We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central ballina Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   At the Moy Ridgepool, Barrett Street, Ballina, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great central ballina Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

A group of six friends stayed in this hotel for a short break, we picked it because it was central to Ballina town. Indeed the hotel was right in the centre of the town overlooking the river Moy. The staff of the hotel was exceptionally friendly, especially Thomas who booked the reservation. But all the staff went out of their way to help or advise us on walking trails and information to make our visit more enjoyable. Good old Irish hospitality by local people who have pride in their local town and amenities. I would recommend this hotel for any visit or break to Ballina.The only negatives I would suggest is that car parking spaces are improved Also lighting in car park.Wifi needs to be improved also. Otherwise this hotel is excellent value and worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    82
    43
    19
    21
See reviews for
54
100
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
killala
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

close the doors already!!!! put the handful of staff members out of there misery! dirty fitly joke of a place had family staying here joined them for food on one of the evenings ashamed to say i read the reviews and thought it be a perfect location how wrong can u get depressed atmosphere the minute you walk in and it follows through the whole building a young man behind the desk shocked expression bar drab and boring staff all soo miserable food carvery quality family said they were bored as the pool was unusable all in all, who is the manager looked to speak to one and to no avail no one was available the floor staff didn't even seem to know had they one!!!dont know who wrote all the reviews to recommended this place we certainly wont be advising anyone to go there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed her in Feb 2013 with my wife for the weekend on a groupon voucher.Have to say that I couldn't fault the staff or service, food was fine.Location was extremely central.Rooms were clean and tidy, and everything worked ok.Had a nice room overlooking the Moy river and agree with other comments that the restaurant is very nice.Had a meal in beatiful settings, candleilte table overlooking the river.Overall everything was fine, ok, but would not like to have paid any more, it was a cheap weekend away.The hotel is 3 star standard

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a room overlooking the River Moy which made the stay so enjoyable. Friday evening we had a candle lit dinner complete with grand piano and a view overlooking the river. The food was excellent cuisine. Our waitress Clodagh was very helpful and very friendly she was made for that job, also the reception staff and breakfast staff, really they could not do enough, and sitting in front of that great fire, Ann Marie made sure that we were kept warm by putting the turf on while we sat and had a wee drink, This hotel may not be brand new but with its prime situation, close to all shops and other amenities, restaurant with views and helpful staff it was worth our visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and sister. We asked for rooms close by and with a view if possible. Staff ensured we were not disappointed. We had rooms overlooking the River Moy which made the stay so enjoyable. However the "piece de resistance" was the candle lit dinning room complete with grand piano and views overlooking the river. The food was excellent cuisine with a lovely ambiance. Our waitress Clodagh was very helpful and when we asked if we could have tables overlooking the river it was no trouble for her to reconfigure the dinning room just for us!!. This hotel may not be brand new but with its prime situation, outlook, restaurant with views and helpful staff it is worth the discounted prices on offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed one night on Feb 2nd, clean rooms, accommodating staff and lovely breakfast. 2 thumbs up. The only fault I found was that the walls were paper thin, so I could hear conversations going on in the next room and could hear people in the corridors.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisburn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hi folks just stayed in the hotel at the weekend with a groupon offer and i felt i needed to write about my stay. the staff are very kind and attentive couldnt do enough to make our stay comfortable and this also includes the room staff. bar staff,restaurant staff and reception g8t. Our room was clean tidy and comfortable which afforded a lovely view of the Moy. the meal we enjoyed in the Pink Salmon restaurant was really really good and attended by a lovely girl who unfortunately i didnt get her name was very attentive I would have no hesitation in recomending this hotel to anyone and i will hopefully visit again. so well done to all staff and manager of the hotel you deserve a raise!!! many thanks for a g8t weekend -- Jennifer and Hugh

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the Moy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel

Address: At the Moy Ridgepool, Barrett Street, Ballina, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballina Manor Hotel is perched on the banks of the River Moy and overlooks St Muredach's Cathedral. The hotel offers a fine dining restaurant, rooms with free Wi-Fi, swimming pool, gym and traditional Irish bar. All of our spacious rooms at the Manor have ensuite bathrooms with showers and baths and come with all the mod cons you would expect including flat screen TVs, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. The Ridgepool Restaurant has floor-to-ceiling windows and offers panoramic views of the of the world-famous River Moy. There is an international menu with fresh fish specials. In the heart of Ballina, the hotel is close to town’s shopping district. Ballina Train and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away and free parking is available at the hotel. Ballina is the ideal location for your west of Ireland holiday being equidistant from Donegal and Galway as well as being very close to Wesport, Connemara, Achill, Belmullet, Enniscrone, Sligo and being a destination town on the route of the Wild Atlantic Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.