review) and receptionist in question attempted to explain this to you on numerous occasions. At no point did they call you liars, they merely defended the member of staff that took your reservation originally and explained that as a person that deals with rates and reservations 5 days per week, it was highly unlikely that she would make a mistake.
We have every faith in the ability of our staff.

With regards to your comments on dinner, none of these issues were raised in the dining room therefore they are very difficult for me to rectify now.

Negative reviews are rare for the hotel and there is a reason for that, we are family run and offer outstanding value for money, we have an excellent team and our service and hospitality is consistent, hence the majority of our guests being repeat and highly recommending us to others.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    42
    20
    20
    20
See reviews for
44
75
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
ABERDEENSHIRE
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Back once again but as usual had a brilliant time. Staff lovely especially Carmel. Always a smile on his face and never stops working. Restaurant 5 star. Good menu selection and served beautifully. Thanks to Jason for this. Music was superb every night and also Sat afternoon. And last of all to Peter - an excellent manager who keeps this hotel at the highest standard. It s a long journey for us from Aberdeen but this was our 8th visit and the ninth won't be too far away hopefully. Most definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review. I will ensure that I pass your compliments on to Kamel, Jason, Peter and all of the staff. We're extremely proud of our staff at the hotel and we definitely feel that this is the reason we have such a high volume of repeat business. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here this weekend and had a lovely time. Great welcome and the entertainment was fantastic. Stayed in room 234 which was spacious and very close to elevator. Only thing is we forgot to ask for non smoking room and the room smelled of stale smoke but that was a minor gripe and the only one. Fantastic time, great food, very helpful friendly staff and a full weekend of entertainment. We will be back again soon. Only way to improve the experience would be to build a spa swimming pool center.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we were delighted to read that you had a wonderful weekend. I apologise that there was a smell of smoke in the room, as a non smoker it's something I would also pick up on straight away. Hopefully you will come back and stay with us again soon and we would be delighted to accommodate you in one of our spacious ground floor non smoking bedrooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Came here with my family, really good.

Close to the beach, great location.

Staff excellent ,the rooms were spacious and well equipped. Downstairs rooms great bonus.

Great entertainment in the hotel all year round.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay. I'm glad you found our rooms spacious and well equipped. We hope to welcome you back again over the Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for the weekend special and we got good value for money but you can't buy that welcome . Stayed in so many Irish Hotels were we were just a passing number -not this one .
Loads of staff, all willing to have a conversation, big spacious dining room with a great view, lovely set dinner with a good selection, breakfast was good-they even had a member of staff working the toaster --brilliant.
Entertainment on both nights was great.
I didn't give it 5 because it is not a 5 star hotel but it doesn't charge 5 star prices either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for your positive feedback. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed here start of June, spot on.Will be back soon:-) Declan Nerney was great!!!!! Really enjoyed ourselves and Bundoran was also nice and welcoming. Thanks for a great weekend.Would recommend highly especially the entertainment etc.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for yor recent review. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the entertainment by Declan Nerney, we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend in july.the room had a seaview and was clean and comfortable. Have stayed here quite a few times and have always found staff to be very helpful and freindly. The food is great and the entertainment always the best.looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of our seaview deluxe rooms, the views of the atlantic are truly breathtaking and the rooms are very popular because of this. Thank you for your kind comments which I will certainly relay to all staff. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Allingham Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allingham Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allingham Arms Hotel, named after a local 19th Century Poet, William Allingham is situated directly opposite the atlantic ocean on the beautiful coast of Bundoran, Co. Donegal. The hotel offers guests a unique experience in the superb seaside resort. The Allingham Arms hotel boasts two well equipped bars serving an extensive bar food menu and a high quality restaurant, serving delicious food. The hotel offers DVD hire with a choice of over 100 movies. Nightly entertainment is also provided where local and national entertainers perform. The Allingham Arms Hotel has been described as the “Capital of Country Music” with well-known acts such as Jimmy Buckley, Robert Mizzell, Mike Denver and Nathan Carter making regular appearances... we offer attractive packages and affordable rates, and as a family run hotel we are always willing to go "that extra mile" to make each guests stay an enjoyable one. Enjoy lazing in the beautiful surroundings, all of which are only a minutes’ walk away from the beach, town centre, Waterworld and numerous other amenities. Whether surfing, dancing or just simply relaxing, the Allingham Arms offers the guest the opportunity to make the most of their visit to the North-West. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allingham Bundoran
Allingham Arms Bundoran Hotel
Hotel Allingham Arms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allingham Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.