We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Break near the town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Downhill Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Downhill Inn to your Saves list
The Downhill Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sligo Road, Ballina, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
Wicklow,
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Budget Break near the town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

Stayed here for one night room only rate(60€ per room)on friday 1st october,It was right at the end of the quays and near a pub called"murphy Bros" and "Crockets"which has a late bar.Its a good place for the location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    33
    21
    8
    15
See reviews for
23
26
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

we stayed over new year there was a group of 10 of us the weather was trecherous but the day manager Karl and the night manager stephen made the stay we had truly brilliant both of these men bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable we turned up before they served food and we were cold and hungry but they managed to russel us up a warm and filling bowl of soup and a sandwich without any problems from there on we knew no matter how cold the weather outside was we were sure to have a warm welcome in fact as it was so cold and as we enjoyed the hotel so much we didn't end up going out on new years eve we stayed in the bar with both steve and karl, who's shift was finished it was a rememberable evening with good company we were made so welcome we will deffiantely return we only hope that the weather will make it an even better stay

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

Most enjoyable week-end. Great Hotel to chill-out in, or partake in activivies and an ideal base for touring the North west area.
Family run Hotel, staff very helpful especially the diningroom staff, very plesant and efficient in looking after all our needs.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009 via mobile

This hotel must is a rarity in Ireland nowadays. Poorly run, badly decorated, unsatisfactory food and not as cheap as other hotels in it's class, so can't use that as an excuse.

I stayed only one night for business and was greeted by a friendly but extremely relaxed (slow) guy at reception. I found my room to be drab, tatty and from the 80s.

The hotel was empty when I came for a nightcap, except that is for the character sitting at the bar...the barman! I got my nightcap without being engaged because he was watching tv!

Breakfast was poor, dry and wholly unsatisfactory.

A guesthouse would be cheaper and better,
I won't stay there again

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

We stayed in the Downhill Inn for two nights and we were constantly dissapointed.
Firsty: we had trouble setting up the internet, the staff were absolutely no help. Then when we finally did set it up, we were only allowed log in four times and that was it for the day.
Then the breakfast was hardly a 'full-irish'. It was one egg, two small sausages and some bread. I asked for Brown toasted bread both days and both days they forgot!!
Dinner was a bigger disgrace. My partner ordered the steak and was told that we would have to pay an extra 5e as we were on a package weekend. We then also had to pay for our drinks at the meal. We both didn't have dessert so we asked could the cost be taken off tho cover the rest off the bill but they said no!!
If that all wasn't bad enough, I was getting out of the shower, while my partner was watching tv when the cleaning lady came in without knocking, complete invasion of privacy.
I have never been so dissapointed with a hotel. I would never stay in this hotel ever again, once was enough!!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Went ot my room after arriving was greeted by a dog licking my feet and a manager who had a problem with histongue he kept licking his face. My room had a phone with no plug, hairdryer had cut in electrical cord , and bath had air in the plug hole,for dinner i ahd to eat my soup with a fork,every meal you were given a choice of two meals for a 4 night stay Cooks Surprise or Pie and Beans. Fire Drill every night at midnight, the location was in the middle of nowhere, Last day of my stay and a family with 5 kids came in to my room. A terrible hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Just back from our annual Golf Trip, the hotel organized everything - tee-times, transpost, meals etc etc. The hotel is ideal -located near some of the best golf we had in Ireland. The rooms are comfortable and clean, and the staff are a real gem.
we dined in the hotel twice - the food excellent and service too - it has a real family feel too.
Ballina was good too -good bars and restaurants. We definatley be back

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Downhill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downhill Inn

Address: Sligo Road, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Downhill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downhill Inn Hotel in Ballina, is amongst Ballina Hotels gems - priding itself on offering value for money, excellent service and quality hotel accommodation in Ballina, Co. Mayo - this family owned and managed 3 Star Hotel in Mayo is a real treat to discover.This Ballina Hotel in Mayo is renowned for its friendly, efficient and professional staff.Last Minute deals can make the accommodation cheap in cost, offering good value. Hotel Discounts are available with our special offers.The hotel is located on the Sligo road on the outskirts of Ballina Town in the heart of Mayo, near the river Moy which is famous for salmon fishing ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Downhill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downhill Hotel Ballina
The Downhill Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Downhill Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.