We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ice House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Ice House Hotel to your Saves list
The Ice House Hotel
The Quay, Ballina, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

.
Stayed on a 3 night package in The Ice House first week in June. The weather was sunny and enhanced the beautiful setting of this hotel. It was great to wake in the morning to the sight of the river Moy outside drifting along, we stayed in one of the rooms with the full large windows. The room was reasonable size and the bed one of the most comfortable I have slept in.. The staff were very friendly but also very professional, requests were dealt with promptly. I had two spa treatments which were also very good. Breakfast was buffet plus cooked breakfast to order with various options. Only had dinner on one evening and would prefer a more varied menu. I would recommend this hotel for a relaxing break in a great setting or as a lovely base to explore Mayo

Room Tip: The rooms with full length windows overlooking the river are really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Leipat,

Many thanks for your very kind review and comments regarding your recent stay with us here at the Ice House.

Our Team in the Kitchen also appreciate your view on our Menus which we constantly try to improve on.

Looking forward to your return visit.

Warm regards
Ken Bergin-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    163
    88
    39
    26
See reviews for
63
473
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus Co. Antrim Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Ice House provides an exceptional hotel experience. In a lovely location right on the river in Ballina, this former actual ‘Ice House’ and historic building has been imaginatively and sympathetically extended with designer values way up the list.

It’s a welcoming place with great staff and lots of inspired touches. How nice to be offered a glass of champagne on arrival. Parking spaces alongside, attractive outdoor decking, then conservatory space adjoining the older part of the building make this an interesting prospect. Further in, the well-executed contemporary add on accounts for about half of the rooms. But all the rooms here would seem to have a great river view.
Our superior room had a glass wall with sliding top half, facing on to the river and with nothing on the opposite bank but mature trees. This makes for a calming effect in the room. There’s always something to watch outside, like the river levels, the changing light patterns and the herons, swans and ducks which live just under the windows.
The room was spacious and well fitted. The king sized bed was amazingly comfortable.
The shower was wet room style and the washbasin a designer wedge shape which made for a nice change. I liked the bathroom fittings but I found the dim lighting a real pain. Trying to apply make up in the gloom was a nightmare and this would be my one complaint about our room. In every other way it surpassed expectations, but who ever thought this bathroom lighting would suffice is either male, or female but too concerned with creating a comforting cave gloom effect to care.
Aside from the superlative river view the other plus at this hotel is the food. Breakfast is a joy.
The kilner jar of homemade cookies in the bedroom is a nice touch too.
We had dinner on our final evening and thought the food quality and the service were fantastic, definitely high end.
Our three nights at the Ice House were relaxing and fun. It’s a great place to stay, original and something of an experience. The location is superb.
If they’d only provided practical bathroom lighting I’d have said they’d achieved perfection.
Shame really. This was the one thing about the Ice House which left me COLD!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here in May for a three night break and have to say really loved this hotel. The view from the room was something else.We usually like to crash in the evenings in our hotel room so a nice room is really important and this did not disappoint. The view really is something else and changes all the time because of the light. It was fantastic having breakfast by in our room by the water each morning.
We ate down in the restaurant the first night and the food was amazing. We are big fans of the Citroen Restaurant (one of Dublin's hidden gems-well maybe not so hidden now) and were delighted to hear that the chef in the Ice House was the former chef from the Citroen. He did not disappoint-the food really was something else. We also had lunch and room service during our stay and each meal was fantastic. Also could not say enough about the staff-they were lovely and very friendly. Our waitress had also come down from the Citroen and is a real credit to this place-very knowledgeable and friendly.
Our only complaint about this place is the fact that the walls are very thin-on the first night we could hear the man next to us snoring all night which is pretty poor for a newly built hotel. However he was gone after the first night and we were joined by much quieter neighbours. That being said we really did enjoy our time here and I would recommend this place to anyone and have since we have come back. We would definitely return if visiting Mayo again.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to be fantastic in this place. However walls are thin so bring some ear-plugs in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I had an absolutely wonderful 3 night break at the Ice House Hotel - staff really genuinely friendly, fantastic views from our room, wonderful outdoor hottub, and the food......the chef is incredible, I have never tasted food so good in all my life - savoured every mouthful.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms have fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Christine B,

I am really pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of your recent stay with us here at the Ice House. All the Team have been made aware of your very kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Warm regards,
Ken Bergin General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed two nights and wish we had booked more! This was the most amazing hotel. Our room had a full sliding glass wall that over looked the Moy river. The room and bath were state of the art and so relaxing. Best nights sleep our trip. The food and staff were amazing. If you are traveling to Ballina you MUST stay here. We cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Dusty R,

Hope you had a safe and pleasant journey home, Delighted you enjoyed your short stay with us and hopefully it will be a longer stay on your return visit to Ballina.

Warm regards

Ken Bergin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

we stayed there for 3 nights,monday ,tuesday,wednesday,we had a room overlooking the river, the room was big and the bed huge,the bathroom was very nice,all hidden lighting,we had dinner in the restaurant each evening,the food is superb,small portions but like master chef,arranged beautifull on delivery to the table,the staff were great,and were as friendly as if we were regulars ,
we had a massage each ,again great staff ,pleasant and professional,
the hot tub outside was a great additional,however its position overlooking river debris didn't add to the ambiance,our balcony was big,and the views were great ,but we could have used a couple of patio chairs/seats ,some other guests who wanted to smoke were suprised there wasnt any large umbrellas/parasols on the patio,something i had asked for the previous evening,
overall we had a great time,and would reccomend the hotel

Room Tip: rooms on the river seem quieter,and have a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear liam279,

Thank you so much for your constructive comments during your recent visit to the Ice House, and whilst I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us I have taken note of your observations as outlined.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, very good food, quality excellent, nice restaurant view of the river. Very spacious and very clean rooms, I was in the vermilion. If your in the area, great value for money. The bar is limited, but serves Guinness, so can't be bad.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear mikecarnegie,

Greatly appreciate your comments and delighted you enjoyed your stay, especially the "Guinness"

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Warm regards

Ken & all the Team at the Ice House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ice House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ice House Hotel

Address: The Quay, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary chic meets old world elegance throughout the Ice House. Funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled riverside views from all our rooms and you'll immediately know you're not. The distinct, interior fusion of traditional and new styles are woven in to an eclectic mix. Together they form the perfect accent to the amazing views that stretch across the River Moy to the woodlands beyond. With great service, fantastic food, fine wines, clever cocktails and a hotel spa guaranteed to sooth... ...Discover the best of both worlds at The Ice House and make it your escape to the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Ice House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Ballina
The Ice Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ice House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.