We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brigown B&B

Brigown B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brigown B&B
Save
You added Brigown B&B to your Saves list
Quay Road, Ballina, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Ballina B&B and Inns
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Marjorie and her B&B are both wonderful. She's a delightful lady, so friendly and chatty. Just the right personality for running such a business.
I was amazed at her attention to detail, evident throughout the house but especially in the presentation of her delicious food. We had an amazing weekend and the next time we're in Ballina, we'll definitely stay with Marjorie.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Galway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

WOW, Marjorie knows food. If you stay at Brigown you can expect to be warmly welcomed and expect to have the best breakfast in Ireland. The room was spacious and comfortable, the view from the breakfast room lovely. If you want to stay where you feel comfortable and extremely welcome. You can look no further than Marjory's lovely home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

Truly, I have dined at the table of the Gods. Simple ingredients served with passion and flair. Marjorie has an understanding of food that comes straight from the heart. Other cooking establishments will serve food that will nourish the body, but breakfast from Marjorie's table will nourish the soul!!. I stayed three days and had different breakfast every day. From the silky smooth smoked Salmon and scrambled egg to the most sublime kippers I have ever eaten. Then came the speciality - Pancakes. A beautiful infusion of sweetness and simplicity.
The toasted homemade bread served with Marjories own preserves while looking out over the River Moy would rise anyones spirits. Marjorie is a remarkable lady with an enthusiasm for cooking that is infectious. The accomodation was perfect for my needs. She has a local knowledge of the best fishing guides or the best places to hike or cycle. This is the hidden Ireland that so many seek out. Lovely seafood resturants locally.

Room Tip: The house is on an elevated site away from a quiet road. The rooms are very quiet and adequate for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Hold on to your hats. This B&B's owner, Marjorie, runs an esteemed cookery school, so you're in for a breakfast fit for a king. Unusual, scrumptious and bountiful offerings in addition to traditional Irish fare, prepared to perfection and served with style. Brigown B&B sits in a really pretty setting overlooking the River Moy. Lovely accommodation -- clean, comfy and charming. Marjorie takes special care to see that all your needs are met. This is a definite keeper.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brigown B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigown B&B

Address: Quay Road, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ballina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brigown B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.