We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eating out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Healy's Restaurant and Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Healy's Restaurant and Bar
Pontoon | Healy's Restaurant and Fishing Lodge, Foxford, Ireland
353-94-9256443
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Foxford
Restaurant details
Foxford, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“eating out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

we often eat out here and find their sirloin steak one of the best around, staff very nice and owner hinself is always on hand and helps out when they are busy - nice touch. service may be a little slow as others have said but it proves your order is always cooked on demand no microwave heating here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Myself and my partner stopped here on a driving tour around the west, and were not dissapointed!! I had the cod with chips and and mushy peas and it was delicious, cooked to perfection. Very clean dining area, only dissapointment was the service. We had a young careless waitress who did not seem pleased at us just asking for more drinks, very unfriendly atmosphere about. But we still decided to hang around afterward for a few drinks in the bar, great atmosphere among the visitors and locals of the pub, Bar staff were genuine and very friendly and made sure we were well looked after which more than made up for the waiting staff. Over all I will definetly be back again with friends for a few drinks some night, great atmosphere and great food.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Idyllic location and top fish dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

I have visited Healy's in Pontoon on a number of occasions and have always found the staff friendly, the food tasty and good value. The restaurant has a unique and idyllic setting looking out on Lough Cullen. Last weekend I dined there with friends and we ordered the Special fish dish 'Black Dover Sole' on the bone which we all agreed was excellent, perfectly cooked and presented. The atmosphere was warm and the Proprietor convivial and welcoming. Well done Chef and Staff, I would strongly recommend especially for those who love fresh fish.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Passing trade BEWARE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Pontoon and its environs is a place of unparalleled natural beauty and tranquility. In recent years I have been privileged to be able take refuge there from the hustle and bustle of city life and all the demands that entails. I have regularly patronized Healy’s with family and friends with, I confess, varying degrees of ‘success’. It’s always good to have some place local and reliable to fall back on. However my niggling reservations were compounded recently when the fillet steak I ordered (for 25.95!!!) unfolded as a ‘butterflied’ lump of, at best, sirloin. Unfortunately I only heard of some neighbours’ similar experience with their ‘fillet’, after my visit. Shame on the owners – rip off Ireland is alive and well in Healy’s – bring in the Regulator.
Passing trade BEWARE.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremorris, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

The service in this restaurant is terrible.While we were there two groups left due to slow service.The food is nothing special and very expensive.This is a restaurant in need of a good manager to keep the staff on its toes.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Healy's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Foxford, County Mayo
 

Been to Healy's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Healy's Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.