We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ballina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ballina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ballina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Dublin Road, Ballina, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Ballina
Marbella, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were a family of 7 having a 2 night break away. I would like to compliment the hotel and all of the staff for the welcome and the attention we received there. Front of house was so welcoming as also were the restaurant staff. Breakfast buffet was excellent as was the dinner on our second night there. The room I shared with two of my sisters was very spacious and served as a ´get together´ venue on night one. We had music in the bar after dinner on night 2 where the singers were pleased to take requests. All in all, a very pleasant experience and to be recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    106
    53
    22
    16
See reviews for
120
156
14
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Myself and my partner purchased one of these deal vouchers for Hotel Ballina and it was most certainly worth it! The hotel is beautifully decorated with a huge chandelier and big comfy couches in the lobby.

Our room was very spacious (I think it was a deluxe king room) and had the biggest bed I have ever slept in! Room and bathroom were both very clean. No wifi in the rooms (only in the lobby and the bar/restaurant I think), however all you have to do is ask reception for a cable for dial up internet and they'll happily provide you with one - i thought the internet would be slow using this method but it was perfect!

We were located just beside the entrance to the leisure centre which was handy. Lovely pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room and gym - all very clean and not too busy, even at peak evening time.

The breakfast (included in the deal) was great - huge selection of cold food such as melon, peaches, yoghurts, cold meats, cereals, fresh croissants and the usual hot food which was delicious.

Very friendly staff. The hotel is located outside of Ballina (I'd say it's about a 10 minute drive) which is fine during the day but inconvenient at night when going for a few drinks as taxis are expensive (€10 into the town!!)

Room Tip: rooms on the ground floor are most convenient as they're closest to the bar/restaurant and the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Ballina when attending a friend's wedding in the local area. The hotel is clean and spacious and the staff are friendly. We felt it was a little lacking in character but overall it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Definitely a different feel to this place. Whilst last time we stayed it was good, I could tell that staff are happier and seem more content here now. Ballina is a lovely big town and so this Hotel is a great base to explore the area. Once again we enjoyed the pool and as we had booked a spa break, we had a lovely back massage in the spa. I think the therapist's name was Anne Marie and she was so bubbly and nice, such a change from before.
We had planned to have dinner the first night and eat out the second, but we were so relaxed and chilled that we had bar food the second night. Both meals were lovely, and the staff made a real effort to talk to us and ask how we were getting on. Oh and the guinness was very good!
I would really recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

very well run hotel staff were very helpful and friendly in every department front of house and bar staff were excellent leisure centre and pool area were the same could not find fault with anything great stay very comfortable beds clean rooms fresh linen every day maid service top class great food in bar compliments to the chef will stay here again if in the area overall very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The room was very nice, the staff were very helpful. The pool is big but be warned children cannot use it after 7pm -this includes all under 18 and you must have a swimming cap €2 to buy if needed.
We were right at the end of a corridor (we had asked for a quiet room). But there was a lot of noise in the corridor which woke us in the 'middle' of the night, a couple of times. But no noise through the walls!
It is not walking distance to the township.
Plenty of parking but NO WiFi only wired internet. Not much use with an iPad !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff were top notch throughout , very corteous and helpfull. The rooms were in good condition , spacious with a nice TV and bathroom. The bar food and service were very good with a nice relaxed atmosphere.

The hotel isn't within walking distance of anywhere and doesn't have a 'grounds' as such.
I wasn't a huge fan of the gym with pounding techno music. These quibles aside it was a positive experience overall

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Ballina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ballina

Address: 26 Dublin Road, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ballina 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Ballina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ballina
Ballina Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ballina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.