We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay in the perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ice House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Ice House Hotel to your Saves list
The Ice House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Quay, Ballina, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Meath
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab stay in the perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Recently stayed here for 2 nights for a post Christmas Break. Was really looking forward to the break, based on the great reviews. The location section on their website says "we're a little bit of a distance away but once you get here, you'll see why that's the best part"...and never has there been a truer statement!
From, check in, to check out and everything in between - it was all flawless. Bags were taken to our rooms on arrival, we were escorted to our room by a lovely receptionist and the welcome glass of prosecco is a lovely touch. The hotel is a perfect mix of contemporary and old traditional style, and all the little nooks and crannies give it a quirkiness that just doesn't exist in larger hotels. Room was fab - floor to ceiling windows are amazing, as was the comfy bed, and the decor is simple but effective. The restaurant is beautiful - the food, ambiance, service (and cocktails!) were all exceptional.
I loved the outdoor hot tubs. Despite the fact that it was a freezing cold day (with a drizzle of rain), you forget all that once you step into the warm tub and can sit back and enjoy the views of the river. It's the perfect feeling of luxury. The staff were consistently friendly - from reception, to the waitresses, the bar man and the lovely night porter.
Breakfast also deserves a mention, as it really was as good as you get. They offer complimentary breakfast in bed, which we took advantage of on the first morning. Another lovely touch.
It's the ideal place to de-stress, forget your worries and enjoy a bit of romance - will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    452
    179
    100
    43
    28
See reviews for
65
514
16
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The ice house hotel is very well located, on the river moy's banks.
The view is stunning.

We had booked a 2 nights package. Arrival at the hotel went well. Easy to find, parking spaces etc.
warm welcoming. We got a complimentary upgrade and got given a suite. Nice room. Not what we expected. It was a huge room, living room and bathroom, ancient (seriously ancient) furniture and a lovely barrel bathtub. This wasn't exactly the lovely ultra modern room we had booked. There was spiderwebs on the (high) ceilings, the lights in the bathroom weren't functioning, the dust under the bed piled up and the carpet is lifting... Not the cleanest room I've stated in. The bed was comfortable but the room was way too warm. The view however is spectacular.
The website also said that iPod sound systems were available in all rooms... Which isn't the case just yet.

Let's talk about the spa. They have an amazing steam room, a tiny relaxation room (4 beds) with stunning views over the river moy.
Two outdoor hot tubs... 34 degree Celsius (like warm), my partner and I both sat on a nail sticking out of the bench. Not pleasant at all. The outdoors sauna looks lovely but isn't warm at all. 49 degrees Celsius. Very disappointing I must say.
The reception staff at the spa aren't as nice as the hotel reception girls.

The bar and restaurant :
Absolutely fantastic! The decor, the atmosphere, the service and the food are all amazing! I'll insist on how tasty and well presented the food was, and also on how kind and friendly the little blonde manageress is (I assume she is the manageress).

All together, I wouldn't rush back but I wouldn't be against visiting again :)



Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We had a very relaxing stay at the ice house and highly recommend it. The many pros include:
Lovely staff throughout - very friendly and helpful
Nice extra touches like welcome prosseccos and a complimentary paper outside your door each morning!
Great food both in the restaurant, the bar food and at breakfast.
Amazing cocktails!
Great treatments ( had 2) that weren't overpriced nor did either therapist try to push you to buy products afterwards which is a welcome change.
Comfy bed!

The only con for me was there was no bath in our room. We booked the standard room which is called a deluxe and on the website it states all deluxe rooms include a bath and separate shower. Another room on our floor that was the same size also had no bath. Maybe specify you'd like a bath on booking! Hopefully some of the deluxe rooms have them! The only second con is the relaxation room whilst having possibly the nicest view of any relaxation room I've been in is quite small, only 4 beds. I'd imagine if the spa was very busy you may not get a bed!

But all in all we loved our stay! If you like sitting in an outdoor hotub with a great view drinking cocktails then this is the place for you!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Stayed here last week and have to say i really enjoyed it. Room was perfect, comfy beds, big, exactly what we wanted. We ate in the hotel both nights and thoroughly enjoyed both the bar food and main restaurant. On both nights it seemed like there were a few locals dining too which is a good sign, shows consistency. Breakfast was really tasty, nice selection too. I had a massage in the Spa which was really lovely. While we were there, unfortunately, the weather was awful so i will have to organize another stay to avail of the outdoor seating area with some cocktails, overlooking the river ....what a shame! : )

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

We've just returned home from having our wedding in the Ice House and can only give praise for such a fabulous hotel.
During our stay as part of our wedding we felt like we made some firm friends out of Ken and the Ice House team, who are a true credit it the hotel, amazing staff (Angela, Lorraine and Shauna to name but a few we came across) on the front desk giving our guests with a warm Irish welcome- so many people commented on this!
Everyone loved their bedrooms, and considering we took over the whole hotel, I feel we got a wide spectrum of opinion. We personally stayed in the Bartra suite for our most recent stay and I slept so soundly (even on the eve of our wedding) that Noel the night porter who brought up my breakfast at 6am had to knock a few times to wake me. You can use the fabulous old shutters to block out very scrap of light or close the curtains and leave gaps. There are plenty of radiators in the room if you like the warmth- personally it was radiators off and windows (beautiful original sash windows) open for me.
Bathrooms are well equipped with beautiful old ceramic sinks, large walk-in rain showers and, in the old heritage part if the hotel,large wooden baths that I think you could swim in!! A nice touch is that candles and matches are placed in the bathroom in case the mood takes you for a candle lit bath.
We've also stayed in a new suite in the past- and the bathroom in that was nearly as big as our bedroom at home!
All in all we couldn't fault a single thing, whilst at the Ice House we utilitised the spa (they have an amazing hot stone massage and outdoor hot tubs overlooking the river), sampled the delights of the restaurant several times and during our wedding breakfast the quality was nothing short of brilliant, as was the service from Joanna the restaurant manager and her fabulous team of waiting staff. We never got his name but there's a fab bar man there who never stops smiling- must be very happy in his work.
We got nothing but compliments on our choice of venue and wedding breakfast menu- the chef Anthony deserves every bit of the praise he received. We had a chef in our wedding party who was dying to get into the kitchen to talk shop with him.
We love the hotel so much we've already booked to go back in a few months and a few of our guests have expressed an interest in returning too.
We had a fun few nights in the local pub Crockets on the Quay which is a few mins walk away. They frequently have bands in there and a great atmosphere which was enjoyed by young and old alike within our party.
I can't quite believe the bad reviews of the Ice House on tripadvisor- can only presume they were 'off days' - we are all allowed those. We heard of no complaints from all of the 32 rooms we occupied at the hotel during our wedding, most of those were taken for at least two nights.

Keep up the great work, Ken. We'll be back soon, we just wish we could do it all again with you!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Beautiful inside and out... Our room was spacious and modern... Bathroom was spendid...our balcony had thee best view of the river. Headed to the restaurant where we had an amazing dinner... Steak and chicken... Best we have had in ages.... The staff were extremely helpful and cheerful... I had a spa treat ment the next morning which was out of this world.... The spa itself and the therapist were amazing... By far the best spa I have been too and I have been to many... Breakfast the next day was outstanding again... We both cannot wait to come back....

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is a great place for a short break...possibly without the children. The spa room we stayed in was amazing, inclusive meal deal was really good, the food was spectacular and the staff so friendly. I cant find fault.....
Crockets bar a short walk away is great if you want a change for food ( a bit cheaper also)... take a trip to the victorian seaweed baths at Enniscrone beach nearby. A perfect few days away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ice House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ice House Hotel

Address: The Quay, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ice House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary chic meets old world elegance throughout the Ice House. Funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled riverside views from all our rooms and you'll immediately know you're not. The distinct, interior fusion of traditional and new styles are woven in to an eclectic mix. Together they form the perfect accent to the amazing views that stretch across the River Moy to the woodlands beyond. With great service, fantastic food, fine wines, clever cocktails and a hotel spa guaranteed to sooth... ...Discover the best of both worlds at The Ice House and make it your escape to the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Ice House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Ballina
The Ice Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ice House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.