We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mutton dressed as lamb” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Allingham Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bundoran
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Allingham Arms Hotel
Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Bundoran
Larne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Mutton dressed as lamb”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We went as a package deal with 2 nights B&B 1 evening meal and entertainment. Hotel has just been recarpeted and the smell of carpet glue was a bit overpowering. Room didn't have that welcome feel about it, If you are unlucky enough to get a room on the second floor you might need GPS to find your room at the end of the night as the corridors are like a rabbit warren. Our double room onsuite bathroom was beside the fire escape and boy was it cold, a butchers cold store would probably be warmer.Next time we go to Bundoran to see our favourite Artists performing we will check into a recommended hotel and just buy the tickets for the shows at the Allingham. The evening meal was inedible, steak was too tough and the lamb tasted terrible. We dined at a little steakhouse further down the main street and the food and service was excellent. The facilities for the entertainment are very good it's just a pity the rest of the hotel dosen't come up to scratch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Allingham. As you mention yes, the corridors had just been re-carpeted that week. We are investing and improving on all areas of the hotel on a regular basis which normally results in good feedback. All bedrooms throughout the hotel are well signposted on all corridors by large gold and black signs, i'm sorry you found these difficult to follow. With regards to your comments on the cold bathroom and your evening meal, unfortunately we weren't given any opportunity to rectify these issues during your stay as at no point were they brought to our attention. The hotel and staff are well known for their consistent and impeccable customer service and for always offering that 'home from home' experience, i'm sorry you didn't give us an opportunity to show you. Thank you for your positive feedback on the entertainment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    38
    16
    17
    19
See reviews for
41
67
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

just back from country music festival. great value package. hotel clean,food lovely,staff pleasant and helpful. what could i complain about simply nothing everything was fantastic especially considering so many people everything went smoothly. will be returning as soon as we can. well done to everyone concerned. thanks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel good value for money. We endeavour to pass all savings on to our guests and strive to be competitive in the ever growing country music scene. I will also pass your kind comments and feedback on to our great, hardworking staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We are a small group of friends from Spain, Scotland and Ireland and had chosen the Allingham for a weekend break. We want to thank Peter and Elizabeth and all the staff of the hotel for making our break just fantastic. From check-in to check-out the experience was a truely Irish welcome. The rooms were very comfortable and spotless, the breakfast and evening meals excellent and above all the staff made this hotel a home from home. We were delighted to also have seen some of Ireland´s great country artists. Thank you to all at the Allingham - we will definitely be returning. A hotel with a lovely warm friendly athmosphere with the beach literally on your doorstep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank for for your recent review and also thank you for choosing the Allingham Arms Hotel for your stay. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us & that it felt like a 'home from home' experience. That is most definitely the experience we want to offer our guests. We look forward to extending our warm Irish welcome to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, friendly staff, excellent food, spotless rooms, no waiting around for room! Home from home, I recommend staying here for relaxing break & 5 star treatment. I have stayed in a particular hotel in bundoran but had to check out a day early as service was rediculious. We checked into the allingham & were welcomed with tea & biscuits as it was slightly early for check in. Staff & service in this hotel give you reason to return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

i love staying at this hotel because it is home from home for us the rooms are spotless the staff friendly and the amenities very good the country and western stars are great plus if this not your thing the birds nest is next door also the lobby i love sitting in watching the world go by will be back in next couple of weeks

Room Tip: tthe rooms with the seaview is very relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, we really appreciate your feedback and were delighted to read your positive comments. Hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

John and I were in your hotel over the new year and we had an enjoyable and relaxing time. the staff well what does one say about them they are a brilliant crowd of people .They made us feel so welcome throughout our stay .On arrival reception staff friendly pleasant and helpful .On arrival in our room it was spacious with a wonderful sea view .The room was oh so warm and cosy throughout our three days.The food ; breakfast very enjoyable evening meal same gala dinner excellent what a treat we had. Then to the bar , the bar staff a very sociable lot of people we enjoyed the banter at the bar and all the entertainment provided throughout our stay. Thank you Peter and all your staff.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your review, we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us over the New Year period and we hope to welcome you back again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Haveing been a regular visitor to the Allingham it is now time to recomend this as a very good place to stay i would rate Peter and his staff as the best in bundoran . After many visits we are able to recommend this hotel the food the music the fabulous staff make for a very pleasent weekend we will be back with out fail in the new year happy christmas to peter and all the staff and hope to see you in 2013

Room Tip: room 249 away from the ballroom noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allingham A, Manager at Allingham Arms Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review and your kind comments regarding the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Allingham Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allingham Arms Hotel

Address: Main Street, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allingham Arms Hotel, named after a local 19th Century Poet, William Allingham is situated directly opposite the atlantic ocean on the beautiful coast of Bundoran, Co. Donegal. The hotel offers guests a unique experience in the superb seaside resort. The Allingham Arms hotel boasts two well equipped bars serving an extensive bar food menu and a high quality restaurant, serving delicious food. The hotel offers DVD hire with a choice of over 100 movies. Nightly entertainment is also provided where local and national entertainers perform. The Allingham Arms Hotel has been described as the “Capital of Country Music” with well-known acts such as Jimmy Buckley, Robert Mizzell, Mike Denver and Nathan Carter making regular appearances... we offer attractive packages and affordable rates, and as a family run hotel we are always willing to go "that extra mile" to make each guests stay an enjoyable one. Enjoy lazing in the beautiful surroundings, all of which are only a minutes’ walk away from the beach, town centre, Waterworld and numerous other amenities. Whether surfing, dancing or just simply relaxing, the Allingham Arms offers the guest the opportunity to make the most of their visit to the North-West. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Allingham Bundoran
Allingham Arms Bundoran Hotel
Hotel Allingham Arms

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Allingham Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Allingham Arms Hotel to your Saves list