We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ice House Restaurant

Ice House Restaurant
The Quay | The Ice House, Ballina, Ireland
+353 96 23500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 34 Restaurants in Ballina
Price range: $50 - $75
Cuisines: European, Irish, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our funky furnishings, eclectic styling and stunning architectural design at the Ice House combine to make you feel like you're in the heart of the city. One look at the unrivalled view from all our rooms and you'll immediately know you're not. With great service, fantastic food, fine wines, clever cocktails and Ireland's best boutique hotel spa guaranteed to soothe, the Ice House is unlike any other hotels in Mayo. Discover the best of both worlds here in Ballina and make the Ice House your escape to the extraordinary. Breakfast you'll want to get out of bed for, lunch to linger over and dinner that's sure to delight...Let our restaurant menus whet your appetite and here at the Ice House, let us take care of everything else. There's simply no better restaurant in Ballina.
Athlone
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great spot..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Lovely place to eat. We had dinner and it was top class. Restaurant was busy even though it was a Tuesday night, and some of those were locals. Always a good sign. Well done to staff , they were very attentive and professional.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a disappointment!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Recently went to the Ice House Hotel to celebrate an anniversary and we came away very disappointed. What should be their biggest asset, their restaurant overlooking the river Moy was a total let down. Firstly the walled glass windows were filthy, secondly the service was very slow and thirdly the food was not up to scratch. When the main course arrived, the food was cold and on sending it back the same plate of food arrived back scalding hot and the food shrivelled up and certain elements of the dish missing. This is definately not what you expect form a highly recommended 4star hotel. The hotel lacked atmosphere and the hot tub was filthy also. This hotel was not cheap and certainly not worth the money. We will never be back and would certainly not recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Food Beautiful views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Excellent lunch menu , good choice of food , seafood chowder top class , well seasoned and a good fish veg balance. beef just as \i like it asked for rear beef and got it, deserts no issue

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My daughter and I stayed fro 2 nights , ate bar food both nights we both had steak 1st night, both cooked the way we had requested, went down a treat ,1 small complaint was that we were seated on a couch and table was low ,made eating food a bit uncomfortable, other wise meal excellent, 2nd night was good as well.
We had breakfast both mornings and enjoyed, service good and met with a smile each morning, would recommend coming here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“OUTSTANDING BURGER!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Folks, I have tried burgers all over the world, from the wild plains of Africa including buffalo, gazelle and zebra to name but a few. However, you would not believe that the best burger that I have ever had was served in the ice house!!! My wife also had a steak which she stated was equally OUTSTANDING!!! I have read a few reviews in relation to the management and can say that II have witnessed the owner informing a few people as they pass that carbonated drinks from burger king are a waste of your holiday money, when you can have a large ice cold beer for the same price in the ice house!!! Makes sense to me!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ice House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ice House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ice House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.