We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location walking distance of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   At the Moy Ridgepool, Barrett Street, Ballina, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Internet Special
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Central Location walking distance of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is very central with ample parking. the staff were very friendly. the food in the bar was ok not sure would i eat there a second time i do think though it may have been my choice that was disappointing as other meals looked nice. the room was clean with large space and all facitiles the only fault was there seemed to be no padding in the wall and as people passed in the corridor i could hear conversation clearly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    82
    44
    19
    21
See reviews for
54
101
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
County Meath
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Excellent value for money, beautiful views, very friendly staff. Stayed here for one night, Girl on reception was so helpful checking us in and giving us directions to good pubs/restaurants. Ended up eating in the hotel restaurant and food was amazing. Room was very spacious and clean. Heat needed to be turned down a little but there was no thermostat in the room. Very limited car parking in the hotel. Most spaces are reserved for the apartments. Breakfast was very expensive at €11.50 so we ate breakfast elsewhere. Overall very pleasant stay and would return in a heartbeat

Room Tip: River view room but it does cost extra to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballina_manor, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Cjay05

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor and we have passed on you compliments to Reception Staff. We are also delighted that you enjoyed your meal in our Ridgepool Restaurant and sorry that you opted not to have breakfast.

We really appreciate your positive feedback and are of course looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Edel Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights over the New Year period. The hotel is very conveniently located for the local bars / restaurants etc. Parking is available f.o.c to residents in an underground car park but it is very tight! (Fortunately our hire car was small!) all the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was of a decent standard! Granted, the rooms are a little dated but our room was very clean and had a good view of the river Moy. Free Wifi in the rooms is an added bonus! We visit ballina quite regularly as we have family in the town and wouldn't hesitate to stay at ballina manor again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballina_manor, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Dynamonezden

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate your feedback and are delighted that we can be a base for you visiting family in Ballina! We are really look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards

Edel Sweeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here recently for one night before a wedding in Ballina. Very nice staff. Comfortable hotel. Nice bar/restuarent area. Central town location. Limited hotel parking. Our stay was interrupted by very noisy guests having a party from 2am to 4am which was unfortunate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The view over the River Moy is what makes this the best hotel to stay in! Outstanding! There is a restaurant and bar in the hotel, which makes it nice when traveling. Our bartender was very friendly as well! It is an older hotel, so not flashy and modern, but very comfortable!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here in early December . We wanted a hotel in Ballina so we could walk around and do some shopping and have a few drinks within walking distance. Hotel was perfect for this. Staff friendly and welcoming. Room was cosy and clean but on the small side. View down the river was excellent. We booked a meal as part of the package and as there was a Christmas party on in the restaurant we were served in the bar.Food was fine nothing special but we enjoyed it. Breakfast was nice and hot breakfast was served to table. As others have mentioned the pool is small and basic for a four star.
Would stay here again if in Ballina.
Wifi available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for one night a week ago. Lovely girl in reception, she let us to check in 2 hours earlier then we should. The room was very oldfashoned, like in 70s. But it was clean and tidy. Didnt have breakfast because we got a deal when we booked hotel on www.booking.com, it was room only for 51euro. And breakfast price was 11.50euro per person, which I thought was a rip off, so we got breakfast few minutes walk from the hotel, and it was 5euro. So shop around for breakfast or dinner. The room walls were very thin, very noisy when somebody in the hall, sounds like its inside our room..very bad. We went to lesure centre, dont know why they named it like that, because its only a swimming pool in it. The gym was shocking, small room with few mashines in it, no TV or nothing.. it felt like we were in closed hotel, nobody was there watching the pool or in the gym.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel

Address: At the Moy Ridgepool, Barrett Street, Ballina, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Ballina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Ballina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ballina Manor Hotel is perched on the banks of the River Moy and overlooks St Muredach's Cathedral. The hotel offers a fine dining restaurant, rooms with free Wi-Fi, swimming pool, gym and traditional Irish bar. All of our spacious rooms at the Manor have ensuite bathrooms with showers and baths and come with all the mod cons you would expect including flat screen TVs, hairdryers and tea and coffee making facilities. The Ridgepool Restaurant has floor-to-ceiling windows and offers panoramic views of the of the world-famous River Moy. There is an international menu with fresh fish specials. In the heart of Ballina, the hotel is close to town’s shopping district. Ballina Train and Bus Station is a 5-minute walk away and free parking is available at the hotel. Ballina is the ideal location for your west of Ireland holiday being equidistant from Donegal and Galway as well as being very close to Wesport, Connemara, Achill, Belmullet, Enniscrone, Sligo and being a destination town on the route of the Wild Atlantic Way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Ballina Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.