We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ice House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Ice House Hotel to your Saves list
The Ice House Hotel
The Quay, Ballina, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful views!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights for a wedding and absolutely loved it. Room overlooked the river with beautiful views (I think most, if not all of the rooms have this view). The service was top notch (even a complimentary glass of bubbly on check-in!). The bedding was VERY comfortable and the bathroom luxurious. Food was great. Lovely breakfast spread (and you could order breakfast to your room at no extra cost!). I didn't use the spa but it looked really nice. We did have a dip in the hot tubs on the deck area which face right out onto the river, absolutely gorgeous!

The only TINY negative I would have was that there was an intermittent humming/motor type noise which we could hear quite clearly in our room - I don't know if it was the air con system or some kind of water pump or what, but it seemed to be only there the first night and after that either it wasn't there or I stopped noticing it. Also the sound proofing between rooms could be a tad better, but thankfully we didn't have any noisy neighbours!

All in all I had a fantastic stay - and for the standard of service and accommodation, the price tag was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear SetSail07 ,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent 3 day visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

We hope you enjoyed the Christmas festivities and would like to take this opportunity to wish you the very best for 2013. Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    163
    87
    39
    26
See reviews for
63
473
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Youghal, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed in the hotel last weekend with our 5 month old and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! It was the most relaxing and chilled out hotel we have stayed in. The room was fantastic with large windows overlooking the river and a very comfy bed with a great sound system. I do think that the walls could do with a repaint! We could easily have stayed in the room for the weekend, it was so cosy! I loved the bathroom with the underfloor heating. The only thing I would say is I was a bit disappointed that there wasnt a proper cot in the room instead of the travel one provided as it looked well used. We ended up using our pram instead.
I had a massage and it was wonderful, also recommend a dip in the outdoor hot tub.
We dined both nights in the bar and both the food and atmosphere was fantastic! All the staff were really friendly. I was a bit apprehensive about having our baby in the bar in case she started crying but its was so chilled out that she ended up falling asleep on both occasions. A rarity!
I would highly recommend this hotel for a little treat if you need to get away and was actually sad to be heading home. We hope to head back again sometime.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear blondiegaff ,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

We hope you enjoyed the Christmas festivities and would like to take this opportunity to wish you the very best for 2013. Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

If you want to have a great massage then ask for Kate in the Ice House Hotel Spa. She is really good at her job, and you will leave feeling like a new person!! She creates a lovely atmosphere and sense of calm, just what you need when you are unwinding in the spa!

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

The ice house is a beautiful hotel just outside Ballina. We were initially disappointed to see the hotel located just on the side f the road - but that disappointment faded as soon as we entered the hotel and saw the beautiful views from the restaurant and our room right over the river moy. The bedrooms are luxurious - we didn't want to get up. Excellent friendly staff and lovely food! Highly recommend!,,

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Easygoing064,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

We hope you enjoyed the Christmas festivities and would like to take this opportunity to wish you the very best for 2013. Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Even though I have family in Ballna and many places to stay, I have stayed in the ice house 4 times, it is my favorite hotel, its a boutique hotel so quite unique, the staff, rooms and service are all top quality, and I love the spa, in particular the outdoor hot tubs, they will even bring you champagne in the hot tub if you ask!!! sheer luxury, pricey but definitely worth it!!
recommended
:-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear louise s ,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel and your continued and ongoing support for us.

We hope you enjoyed the Christmas festivities and would like to take this opportunity to wish you the very best for 2013. Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally when you are planning you next trip.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there for one night in the river view room and i thought it was amazing. Very clean, lovely views and staff were so friendly. Also had some food in the bar and it was very nice. Im already saving up for my next trip there! Highly recommend this place

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear crystal221,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel.

We hope you enjoyed the Christmas festivities and would like to take this opportunity to wish you the very best for 2013. Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We arrived on the Friday night of the Halloween weekend. I queried the price with reception as the €646 price for two nights for my wife and I including one evening meal and one treatment each was more than that quoted on the Internet for the same package on any other weekend. The girl on reception was quite friendy but firm that the cheaper packages had all gone by the time I booked and the price was the correct one. Fair enough then supply and demand I suppose, the dreaded Market forces.
Problem is it wasn't worth it. The riverside suite we had was ok but not only the decor was cold the temperature in the room was freezing, this improved as time passed but it was obvious the heating was not on long enough before we arrived. Strawberries and chocolate were lovely also bubbly was nice touch.
Had awful trouble getting music to work on the sound system the remote kept asking for battery replacement but then worked on tv.
We asked for recommendation about eating locally and one Lady crossly contradicted another
about where to go, don't fight in front of the guests guys. 45 minutes to get milk for my tea which only came after I rang again.
The view of the river the next morning was beautiful with the sun on the trees. I had a massage on the Saturday afternoon, ok but a bit prissy I thought 'no touching above the knee now'.
The steam room was out of service but dry heat room was nice.
Dinner and two breakfasts we good but nothing to write home about. I would have been happy enough except I feel I paid top dollar for a mediocre two nights.

D

Room Tip: The still room has great river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ICEHOUSETEAM, General Manager at The Ice House Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Mastadon101,

Our sincere thanks for taking the time to air your views regarding your recent visit to the Ice House; they are very much appreciated by everyone here at the Hotel. We have made a number of changes since your last visit as expressed in more recent reviews and our steam room has been refurbished to enhance the Spa experience.

We hope you enjoyed the Christmas festivities and would like to take this opportunity to wish you the very best for 2013. Hopefully it will not be to long before your return visit to Ballina.

Warm regards,
Ken and the Team at the Ice House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ice House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ice House Hotel

Address: The Quay, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary chic meets old world elegance throughout the Ice House. Funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled riverside views from all our rooms and you'll immediately know you're not. The distinct, interior fusion of traditional and new styles are woven in to an eclectic mix. Together they form the perfect accent to the amazing views that stretch across the River Moy to the woodlands beyond. With great service, fantastic food, fine wines, clever cocktails and a hotel spa guaranteed to sooth... ...Discover the best of both worlds at The Ice House and make it your escape to the extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Ice House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ice Hotel Ballina
The Ice Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ice House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.