We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now it's an all rounder” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crockets on the Quay

Crockets on the Quay
The Quay Rd., Ballina, Ireland
+353 96 75930
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 34 Restaurants in Ballina
Price range: $18 - $31
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Crockets on the Quay has new vibrant owners It is a traditional,spacious yet atmospheric award winning bar with a fantastic Restaurant that's featured in the Michelin eating out guide 2014, Set on the famous river Moy's most scenic spot and Belleek Forrest as a backdrop. Known throughout the land as a famous music venue, for all kinds of music lovers with live Bands and Djs Something to relax to after a beautiful meal or something to dance into the early hours, in our busy late bar extension. We also offer great accommodation at competitive rates, just on the outskirts of buzzing Ballina town. We are easy to find and have a secure private car park. Crockets can cater for all your needs and there's always something to do on week nights we offer Quiz nights, Poker, Pool or Dart competitions. Sports fans can watch on big plasma screens in one of the bars or in the spacious all weather beer garden.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Now it's an all rounder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

This week we've been there and thought it has totally improved since theist time I was in there, the drink tasted nicer and more of a cold pint which is always good, great atmosphere and an all rounder pub! I heard from friends that the food can be slow but they come over and explain about the delay and offer a free drink which shows really good customer service, has improved so much

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    49
    16
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clifden, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food much improved ,more work to be done. Atmosphere in bar fabulous.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Have been visiting this spot for years. Food has greatly proved, I think the new owner has much to do and some basic food service training would help the floor staff (some are very slow and lack attention to detail) but overall great improvement, food greatly improved and bar service and bar atmosphere really welcoming and friendly. Keep up the great work .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly disappointed.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went here following a recommendation from a friend. We were highly disappointed to say the least, First impressions were good as there were lovely views and the place was busy. We were seated and ended up waiting longer than usual to receive our food. One side order of chips was never given. I had the sea platter and received a plate with four pieces of fish and no veg or potatoes. The service was horrendous as no one came near us to see how we were getting on. I wouldn't have minded but the meals were far from cheap, the seafood platter was €23.we complained about the chips but were further annoyed when we were still charged for them. Definitely would NOT recommend again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Dined here on two occasions. The food was of good quality and very tasty except for the side of chips which was too salty. Service was good and meals were good value. There was also wide menu choice, enjoyed both meals

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife suggested that we try this bar for food as it has been taken over by new owners. We had eaten here before when the previous owners were here and found it to be restaurant prices for bar food...it was expensive then, but no so now. We went early evening for 'bar bites'. Food was very good, waitress was excellent and very friendly (it was her first day on the job). Reasonably priced main courses with good sized portions. Service was quick. This bar restaurant has always had a very nice atmosphere but it is a bit dark. We would recommend the bar bites and we will definitely visit Crockets again in the near future. Nice to see this place busy again in these troubled times as it is a fine establishment in an idyllic place. If they don't go mad with prices, this place will get very busy again.....Well Done!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crockets on the Quay also viewed

 
Ballina, County Mayo
 

Been to Crockets on the Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crockets on the Quay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.