We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The GREAT Northern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Northern Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Great Northern Hotel to your Saves list
Great Northern Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sea Road, Bundoran, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
1 review
“The GREAT Northern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Myself and my partner enjoyed a relaxing one night stay at the Great Northern hotel. We were greeted upon arrival by the friendly staff in particular Sarah. We were given a pass to use the leisure facilities which are very good. I had a swim, used the sauna, steam room and hot tub whilst looking out onto the golf course. Perfect for a gray Friday evening. We then went for dinner in the main lounge which is very homely. I had the roast beef with veg and potatoes. The food was beautiful. After dinner we took a stroll down onto the nearby roggy beach and listened to the sound of the crashing waves. The room was very comfortable as was the bed and I enjoyed a great nights sleep. We went home the next day feeling fresh. I would highly recommend the great northern hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    116
    88
    96
    107
See reviews for
176
222
11
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

4 star more like 2 star, think of the movie "the shining". Dated rooms, no wifi in bedrooms, food pub standard carvery. Didn't get a menu at breakfast. The place needs a serious overhaul to get close to 3 star not to mind 4 star. The dining room was freezing for dinner with a musty smell. I feel sorry for the staff having to put up with this as they were really nice. The place looks nice from far away but once you get close you can see a lot of problems. Legs of chairs jammed into exit door lever as some sort of extra locking mechanism, not very nice to see. Open areas under stairs used as an extra store for surplus furniture. Door to store room with all sort of junk such as wall paper surplus left open for guests to see as we passed to get to reception. As I say again staff were great shut it down spend some money and reopen because the location is stunning.

Room Tip: Ask for one that looks like the one on the website if it exists!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Lovely friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble, they went out of their way to accommodate us by bringing staff in early to serve us an early dinner so that the players could make 7pm mass & served them desert when they returned, this was for a group of 35 adults, the food was great & they provided sandwiches for our journey back to cork the next day, will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here for two nights last weekend with my sisters - the 4 glamorous ladies! The receptionist was just lovely and so friendly, she had the 'gift of the gab' just perfect for a hotel like this. We booked two twin rooms which were clean and comfortable. The Hotel itself is old but what we expected and the perfect location for that walk along the coast. Good choice at breakfast which set us up for the day. I intend to go back to this hotel with my husband and son as it is the perfect location for a short stay. The hotel was quiet but what you would expect at this time of the year. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Stayed recently and its not a four star , rooms are not up for star standard especially bathrooms they need a deep clean , Leisure Centre very poor dirty changing rooms flaking paint half of the showers not working ,no staff to be found pool dirty
Breakfast is ok apart from the sausages which are of very poor quality , bar food good

Saving grace are the views and some of the staff receptionist and waiting staff were very friendly and helpful, bar staff could learn from them

A management presence would not go astray

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Having looked at the reviews on this site I was a bit nervous about booking rooms for my family but I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel. We had booked two rooms both twins, one wheelchair accessible. The smaller twin had a strange smell (rm 20) and was quite small but was warm and comfortable. The other room was huge, perfect for wheelchair users although at the very end of the corridor. The decor is better than I expected, the corridors and rooms were clean with lovely deep carpet. The furniture has been atound a while (25 years I'd say) but perfectly serviceable. Tv is a bit useless - ours only had 1 station when we arrived. The rooms were toasty warm and the breakfast was excellent. The price wasn't a bargain but was reasonable for a hotel. The location is good, especially for golfers, and it's a nice walk from the hotel along the seafront.
TIP keep an eye out for special offers particularly facebook offers if you can go midweek.

Room Tip: Not sure if I should let this one out but rm 39 is amazing! It's huge, plenty of room for 1 doub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The first impression of this hotel is the warm and friendly welcome you get from Sarah and the rest of the girls on reception. Their approach to their customers whether it's a couple or a family or indeed a bus full of weary travellers the welcome you get is second to none. As a regular visitor to this hotel I have had the pleasure to witness their professional customer service first hand. This level of professionalism carries thru to the bar/waiting staff and also the night porter - a true example of Donegal's finest! The hotel itself is maintained to a high standard - housekeeping also a credit to this hotel. The rooms are always so warm and cosy and clean. The bathrooms always spotless and always well stocked with complimentary toiletries. The tea/coffee making facilities also well stocked - Robert Roberts coffee - yum!! I would recommend that you sign up to the newsletter to receive up to date special offers and room rates are affordable - if you don't have internet access I recommend to ring the girls on reception where they are more than willing to advise you! with their vast local knowledge it's like having you're very own personal tour guide. The bar/restaurant food is of equal standard and sure not to disappoint! Bar is well stocked and bar staff very courteous and efficient and always have the "bit of craic" with you - as do the regular locals - which is always a good sign in itself!! The leisure facilities are excellent and you have unlimited access to them during your stay. Of course the location of this hotel is a winner - overlooking the Atlantic Coast with lots of activity to enjoy - once again the staff of The Great Northern more than happy to advise you. All in all I cannot praise this hotel highly enough - stay once and you will see why this superb hotel and charming staff are the reason Donegal is known for its warmth and hospitality! The Great Northern Hotel Bundoran - you really are THE PRIDE OF DONEGAL :-)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Northern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Hotel

Address: Sea Road, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Northern Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel in Bundoran Co Donegal is located on an 18 hole championship golf course and boasts a beautiful Leisure & Conference Centre. After your meal you can enjoy a relaxing drink in our lounge bars or dance the night away in our Atlantic Ballroom. Enjoy the charms of our Tir-Chonail Dining Room open daily with a full dinner menu on offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Budget Places and Odigeo so you can book your Great Northern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Northern Bundoran

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Northern Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.