We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five star and friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Falcon Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Falcon Estate to your Saves list
Mount Falcon Estate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Five star and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Just returned from a stay in Mount Falcon with my partner and parents - we'd booked a 'treat' weekend in order to catch up with each other. And treat it really was - as mentioned before the staff were fabulous, hotel itself elegant and comfortable (and spotlessly clean). All the facilities were faultless and the food superb - both in the main restaurant and the bar. Breakfast especially was superb. Loads to do although the place is so relaxing it's difficult to make yourself do anything! Can't recommend the place highly enough - just go!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    94
    32
    16
    10
See reviews for
139
284
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Co. Kildare
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Everything about Mount Falcon is impressive but the staff is truly outstanding. Take a bow, Henrietta and Louisa and all the other ones whose names I can't recall but will always remember.
I had never heard of Mount Falcon but the hotel came recommended by a friend of a friend. Driving up to the house on a rather drizzly and miserable afternoon you immediately felt better. It's that kind of place. There were wood fires roaring in the fireplaces, a big smile on the receptionist's face... What a welcome! Two of us were sharing a huge twin bedroom (two single beds pushed together, a bit strange but okay), the other five friends shared two self-catering lodges in the hotel grounds.
Our bedroom was large and beautifully decorated in muted beige/cream shades. The bathroom was one of the largest I have ever encountered in a hotel. Toiletries were supplied.
The self-catering lodges were absolutely beautiful. Each bedroom was en-suite. The kitchens were very well appointed with ceramic hob, washing machine, dish-washer and plenty of crockery and delph.
Dinner on Saturday night was an absolutely delicious affair. The chef deserves full marks. Mount Falcon was voted one the five top restaurants in Connaught. And fully deserverd, too.
Mount Falcon is set in huge grounds with a man-made lake and well laid-out paths. Bycicles are supplied free of charge at the leisure centre (swimming-pool etc.). You can go angling, You can take part in a mystery weekend. You can just go and have fun. Both Ballina and Foxford are within a few kilometres, the Ox Mountains are beautiful, Lough Conn is just around the corner.
Only gripe: the paths between the lodges and the hotel should be lit up better.
Go. Enjoy.
Would I go back? Just hand me my hat and I'm off.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howardmjhughes
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

Myself and my wife visited Mount Falcon as a "to do" list item. We had only planned to stay one night but staff made us soooo comfortable that we just couldn't leave! Apart from the beauty of the building, interior and the rooms, there is a great leisure facility which includes a pool which looks out over the natural beauty surrounding the hotel. It is also the location for our son, Smauel's, first swim! My words can't do justice to everyone who made us feel so welcome and to the tasteful and luxuriant interior. Go go go!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

I have been to the Mount falcon on 3 occassions in the past year every time it was perfect . From the moment you enter the gate its heaven. The staff are friendly competent and helpful. The food is wonderful and the selection both in morning and evening is fabulous. Rooms on each occasion were cosy warm and very comfortable. I adore this hotel and would recommend anyone to stay there if even for one night

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUBLIN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

From the moment we were met at check in - with a fabulous log fire burning - until the time we reluctantly checked out we had a 100% lovely stay.
We just loved the attitude of all the staff and Eamon in particular was outstanding. He makes a point of introducing himself to all the guests and then remembers your name. You could meet him in a corridor 3 days later and you will get a friendly "good morning and your name and what have you been enjoying etc" This is ever so pleasant and makes you feel so at home. All of the staff are exceptionally friendly in a lovely natural way and this combined with a very high standard of professionalism seems to really work and make a stay in this remarkable hotel one unforgetable experience. We simply loved every minute of our time there. You are made to feel special and that it is the Hotels pleasure to have you pampered and taken the very best care of while there.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Stayed two nights and had a wonderful stay !! from when we booked the service was professional and friendly! the receptionists (both) were wonderful! Mount Falcon was what you would expect from a Irish country house! open turf fires, smells wonderful, We stayed in the original building, in the' ditches' The room was authentic,spacious and very comfortable. The restaurant was excellent, the food was fantastic, especially the desert!! it had a wonderful atmosphere and the staff were friendly, informative, without being stuffy. I spent a lovely morning in the spa for a facial and a massage, it was again very professional ! the spa/pool area is what you would expect wonderful surroundings and most importantly clean!!! check out there website
The other half spent a day trying flyfishing!!! The resident expert on flyfishing Stuart made time to give him a quick lesson (we had not booked ) and he had other commitments but he arrived early morning to spent some time to give the basics!! a nice gesture!! and appreciated ! Husband very happy on the lake practicing ! first time flyfishing and managed to land 1 trout !! and of course several got away!!!!!!!!!! If your husband likes fishing I could not think of another place I would like to be a fishing widow! a wonderful setting, good food, excellent spa area and friendly staff! will definitely be back ! Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Stayed this bank holiday weekend - almost perfect (even the weather wasn't bad).
Lovely estate with great fishing possibilities and some very good golf within reasonable distance
Rooms (we booked the "superior" entry level in the newer part of the house) were good, spacious, well equipped and excellent bathrooms - also good pool/sauna facilities.
Service by all staff was simply impeccable - professional but genuinely friendly and knowledgeable - special praise must go to Keith (the food & beverage manager) and all his team. For once I could forget the 10% service charge.
The Kitchen Restaurant was very good on both nights we ate there.

So why "almost" perfect - well I would have liked not to have to ask for a tea tray in my room, could have done with the Boathole Bar being a bit bigger and I do wish they wouldn't pipe the muzak to every public area in the hotel. However these are small gripes and the hotel is worthy of a 5 star review.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Falcon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Falcon Estate

Address: Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Falcon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Falcon Estate lies by the banks of The River Moy ( the most prolific wild Atlantic Salmon river in Ireland ) between Foxford and Ballina ( The Salmon Capital of Ireland ). The Estate consists of a 4 star deluxe 32 bedroom hotel, 45 lodges, 2 miles of exclusive salmon fishing, a 3 acre rainbow trout stocked lake, 100 acres of mature woodland, a 3 km walking / jogging / biking trail, an Elemis Spa and Clay pigeon shooting. The house was built in 1876 and was a wedding present from one young groom to his new wife. The estate was originally owned by The Knox family who came to Ireland in the Cromwellian era and their ancestors are buried in the circular graveyard next to The Megalithic tomb. Opened in 2006 Mount Falcon was the youngest hotel to win The AA Hotel of the year. Head Chef Philippe Farineau and his team have achieved 2 AA Rosettes in the restaurant and in 2011 achieved The Best Hotel Restaurant in Connaught and The Best Head Chef in Connaught by The Restaurant Association of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mount Falcon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Falcon Estate Hotel Ballina
Mount Falcon Country Hotel
Mount Falcon Country Ballina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Falcon Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.