We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for one night which was a...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Western Strands Hotel

Western Strands Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belmullet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Western Strands Hotel
Save
You added Western Strands Hotel to your Saves list
Main Street, Belmullet, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Stayed here for one night which was a...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed here for one night which was a Thursday night. We needed a place to stay at short notice. We contacted the Broadhaven Bay Hotel and they quoted us €110 and would not budge under €100. We contacted Western Strands and they quoted us €59 bed and breakfast. We stayed in room 10 which was spacious and clean. Bathroom had a bath and a shower. Breakfast was a full irish which to be honest was the best fry up I ever got in a hotel. I would not hesitate to stay here if I was in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
11
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cork
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Stayed in hotel for a football tournament being held in the area. We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was extremely busy but we were taken care off very well. The food was fantastic and the staff were very friendly. The entertainment on both nights was very good with Eamonn and Paddy. Both of these musicians are great entertainers and it very nice to see the crowd join in. We noted that most of the rooms have been completely renovated to a very high standard and I understand from speaking with the manager that the remaining rooms will be renovated in the near future. We are looking forward to our next trip to Belmullet and the Western Strands.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Not too many places to stay in Belmullet! So we make the best of it.......
My single room was small, which was okay since I was not in the room much - my only comment is that there was no chair in the room, had to sit on the bed. Everything very clean, with a nice tea service in the room.
Wonderful breakfast! Great wait staff. I loved the nod to tradition in the restaurant - with the film of a peat fire on a flat-screen TV on the wall!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Arrived in the Western Strand and could not believe what was presented to us as a "hotel" we could not find a hotel, business was carried out of a store room, we would not accept the first room offered as it was so small it would be difficult to swing a cat, we reluctently accepted another room as the town was fully booked so it was a bed or sleep in the car. The decoration is awful it is so poor it is hard to describe, the bathroom is below average and simple things like an iron, phone etc was not included. The walls and doors where paper thin and my wife had to ask our drunk neighbours to be quiet at 6am. All in all a terrible expierence on the up side the staff are nice people but what a hotel in this day and age surely the authorities must have to vet and check out these establishments

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic coast
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

This hotel is right in the centre of Belmullet town, close to the sea but not right beside it. Lovely sandy beaches within a few miles. The breakfast served in this hotel is traditional with a large choice of main cooked options. Could put out yoghourt, fresh fruit etc... for those whose appetite is not so large but in my opinion the breakfasts I got cannot be beaten anywhere.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

A few friends and I travelled to The Western Strands Hotel for our friends birthday party. We had 2 great days staying in Belmullet. The party was brilliant with great music by Paddy. We had dinner the following evening in the new dining room. it is a beautiful room and the meal was very tasty with very attentive waitresses. The recently renovated bedrooms are a little small but very confortable and very clean. We enjoyed the weekend. First time in Belmullet but we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmeath
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

We stayed in the Western Strands Hotel as we were attending a family get-together in Erris.. Even though this is a small hotel we were very well treated and had a very good weekend. The breakfeast was excellent and the waitress was very friendly and attentive. The evening meal on the Saturday was delicious . Thrtr was live music in the bar which was very lively. We noted that extensive renovations are ongoing. We will be back .

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Western Strands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Strands Hotel

Address: Main Street, Belmullet, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Belmullet
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Western Strands Belmullet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Strands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.