We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ice House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Ice House Hotel to your Saves list
The Ice House Hotel
The Quay, Ballina, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We recently spent a fantastic weekend at the Ice house, it was our second stay there and we were so looking forward to going back. There are so many small touches to make you feel welcome, e.g., brownies left out for the kids with their names in icing on the plate.

We were there to celebrate a special occasion and the staff, the food, the scenery etc. really helped to make it special.

A special thanks to the babysitter Danielle whom the kids loved!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Dbalfe,

Dear,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel especially as this was a return visit.

We have passed on your best wishes to Danielle, our babysitter who will be very pleased indeed.

As always we look forward to welcoming you and the family back and hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    163
    87
    39
    26
See reviews for
63
473
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed for a 2 night break with dinner on one night and breakfast on both mornings. The hotel is lovely, rooms are very good with a great view, the lovely wall of glass overlooking the river is amazing. The spa is excellent with very good therapist. The only problem was the food. Breakfast is very good. Dinner in the restaurant on the first night - Tuesday night - was reasonable but maybe not the A team in the kitchen. Wednesday night we had the bar food which was poor, We commented on it to the waitress & noted it on a review however it was not even commented on when checking out. They should have at least commented or apoligized for the issue with the Cesar salad. Overall a very good hotel but maybe its better to stay at the weekend rather than when its quiet during the week.

Room Tip: Room with river view is well worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Dunne62_10,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel and I sincerely apologise for our unusual breakdown of communication.

Your constructive comments have been addressed as it is my personal wish that we should provided the appropriate service, professional standards and attention to detail 24/7

Once again I apologies for the inconvenience we caused.

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This has to be the best hotel in Ireland. My husband and I had a pre Christmas mini break here and loved it. We stayed on a package deal which included B&B, dinner & Spa treatment and we enjoyed every minute of it.

We were a little uncertain on the drive up as you almost go thru a residential housing area on your way to the hotel – but once you’re inside its beautiful. The hotel has two different feels to it, the historic old house and the new modern glass side.

We stayed in one of the modern suites, called Wedgewood with its huge floor to ceiling windows. I’ve never seen such glorious views – you are looking directly over the river Moy. Last year we stayed in the Jumeirah Beach Hotel in Dubai and were looking out at the Burj Al Arab – but this was even better.

On our first day we had pre-booked spa treatments and were given the option to use the thermal suite in advance – again very nice and to a high standard. The highlight of this spa above others is the hot tubs in the river. It was a nice touch to sit in them Christmas week! Added a little fun – seriously cold when you get out tho, head straight for the steam room.

Next on the agenda – dinner. Oh, what a meal. We had fish to start and fish for main course and it was cooked to perfection, we sat early coming down a 7 and we were still eating at 9 – but we were never left waiting.

Another highlight of the trip was breakfast in bed; this was really nice touch that added to the overall experience.
I can’t wait to come back to this hotel – it was truly a lovely relaxing stay the next time I will go for longer.

Room Tip: We liked the outside balcony area - even tho you needed to be wrapped it it was nice have the outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear higgyIreland,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

In particular we loved the extra effort you went to when adding the photo's.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back and hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Can only describe this Hotel as an absolute & hidden gem in the west of Ireland. I went there with my husband to celebrate 20 years together and honestly, even though it was not our first choice, could not have been happier with the reception and service we got for the whole weekend. We had champagne on arrival and wine & chocolate truffles in our glorious room, which had a lovely view of the river which flowed right beside our large windows. Room service was nice while taking in the scenery.

A walk on Enniscrone beach 10 mins by car away and the lovely Baleek Woods on the opposite side of the river were glorious ways to spend the day. We are both keen photographers so had a great time taking in the scenery.

Would highly recommend eating here as the meals on both nights were salivatingly gorgeous. Had the same main course on both night (which is rare in itself, as a vegetarian), but would make the trip down to the restaurant just to have it again!! The hotel seems to cater for mainly couples of all ages. There is a spa treatment area, which we did not try out. Would we recommend this hotel? Absolutely. Would we visit it again? Yes without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms with a lovely view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Meath_IrelandJeanKK ,

Dear,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

I am especially delighted you enjoyed our Chef's Vegetarian Dishes, not always easy to get wright, but Dave is very proud of this particular dish.

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

First but not the last visit. Brought my wife here on our anniversary for a getaway. On arrival we received a glass of champagne and in the room we found lovely chocolate covered strawberries. Fantastic start to a fantastic stay. Beautiful room, beautiful hotel and beautiful view. Fantastic food and service. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Peter M,

Dear,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

We wish you both the very best for 2013 and hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina.

We look forward to welcoming you back,

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

From the moment my wife and i arrived until we left we could not have faulted the Icehouse hotel and staff in anyway I Had big expections and wasnt disappointed Sometimes its the small things that make the difference For my wifes birthday choc brownies in the room to à lovley waitress called ashling getting us a bus timetable after asking about getting to westport Hopefully be back soon Well worth the 165mile drive from Belfast

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear bayleaf9223,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel, especially Ashling whom you kindly mentioned.

I am delighted we met with your expections and that you did have that true "Ice House experience"

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay in the Ice house. Its quiet simply a beautiful location overlooking the river Moy and the Beleek woods...The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room had a floor to ceiling glass window that over looked the river and u could just spend hours watching the world go by...Room was large with a lovely ensuite...The beds were super comfortable and you could you breakfast delivered to ur room at no extra cost...The spa was beautiful..staff was very friendly and the our door hot tubs were heaven...Only fault was that the full irish breakfast was small and definatly wouldn't fill u...Apart from that..we had a lovely stay...

Room Tip: Watch our for special offers as its very expensive to stay otherwise...We got a very good deal on pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear podge30,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel and issues raised dealth with in order to improve the service and experience we provide.

Please keep an eye out for more offers on our web site or indeed on our facebook page.

Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ice House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ice House Hotel

Address: The Quay, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary chic meets old world elegance throughout the Ice House. Funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled riverside views from all our rooms and you'll immediately know you're not. The distinct, interior fusion of traditional and new styles are woven in to an eclectic mix. Together they form the perfect accent to the amazing views that stretch across the River Moy to the woodlands beyond. With great service, fantastic food, fine wines, clever cocktails and a hotel spa guaranteed to sooth... ...Discover the best of both worlds at The Ice House and make it your escape to the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Ice House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Ballina
The Ice Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ice House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.