We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael Davitt Museum

Michael Davitt Museum
Straide, Foxford Co Mayo, Foxford 00000, Ireland
+353 94 903 1942
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 Attractions in Foxford
Type: Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Michael Davitt Museum is dedicated to the life and achievements of Michael Davitt - father of the Land League, International Humanitarian, Author and Parliamentarian. The Museum is housed in a Royal Institute of Architects of Ireland award winning restored church in which Michael Davitt was baptised. The museum is adjacent to the 13th Century Straide Abbey which contains some of the finest medieval carvings in Ireland. The site also features an historic graveyard in which Davitt, and other notable figures are buried, and extensive landscaped grounds, in which to walk or picnic. Food & refreshments available nearby.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We dropped into this museum on a trip to the west at the start of July. The place is perfectly sized and has so many wonderful pieces of information on Michael Davitt. I was fmailiar with the name from my school days; however the history and what he achieved was lost in my memory. Rest assured after visiting the museum and speaking to the two wonderful members of staff on duty that day, I have a renewed interest in the Irish history of the time.

Keep up the good work.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Coach Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

So glad we decided to visit this Museum. An amazing place telling a fine story. I think a film of Michael Davitt's life would be a big hit. This building is well kept and Christina made us all so welcome. Joe and Karen are very knowledgeable and kept everyone interested. The audio visual display is excellent.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

I brought my kids here for a visit on a Sunday afternoon and it was a great visit. The staff were so knowledgeable and friendly. There is an audiovisual element as well as all the displays. Beside the museum there is a lovely old Abbey also.

It's a great way to spend an afternoon - bring a picnic as there are benches to really make a day of it!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our wonderful visit to Michael Davitt Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We are all so delighted that we took time out of our journey to stop at the Michael Davitt Museum. The staff were knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and brought history to life. We learned so much, and enjoyed the visit so much that our two girls were very disappointed to leave. But we will definitely pay a return visit soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Informative and enjoyable visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Went to visit the Davitt museum on Saturday 7th June 2014. Museum is compact and very well kept. Audio-visual tour was good way to commence tour as it refreshed the memory about the life of Michael Davitt. My grandmother and I enjoyed browsing through the myriad of documents, images and artefacts and found the staff member (Joe) very helpful and knowledgable.
If passing through Co. Mayo this is a must-visit.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael Davitt Museum also viewed

 
Westport, County Mayo
 

Been to Michael Davitt Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael Davitt Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.