We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest, cosiest place in Bundoran” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homefield Rock Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Homefield Rock Hostel to your Saves list
Homefield Rock Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Bay View Ave | Surfing and Equestrian Centre, Bundoran, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Newark, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendliest, cosiest place in Bundoran”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were looking for cheap and cheerful, and found the Rock Hostel. The rooms are themed, there were ten of us, so the single girls got a great deal on a 6-bed room, and two couples got two double rooms that were really nice. We were told that this was the oldest house in Bundoran, formerly a lodge of some British dude, and it is definitely homely and quaint. The staff were so friendly, full of suggestions about where to go. There is a surf school and adventure centre there as part of the hostel, and a gorgeous little bistro restaurant right next door. The buildings need a lick of paint, it looks far nicer inside than outside. However, inside was cosy, fun to hang out, about 2 minutes walk to the town and loads to do.

Room Tip: Call the manager, Collie, and book on the phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed here in August 2008 for a surf weekend with three friends, and had a great time. Our room was fairly basic - two sets of bunk beds and not much else. It kinda felt like being back in the gaeltacht/summer camp, but it was all we needed! There was a toilet and shower room directly across the hallway which was shared with only one other room so there was no problems there. Kitchen facilities were perfectly fine and staff where friendly and accommodating. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

This was a great little place to stay. Everyone was very friendly and I liked the music themes in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
128 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Myself and 4 friends decided very last minute on a road trip to Bundoran from Dublin for a spot of surfing failing to realise it was a bank holiday weekend.
After ringing dozens of hotels, B&Bs and hostels we almost gave up looking for somewhere affordable and with vacancies when we stumbled across this little gem. With literally 3 hours notice of our arrival we managed to book a large 7 bed room at a brilliant price.
On arrival that staff were very friendly and couldnt do enough to suggest places to eat and indeed where to go suss out the surfing scene.
The room was more then acceptable for a hostel with sturdy bunks, clean and modern bathroom, we even had a hot tub of sorts! It was an 80s rock themed room if that narrows it down for any of you.
I'm used to staying in 4 or 5 star hotels around the world with my work but at no stage was I made to feel like I was "roughing" it!
I will be back when the waves call me again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

checked in for one night. The manager was really friendly and full of local knowledge, would bend over backwards to help you. We stayed in the U2 room. Nice and cosy and perfect for what we paid for. Great location within a few minutes walk to main street. If your on a budget and need a basic room for a good rate, this is for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colliemacp, Manager at Homefield Rock Hostel, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Thanks so much for your kind words- we hope to see you here again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

Stayed here with the boyfriend and I couldn't speak more highly of the place. We stayed in the John Lennon room - very clean and cosy - ensuite bathroom was spotless with a piping hot electric shower. Te room has a radiator which you could turn on if you got cold. The kitchen is clean, fitted with all necessary utensils and the free breakfast is a definite plus!

The staff made the place, they were absolutely fantastic. They were so friendly and really made us feel at home. They also advised us where to go, organised discounted surf lessons and were more that happy to help us out with anything and everything. The boyfriend stayed on a few days longer he liked it so much and got a great deal for him a 3 friends.

For less that 20quid a night (15 in a dorm), you really can't do better than the Rock Hostel. I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colliemacp, Manager at Homefield Rock Hostel, responded to this review, May 8, 2011
Thanks so much - it was great to have you stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Homefield Rock Hostel is ideally situated in Bundoran, minutes from center of town and the each and just accross the road from the Donegal adventure center. The staff were really friendly, the rooms were clean and the kitchen had everything you could need. It has a great relaxed atmosphere with gig and band posters all over the walls.
Highly recommend it for a stay in this lovely activity filled town !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Homefield Rock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homefield Rock Hostel

Address: Bay View Ave | Surfing and Equestrian Centre, Bundoran, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bundoran
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bundoran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Homefield Rock Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homefield Rock Hostel is newly renovated in 09 with a cool new music theme. Dorms and private rooms available-free internet,discount surf hire and lessons- central location-large self catering kitchen-linen included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Homefield Rock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homefield Rock Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.