We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant Accomodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Falcon Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Falcon Estate to your Saves list
Mount Falcon Estate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Elegant Accomodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights, and I must say the bed and bathroom were the biggest I have seen in a hotel room. Tried the 3 course al-a-carte restaurant, and the for was very interesting (certainly not food we would normally have at a restaurant but definitely liked the Pigeon and should have tried the Peasant as well), and even the bar food was very good. A nice swimming pool and jacuzzi onsite, with gym adequate facilities. Staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    101
    34
    18
    10
See reviews for
159
308
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My husband and myself spent a night at Mount Falcon where we attended a dinner function. It was a first class experience - the staff were friendly and most helpful - the bedroom was spacious as was the king-sized bed. The bathroom was large, with 2 basins, a bath, and a walk-in shower. Food was excellent. Would recommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: Our room was located on the second floor and while the room itself was first class, the view unfortu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

8 of us stayed in a four room courtyard cottage. Excellent standard,so comfortable and clean. Weather was quite bad but we had no problem filling our weekend on the estate, pool is fab and some of our group did clay pigeon shooting. The food in the hotel was lovely and the staff were so accommodating. Can't wait to back again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here on a birthday wkd and had a lovely time. Availed of treatments in the spa which were lovely. Shame there is no relaxation room and that the changing rooms aren't separate. ...open to the public who use the pool. Spa staff were lovely as was Christina at reception. Afternoon tea was lovely and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. Only thing I could fault was the fact that we stayed as part of my mum's birthday which I informed the hotel off the week before arrival, who said they would note this beside our reservation. However there was no mention of it which was a little disappointing.
I am returning in 3 wks time with my husband which I will look forward to.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Fantastic hotel. Amazing surroundings. Really friendly staff. We stayed both in the hotel and the courtyard houses. Had 7 Children and each one of them loved staying in the estate. Great pool and perfect showers for showering with small Children. Food in the restaurant is top class. The only thing negative I can Think of is that the stairs in the lodges are steep and easy enough to fall down! (esp if you are a small Children) They are not covered in carpet so easy to slip if you are wearing socks. .. and if you are wearing shoes they make a hellav noise!

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are too nice to have Children in. All of the lodges are wonderful and have Everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxford, Ireland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

After visiting their spa, I signed up for an annual membership. They have a small workout room with your typical apparatus. The pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi are excellent. The jacuzzi is quite refreshing. I'll be leaving shortly for a visit.
The restaurant requires advance reservations and is quite expensive. Bar food seems reasonably priced. There are numerous types of accommodations. The grounds are wonderful for a stroll or jog.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel deserves all the good ratings it has got.
Warm log burning fires offer a great welcome in most of the public ares, and this is my most abiding memory that I take away.
Staff throughout are pleasant, efficient, helpful and relaxed. Christina at reception was excellent, and her cheerful manner and useful information helped us to relax and make the most of our visit.
Rooms are tastefully and warmly furnished in keeping with the house.
The spa/poo/saunal area was clean, warm and relaxing
Walks in the grounds, and around the lake were very enjoyable. It is more of a good stroll than a long trek, and the entire walk is about 3.8klm. On our route we witnessed trout jumping in the lake, a cock pheasant rising from the undergrowth, as well as various song birds which serenaded us all the way. The red squirrel, however, who has been glimpsed by staff, evaded us.
My only slight criticism concerned the dinner. menu, which was somewhat restricted and a bit on the 'gamey' 'side.. Pigeon, Partridge, wild venison, bouillabisse, all featured. If this is your taste, then be guaranteed you will be in for a treat...but if you prefer simpler fare, there are also some simpler dishes, ie wild salmon, corn fed chicken etc for the less adventurous.
A warm relaxing time is ensured in Mount Falcon, and you will not be ripped off by exorbitant prices.

Room Tip: I really don't think there is a 'bad' room in this hotel, but the suites are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Falcon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Falcon Estate

Address: Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Falcon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Falcon Estate lies by the banks of The River Moy ( the most prolific wild Atlantic Salmon river in Ireland ) between Foxford and Ballina ( The Salmon Capital of Ireland ). The Estate consists of a 4 star deluxe 32 bedroom hotel, 45 lodges, 2 miles of exclusive salmon fishing, a 3 acre rainbow trout stocked lake, 100 acres of mature woodland, a 3 km walking / jogging / biking trail, an Elemis Spa and Clay pigeon shooting. The house was built in 1876 and was a wedding present from one young groom to his new wife. The estate was originally owned by The Knox family who came to Ireland in the Cromwellian era and their ancestors are buried in the circular graveyard next to The Megalithic tomb. Opened in 2006 Mount Falcon was the youngest hotel to win The AA Hotel of the year. Head Chef Philippe Farineau and his team have achieved 2 AA Rosettes in the restaurant and in 2011 achieved The Best Hotel Restaurant in Connaught and The Best Head Chef in Connaught by The Restaurant Association of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Mount Falcon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Falcon Estate Hotel Ballina
Mount Falcon Country Hotel
Mount Falcon Country Ballina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Falcon Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.