We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful wild beast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carne Golf Links

Carne Golf Links
R312, Belmullet, Ireland
003539782292
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 Attractions in Belmullet
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carne Golf Links lies in magnificent unspoiled sand dunes overlooking Blacksod Bay and the wild Atlantic Ocean near Belmullet Co. Mayo in the west of Ireland. Carne was the last links course to be designed by the late Eddie Hackett and it is now believed by many who have played it to be his greatest challenge. The building of Carne has caused little disturbance to this wild and ancient landscape. Tees and greens occurred naturally and very little earth moving was involved in the course construction. Along the course are some breathtaking views over the Atlantic and the legendary islands of Inis Glóire and Inis Géidh
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A beautiful wild beast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

For many this is not a test of golf, it is a test of endurance and resilience. It's a 'monster', 'unforgiving', 'brutal'.

I have played here many times, only once with glorious sunshine, mostly in a gale, once in a hurricane....

I have yet to come away with a half decent round, but I will keep trying. Love this place, highly recommend it for those looking for a challenge. You'd better be fit and healthy and mentally strong.

Staff are terrific, food is great, it's a bit of a trek out to Carne, but you will have the pains and memories as company for the way home.....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    4
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bucket list!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

If you're a golfer and this is not on your 'bucket list', you need to update your list. I played it on May 20th in wind and rain and thoroughly enjoyed it. Can't wait to go back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of the Best in Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I played an early morning round with my son and we had a blast! The course is as golf was meant to be - wickedly challenging, windy and scenic. Even though its far from everywhere, we'd go back again. Staff was friendly and course was in great shape.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I don´t think golf could be more beautiful than here. We visited Belmullet on a very windy day and the mighty sea roared in from the vest and added an extra dimension to this beautiful links course. A true challenge.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome fantastic a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Play carne 3 times a year with golf society in march next week in fact can't wait .play the course many times during the year while day dreaming the course clubhouse and people are fantastic no other course in west of Ireland compares well done everyone in carne roll on next week

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carne Golf Links also viewed

Enniscrone, County Sligo
Belmullet, County Mayo
 
Achill Island, County Mayo
 

Been to Carne Golf Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carne Golf Links, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.