We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Castle” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belleek Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Belleek Castle to your Saves list
Belleek Castle
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belleek Woods, Ballina, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
Montpelier, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Belleek Castle was a great place to stay. While a bit out of the way, the location was peaceful and lovely. We stayed in a newly converted room which was very nicely decorated, very clean and very quiet. Pillows and mattress were wonderful. A full dinner was served, which was superb although not included, and the full breakfast was good as well. Lots of smiling faces, a lovely path through the woods to the river and a wonderful sitting room next to the full bar. Glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    41
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
40
136
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were there on a rainy day and it made the castle seem cozier. Fresh flowers were everywhere. The room we were in had recently been redone and it was lovely. The draperies alone were gorgeous. Incredible bathroom - big enough for a party! They could use a bellman for hauling suitcases up the very grand staircase. They offered; we declined since I am probably stronger than the offeror! We had dinner with wonderful fresh food and delicious homemade breads (Including dillesk (seaweed) bread) which was awesome. Walk to the river was not worth it. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The famous Ashford castle in Cong ,Belleek castle reminds me but on a smaller scale.
11 Rooms,the bar constructed from timbers salvaged from the Spanish Armada, Great food, and friendly staff add to the relaxed atmosphere and ambiance of this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing front,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

One of the most friendly and personal hotels I've ever stayed in. Paul Doran the owner even gave us and family members a personal guided tour of the castle after diner. Very relaxing atmosphere, beautiful food with a great wine list to accompany it. All the staff went out of their way to make sure all our needs were catered for. The describe the deco in the bedrooms & bathrooms as faded grandeur, but was shown a couple of the restored rooms which are just perfect for a property such as this. We stayed her for a family wedding which was 20 minutes away, it was such a shame that the wedding wasn't here at the castle ! We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a very enjoyable 2 night stay in this wonderful setting. The food in the restaurant was excellent and the "early bird" menu is to be recommended for its excellent variety and locally sourced produce. The brown bread baked daily by the chef's wife was amazing and VERY morish! The restaurant service was exceptional and staff made a real effort to make the mealtimes a real experience. Also recomended is a guided trip around the castle and its contents, work is underway to exhibit lots of wonderful items collected over the years by the previous, somewhat eccentric owner.
The hotel is clearly aiming to provide great dining and event experiences. The room we stayed in was very nice but some touches were missing, ie no dressing table so hair drying and make up had to be done sitting on the floor in front of the full length mirror. Not much space in the very stylish bathroom for our own toiletries, no complementary toiletries provided. Once they get these issues sorted I think a 5 star rating will be appropriate.
One small concern, when I booked originally it was for a "standard" room, I had to change the booking dates and was told that i would need to pay a suppliment as no standard rooms were available for the new dates. When we arrived however the hotel was nearly empty...a bit curious!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Myself and my better half stayed in the castle for our birthday weekend and had an absolutely brilliant time. The castle itself is gorgeous and the woods surrounding it so tranquil and lush. We spent the afternoon walking and then came back to drink and dine in their atmospheric restaurant. On very short notice, and with no fuss at all, the kitchen produced an 8 course vegan gourmet tasting menu for me that was an absolute delight, plus they had vegan wine to boot! The staff were lovely and the whole experience was such a treat - I couldn't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

An enchanting castle with the most cosy bar, enchanting dining room and the very best food and staff we have ever met!
We came across Belleek by chance and it is the best surprise we could gave wished for on our 25th wedding anniversary.
The staff signed our dinner menu and it will be framed as a reminder of our enchanting day and evening.
We will be bringing friends back for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belleek Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belleek Castle

Address: Belleek Woods, Ballina, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Belleek Castle 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belleek Castle....... an iconic Irish Country House, restaurant (AA 2 Rosettes), hotel and spectacular wedding venue…Belleek is unpretentious, cosy and friendly, rich in decor and antiquities, with open log fires to warm your steps back through this cultural adventure.Enjoy a contemporary dinner, with generous portions, in our unique light panelled dining room. We have developed a new food philosophy. Our spirit is to search for more “Depth of Flavour”, exercising both classic and imaginative cooking techniques. We use seasonal ingredients and produce, selected from the land, sea and air of Mayo, and combine these with the traditions of the Castle.However, our signature dish is a Castle classic, the "Drunken Bullock", a filet steak flambéed at the table and served flaming from a sword, adding theatre to succulent steak. Hand made oak tables, eclectic romantic music, lit by candlelight, with charming attention and delicious food.“One of the most atmospheric and delightful dining experiences in Ireland”, Bill Gooch, Virginia Beach.Guests may enjoy a private viewing of the Castle museum by appointment. Belleek Castle hosts The Marshall Doran Collection, the finest collection of mediaeval armour and Jurassic fossils in Ireland. How many times have I heard? “Oh my God!” or “Oh Gosh!”Belleek Castle... Unique, intimate and magical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Belleek Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belleek Castle Hotel Ballina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belleek Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.