We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea was a delight” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Falcon Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Falcon Estate to your Saves list
Mount Falcon Estate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea was a delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

€30 for two - includes loads of stuff - you certainly wont be hungry after. Very good value and very tasty too. It was a lovely sunny afternoon and we sat out front of the iconic building looking out over a fab vista. Very enjoyable. My partner would have liked a bit more of the savoury and less of the sweet options - with my sweet tooth I was happy as a clam!

Minor nigggles; service was a bit patchy, tea was slow to arrive, food served; no cutlery, no milk - all came bit by bit and since the setting and food was so nice it wasn't a major problem but ...

If you are on your way in or out of Ballina in the afternoon make a stop at Mount Falcon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    101
    34
    18
    10
See reviews for
159
307
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed in Mount Falcon in one of the 12 woodland lodges for a whole week and we loved it. The lodges are very well equipped, nicely decorated and excellent for a stay with family or friends. Breakfast in the hotel was excellent, the hotel park is just amazing. Daily fitness courses are offered for 10.- Euro per course.
We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Woodland lodges are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I recently got married a few weeks ago and the build up to the wedding was quite stressful.I had booked into mount falcon in the spa to have a bridal facial with the spa manager Deirdre Helly.From start to finish the facial treatment was absolutely
amazing.She made the treatment so relaxing my poor body had never experienced such a treatment.I have told all my family and friends of this magical treatment and I can safely say if you book with Deirdre you will not be disappointed.So for any brides to be whom are getting married very soon.I would strongly recommend.Let Deirdre Helly take you away to another world.Will definetely be going back for the same treatment.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

From the moment you push open the heavy oak front door of the manor house and are met by the comforting smell of the open wood fireplace, you will be transported back in time to an idyllic Irish era (but with modern amenities!). Gorgeous grounds, wonderful top-notch staff, delicious food in the restaurant, numerous historical details. This is a place to go to clear your mind and refresh your spirit. This is not what I would consider a B&B - this is a place that is so much more, and at the same time doesn't suffer from the impersonal nature of chain hotels. Walk in the wooded trails and be sure to make your way back to the estate's cemetery in a grove of trees - there is something unique and magical about that location. I wouldn't change a single thing, other than I wish it was the last stop on my journey as all other hotels paled in comparison after.

Room 7 in the hotel was a treat - corner regular room, nothing but trees out the windows on two walls. Try their Boathole Martini for a refreshing drink that isn't too sweet.

I've stayed in hundreds of hotel rooms, from the most basic to the Ritz-Carlton, but this is the only one that I long to go back to.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkineely, Donegal, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We are just back from Mount Falcon having stayed for one night in "The Dugout" deluxe room. Beautiful spacious room with a modern bathroom. The staff were excellent from the minute we entered the hotel, so friendly, so helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had dinner in the bar, food was delicious and not too expensive. The grounds of the hotel are very impressive and lovely to walk around. The overall is experience of this hotel is magical and we will definitely go back to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Our room was beautiful and probably provided us the most comfortable of beds we had while visiting Ireland. The hotel is gorgeous and the grounds were excellent for strolling and checking out the scenery.

The staff was friendly and helpful, but the bar was expensive. Our only saving grace was that the 2 nights we stayer here the room and my wife's meals were provided by the company she was consulting for. If left to our own accord I am sure we could have found B&B's just as nice for a lot less money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Sligo, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

I stayed in the mount Falcon Apartments with group of friends midweek. It was very nice spacious, clean and bright. The estate itself had beautiful grounds for walking.

We had breakfast in the hotel which I was disappointed with. the scrambled eggs were very sloppy and presentation wasn't good. The full Irish breakfast didn't taste nice. There was plenty to eat and staff were friendly and helpful. For the price it certainly could have being better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Falcon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Falcon Estate

Address: Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Falcon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Falcon Estate lies by the banks of The River Moy ( the most prolific wild Atlantic Salmon river in Ireland ) between Foxford and Ballina ( The Salmon Capital of Ireland ). The Estate consists of a 4 star deluxe 32 bedroom hotel, 45 lodges, 2 miles of exclusive salmon fishing, a 3 acre rainbow trout stocked lake, 100 acres of mature woodland, a 3 km walking / jogging / biking trail, an Elemis Spa and Clay pigeon shooting. The house was built in 1876 and was a wedding present from one young groom to his new wife. The estate was originally owned by The Knox family who came to Ireland in the Cromwellian era and their ancestors are buried in the circular graveyard next to The Megalithic tomb. Opened in 2006 Mount Falcon was the youngest hotel to win The AA Hotel of the year. Head Chef Philippe Farineau and his team have achieved 2 AA Rosettes in the restaurant and in 2011 achieved The Best Hotel Restaurant in Connaught and The Best Head Chef in Connaught by The Restaurant Association of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Mount Falcon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Falcon Estate Hotel Ballina
Mount Falcon Country Hotel
Mount Falcon Country Ballina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Falcon Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.