We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the west” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Falcon Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Falcon Estate to your Saves list
Mount Falcon Estate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
Western Ireland, Ireland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Best in the west”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is excellent , it ticks all the boxes. Great location for those who want to golf at the near by golf coarses. Ideal for families fishing, leisure centre, bike hire & many more.
The grounds is picture postcard, great credit to the ground staff. While inside the hotel you will not meet nicer staff. Food & service is first class.
I'm will be back. Thanks again to the staff who made this stay

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    94
    32
    16
    10
See reviews for
139
284
12
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night recently. Enjoyed clay pigeon shooting, spa and leisure facilites.
Room was very nice, spacious and very clean.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
It was the restaurant that let it down - we were told we couldn't get a table until 10pm but when we passed at 9pm it was more than half empty and so we asked to be seated early. Food was only average. Service from waiting staff was good.
Food at breakfast was very dissapointing also.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

My husband, two daughters and I had booked a three day vacation at Mount Falcon three weeks ago and based on all the very positive reviews we thought we were in for a treat...Maybe we were just unlucky.... When we made our booking (Booking was made via a website as opposed to the hotel) requested a certain standard accomodation for a certain no of days but when we rang to confirm we had a day less and a standard less than requested. To achieve what we thought we had booked therefore cost additional funds...... Then upon arrival on the Friday evening we notified the hotel that the TV was not working.....Despite many requests to have the TV fixed we went through the courtyard accomodation without any TV and no updates from the hotel were forthcoming......For the beds in the double rooms, our 4 star hotel had single beds pulled together....This apparently is called ZIP process and usual for a 4 star hotel, not in my world !!!! Thereafter on our departure we were woken to an alarm at 5am in the morning...After getting it turned off 30 mins later, it went off again at 6 in the morning..... As for the service for breakfast that AM in the breakfast hall, we were very disappointed with the extremely slow service......Possibly the most disappointing thing of it all was the delegated response from the Hotel with what appears to be no acceptance for our discomfort with a thread of it was everyone else's fault and not the hotels.......Can I just say, not correct, no excuses just accept the constructive feedback and address the issues, let's face it we paid good money and expect that service in return ..... Maybe we were just unlucky ......Thanks,

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Mount Falcon Estate, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
As readers of our Tripadvisor reviews will testify we don't normally respond to reviews as we feel that the ethos of Tripadvisor is for the benefit of other potential guest/patrons as opposed to the establishments themsleves, hence we tend only to respond to those in which we feel that perhaps don't outline (whether intentional or not) all the relevant circumstances. In this we have decided to respond because we feel that there were some mitigating circumstances, that were entirely beyond our control that explain why the experience this customer had was not up to our usual standard. Before we outline these circumstances we would like to point out that we accept that the reviewer may not of been aware of them, indeed from the title of the review alone one might deduce that they conceded this to be the case. The original booking was made via a third part and hence the discrepancy in relation to duration of stay and "standard of accommodation" (in relation to the standard of accommodation we can only deduce that the reviewer is referring to the three different types of lodges we offer, all of which are of a similar '4 Star Deluxe standard', however all three types are architecturally unique and are located in three different distinct locations around the estate, namely; The Woodlands, The Lakeside and The Courtyard, some of which are ring fenced as self catering while others are packaged to include housekeeping services and breakfast, akin to that of the hotel bedrooms, and hence are priced differently) was therefore clearly not of our making (that said, following this feedback we have been in touch with the third party involved and reiterated the variations we offer). More pertinently, on the Friday evening in question, without any advance notice, the local area here suffered a power outage which lasted for approximately two hours. While we have a back up generator which did activate accordingly, it is only designed to back up the critical functions in the hotel e.g. reception, public area, offices and kitchens and hence power to all the lodges was cut off. While the power was off we did try and contact the ESB (our national power generator and supply company to whom we are entirely dependant on) to establish why the power went off and how long it was likely to be off for, but invariably we could only get through to an answering machine that didn't give us any relevant information. Some two hours later the power returned and it appears that the surge of power created a series of further problems as it knocked off a number of important electronic functions e.g. alarms, TV distribution systems, lifts in the hotel and the estate's property management system. To make matters worse sometime later that evening, or the following morning, the power was again cut off (again without any notice whatsoever) and the sequence was repeated. Following this series of power outages and subsequent surges our maintenance teams succeeded in getting the TV distribution to work in both our Woodland and Lakeside sites however unfortunately one of the components in the Courtyard distribution box burnt out and hence required a replacement which was provided by an engineer the following week. Hence the lack of TV reception and the various alarm activations, which, as unfortunate as they were, were entirely outside our control. Throughout this entire experience our management team tried to cope as best they could and in doing so did their utmost to communicate will all guests, which was difficult to say the least given that, notwithstanding their best efforts, they were unable to establish what caused the two power outages and how long it would be before power was returned. Given the inconvenience caused, particularly to those in the Courtyard lodges who were without TV reception for the entire weekend, the management team here made the appropriate decision to provide complimentary breakfast for all Courtyard residents which in turn did unfortunately lead to some delays for which we apologised for at the time. In summary, we would like to take this opportunity to apologise profusely for the unfortunate experience you had during your stay with us, however having now explained the prevailing circumstances (which we must concede may not of been made clear enough to you during your stay) we hope that perhaps you, and our other review readers, will understand that the mitigating circumstances were entirely out of our control and hence we'd like to assure all concerned that unfortunately, as you implied in your review, you do appear to of been unlucky. Rest assured we fully appreciate the value of customer feedback and hence we would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for posting your review and consequently giving us the opportunity to explain it for all concerned. Believe it or not we are still dealing with the consequences of the power surges, apart from the considerable costs involved with 'call outs' to a range of our technical support teams e.g. we had to 'call out 'our lift service team twice as it was deactivated following both power surges, and as I write we still have problems with our property management system that the technicians have attributed to the same power surges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

This proved to be an irritating rather than relaxing break. This was our first and last visit to Mount Falcon. Our intention was to enjoy a relaxing weekend break in the west of Ireland but this wasn't realised at Mount Falcon. This hotel has a lot going for it, a stunning setting and beautiful drive up to the property really got us excited and in fairness is as good as the pictures on the website. The grounds are also stunning with very pleasant walks and trails, however our experience was that the good points end once you enter the front door. The welcome was pleasant at reception, and we were allocated room 11. The rooms are elegantly decorated however we noticed an annoying noise coming from behind the shower, the room was also uncomfortably warm. We spoke to reception about the noise and they said it was because of a fan outside in the leisure centre and would go off later that evening. I was sceptical of this and when we returned to the room and looked outside there was no fan to be seen. We again contacted reception and requested to change rooms and they said they were full but would try to accommodate us. We got another room which was smaller and cooler (not being above the leisure centre) but was quiet so we were content.

The restaurant experience in the hotel was pleasant but the food was average in our opinion. On the second night when we tried to eat in the bar at 2015, we were informed that bar food finished at 1930, and there was no availability in the restaurant until 2130, there was no effort made to accommodate us so we had to drive to Ballina for dinner. Not good enough in our opinion.

Having returned from Ballina looking forward to a relaxing drink in the hotel, the lounge areas were busy and noisy with people and children from the two christenings and birthday party that were taking place at the hotel. It was far from relaxing, something which the hotel markets itself as being.

The leisure centre is also below standard. Cleanliness was lacking in the changing facilities and the pool area was over run with children with no member of staff monitoring their behaviour. Again no regard for the resident who is trying to avail of a relaxing weekend.

To summarise, this hotel has a lot going for it, but the main issue in our opinion is that this hotel does not cater sufficiently for guests who want to have a relaxing break, something which you are paying a premium price for and which should be standard. The resident at mount falcon seems to play second fiddle to any parties/functions occurring at the hotel. If you are after relaxation like you would expect from the description of the hotel, ensure it is quiet (midweek) as otherwise you will have to endure other peoples children running around because there is no dedicated area in which guests can relax.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I took my mother here for the June weekend and throughly enjoyed the friendly and relaxed athmosphere. The rooms were luxurious and beds so comfortable that we slept soundly. The staff were so helpful and friendly, the food was delicious and of a very high standard. We throughly enjoyed the leisure facilities and the spa treatments.The house and gardens are beautiful, Overall we could not fault the hotel and hope to stay again soon. Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providenciales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel a number of times over the past couple of years, and as we always holiday in Ireland I would rate this place the best there is to offer. We have rented a lakeside cottage and a courtyard cottage in the grounds of the hotel. The houses are so spacious and comfortable and perfectly clean every time. With a young family and usually a Grandmother with us there is something for everyone. Daily swims in the lovely pool (usually uninhabited), bicycle rides through the grounds of the hotel (free bike hire), feeding the ducks on the lake, a walk to the monolithic graveyard, dining in what I would rate as one of the best restaurants in Ireland, and trips to the town of Ballina for shopping etc and fabulous beach in Enniscrone (about 20 mins away). I always feel a little sad when I leave this place because I just love it!! Hotel is lovely too, staff very friendly and helpful, and always feel relaxed when we have the children with us for a bite to eat in the bar as they are warmly welcomed too. Turf fires, polished floors, antique furnishings - I could happily live there.

Room Tip: Cottages are fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I took my husband here in September for his 60th he is a keen fisherman and goes to scotland each year for salmon and never catches one on the second day of fishing he caught his first salmon , all the staff and management were so nice we really do rate this hotel

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Falcon Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Falcon Estate

Address: Foxford Road, Ballina, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Falcon Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Falcon Estate lies by the banks of The River Moy ( the most prolific wild Atlantic Salmon river in Ireland ) between Foxford and Ballina ( The Salmon Capital of Ireland ). The Estate consists of a 4 star deluxe 32 bedroom hotel, 45 lodges, 2 miles of exclusive salmon fishing, a 3 acre rainbow trout stocked lake, 100 acres of mature woodland, a 3 km walking / jogging / biking trail, an Elemis Spa and Clay pigeon shooting. The house was built in 1876 and was a wedding present from one young groom to his new wife. The estate was originally owned by The Knox family who came to Ireland in the Cromwellian era and their ancestors are buried in the circular graveyard next to The Megalithic tomb. Opened in 2006 Mount Falcon was the youngest hotel to win The AA Hotel of the year. Head Chef Philippe Farineau and his team have achieved 2 AA Rosettes in the restaurant and in 2011 achieved The Best Hotel Restaurant in Connaught and The Best Head Chef in Connaught by The Restaurant Association of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mount Falcon Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Falcon Estate Hotel Ballina
Mount Falcon Country Hotel
Mount Falcon Country Ballina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Falcon Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.