We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding wedding venue!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ballina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ballina to your Saves list
Hotel Ballina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Dublin Road, Ballina, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding wedding venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 via mobile

I just had my wedding in hotel Ballina last weekend and my sincerest compliments go to all the staff of the hotel who were absolutely brilliant from beginning to end. They got to know guests who took vacations there as far back as the summer and really went out of their way to be friendly,courteous and helpful.

Special mention must go to Valerie the general manager. From the moment we booked hotel Ballina her enthusiasm has been wonderful. She made life so easy for us, working with both us and our parents to make the day as special as possible. I don't think that she slept for the three days! Even at 12 o clock that night when I asked for some wedding cake for the lobby not only did she get cake but tea and cups etc for everyone.

It was all the little touches that made this hotel honestly the best we could ever have hoped for. We are delighted to be able to send custom in their direction and are already looking forward to staying with them for our one year anniversary!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    122
    60
    27
    18
See reviews for
135
176
18
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dippydoo10
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

Thios place is a little gem a bargain I feel like I have robbed everytime I have stayed how can you get such a fab hotel for £50 quid???

This place is in a great part of the country with fantastic countryside all around.

The hotel is fantastic the rooms are spotless and huge the beds are fab and also massive. The staff are the nicest hotel staff I have meet and I stay away around 3 nights a week for business.

If you stay here you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Had a lovely stay here in september. Greeted by a very friendly receptionist. Had an interconnecting room which was excellent but all rooms are quite spacious as there was a group of us staying. Enjoyed a lovely meal that night. Also all the ladies in our group had spa treatments and we all agreed it was one of the nicest spa we have been to. We also had a babysitter arranged for us from the hotel who was a lovely girl.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights midweek during mid-term for children for €299 for room plus adjoining room b & b plus 2 evening meals. Excellent value, but thought perhaps it was too good to be true so checked on Trip Advisor before confirming - excellent reviews and my voice will not be added to that.

Staff were all excellent with good Customer Service skills.

Leisure centre was very good.

Spa was lovely and the girl running the spa who only joined Hotel Ballina in past few weeks is a very good addition to the hotel. Treatments well priced and a very comfortable relaxation room.

Food was good though quite basic.

The rooms were spacious and comfortable.

To top it all off - I left without my wallet and Deirdre on Reception was so helpful in assisting me to retrieve it without having to travel all way back to do so.

Will certainly go back and have already recommended to others

Room Tip: We were on ground floor which is same floor as leisure centre, perhaps if hotel was busier as famili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We booked into the hotel several weeks back as we were at a wedding in nearby Mount Falcon. While the hotel was intended only as somewhere "to lay our heads". Everything was grand, breakfast was nice and, more importantly, prompt Then, after visiting relations in town before heading back to Dublin, we were driving past the hotel and decided to grab dinner before hitting the road. The restaurant is a little bit dark for an evening meal, but the food was superb and the service was very pleasant. Will definitely be staying there the next time we venture west.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Myself and my wife decided to go to the west of ireland for 4 days. we were lucky to book the hotel Ballina. We had booked by phone and on arrival were greeted with a warm welcome as if we were regulars. The rooms were very comfortable, spacious and tastefully decorated .The Sfaff and especially the manager who led by example were always on hand and very helpful

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrickmacross
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Just back from a lovely 5 night stay at the Hotel Ballina. We choose this Hotel because we wanted peace and quite and we got just that. from the moment we went in the front door we got such a hearty welcome best we ever got it was a great start to our stay. the staff at reception couldn't be nicer they were genuinely friendly, which makes a change to some Hotels. Our room was lovely clean and great bed lovely view of well maintained gardens.Food was perfect and again waitressing staff were very friendly couldn't fault the breakfast if there was a fault my husband would be first to say as he is fussy about his first meal so he was a very happy man. I got a back massage with Ann Marie and have to say she was brilliant lovely spa facilities so relaxing i could have slept there.Hotel is close to town which is bursting with activity and the local people are so friendly must be something in the water. we will be returning to Hotell Ballina in the New Year and i would recommend it it to couples or a family as swimming pool look great and leisure centre has lots to offer. Overall really nice Friendly hotel :):):)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ballina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ballina

Address: 26 Dublin Road, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ballina
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ballina 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ballina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Ballina
Ballina Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ballina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.