We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business ruined !!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brennan's Lane Bar & Restaurant - CLOSED

Brennan's Lane Bar & Restaurant
Tone Street, Ballina, Ireland
+353 (0)96 74971
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $38
Cuisines: European, Irish, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Brennan’s Lane is in the heart of Ballina, on the evocatively named Garden Street. From outside it looks quite small, but this is deceiving as it stretches way back and is actually huge. It has an almost Tardis quality in the amount of space inside. Downstairs is the bar, where some pretty serious gigs take place while you will find the restaurant on the first floor. The dining room is beautifully designed and features exposed brick walls, cool sofa seats, plenty of well spaced tables and chairs and some interesting art, as well as a series of old style butchers blackboards showing farm animals and the parts the different cuts of meat come from.  The room is long and fairly narrow, but well thought out design means it feels light and airy, and the open plan kitchen at one end adds to the sense of space. It is modern and elegant, warm and inviting. Description from Taste of Ireland by Paolo Tullio
Ballina, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Business ruined !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This once fine restaurant has been closed down by the Bank ! It's appalling what is happening in this country of ours. Another example of the Banks systematically ruining peoples lives and running established businesses into the ground ! I just don't see the point. The mind boggles.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    33
    12
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The place doesn't look like much from the outside, but once you go through the pub and arrive at the restaurant, you know you're going to enjoy your meal.
The food was absolutely fantastic, from the waiting times between courses to the presentation of the plates, the temperature of the food and the taste. 10/10 !
The prices area reasonable. The decor is lovely, although a bit more atmosphere would have been nice. We visited Brennan's on a Sunday night at 7pm, left at 8.45. During that time only one other couple had dinner.
The service was fine, but it really is the food that gives this place the 4 stars it deserves.

Would definitely return and recommend the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Excellent food, menu and service. Not sure reservations are actually required but recommended. The seafood and beef were good enough to return for dinner a second night. Ask if they are serving in both rooms and request a table in the "front" room.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co Mayo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food , unbeatable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Ended up here after booking elsewhere fell through. Quiet night in Ballina on Thursday meant no one in downstairs bar and no one other than myself and friend in upstairs restaurant but we stayed anyway. Decor was nice and also warm considering lack of " crowd" body heat.
The waitress couldn't have been more helpful. Our chosen wine was not available so not once did she open a new bottle for us to taste an alternative but TWICE and we stayed with the second which was lovely.
All meals were lovely and she was able to explain the intricacies of the courses. We shared a dessert with an additional scoop of ice cream. Another couple and a party of three came in before we left but even with an empty setting , it felt more like we were specially catered for rather than isolated.
Price was 85 Euro or so including two full courses , shared dessert and bottle of wine.
Would come here again .

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Restaurant good....but the bar!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Let me start by saying that I tell it like it is. As you can see, I have along with many others, reviewed this establishment before and could not fault the restaurant. This is still the case. But a recent visit to one of the downstairs bars is what brought this following problem to the fore.
I ordered a drink, they didn't have it. I tried a different one....they didn't have that either.... Now I'm not talking 'Chateau Lafite Rothschild' here, or a 1996 'Dom Perignon Rose', I'm on about the standard stuff like 'Jack Daniels' or 'Jameson' whiskey, the likes of which us 'commoners' drink! When I did find a short that they did have, I asked for 'Coke' as a mixer.....guess what....no Coke!!!! How can a bar have no Coke? It's like having 'Laurel' with no 'Hardy' or 'Jordan' without 'T***s'! So, whoever's in charge of this establishment....nip out the Killala road for a mile and you'll find a big industrial compound on your right, it's called 'Ballina Beverages', and it just so happens that it is one of the largest manufacturing plants in Europe belonging to the Coca-Cola company....ask them to lend you a crate or two! Oh, and ask them if they have any JD or Jameson they can spare!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brennan's Lane Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Ballina, County Mayo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brennan's Lane Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.