We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Western Strands Hotel

Western Strands Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Belmullet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Western Strands Hotel
Main Street, Belmullet, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Belmullet
uk
1 review
“Terrible food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

Had dinner with my husband at WSH. Service very good but the food was disgusting As we were the only 2 people in the dining room, one would think that chef could it right. We did complain,but chef did not respond or bother to say goodnight as he went by our table on his way home.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
4
11
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

We spent one night in Belmullet and opted for WSH because the other hotel, the Broadhaven, had put up the prices to €140 per night! The WSH was half that but even at that price, it was very disappointing. The rooms are extremely cramped and the shower was terrible (nothing more than a dribble and impossible to use). It was quiet, warm and clean and the breakfast was fine so it wasn't terrible, just a little disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

First of all they wanted payment for the rooms up front as soon as we arrived. The staff were very unwelcolming, probably because they were very very busy that night. The bedrooms were cramped and the bathrooms horrible. Very loud live music went on until 3 am.
Breakfast was average if you like rock hard eggs.
We couldn't wait to leave and won't be going back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

I believe the hotel ownership has changed three times in the last few years; the current owners took over in September, 2008.

Food was always good and food and bar service was always excellent. The dining room was recently remodeled (The painter was still working on it the first two mornings I was there) and doubled in size, by removing an interior wall; the doorway between the lounge and dining room was closed off, and the primary access to the dining room is now from the first floor hall (more on that later).

They are in the midst of providing wifi, and they will eventually remodel the stairways, hallways and bedrooms. "Kevin Ryan", the manager, is a personable young man who seems up to the task at hand.

My ensuite bathroom had been redone within the last few years, and my room was provided with new linens; the double bed was comfortable.

The room was not soundproofed, and I could hear people in the hall and adjacent rooms; the continual noise and vibration from slammimg of the dining room door (I think the closer needed to be adjusted/replaced - that should be a "Quick Fix") was especially irritating as I tried to sleep in my third floor room; it was like waiting for the other shoe to drop...and drop...and drop... That room was the largest they had, according to Kevin; it might have been 10 feet by 8 feet at best. The eventual remodel is supposed to provide larger, soundproofed rooms.

There is no private parking, and spaces near the hotel were at a premium; it was often necessary to park a block or two away.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

The food was the best I ever tasted especially the duck stayed 4 nights the staff were very friendly and helpful. The accomodation is clean and cosy bed and breakfast size very resonably priced. There was a festival on in august and the town is very busy.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — A bit small
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

Stayed in the Western Strands as we were attending a friends wedding in the Broadhaven Bay Hotel (incidentally this hotel is really lovely and the food is gorgeous) If I could offer any advice it would be never to stay in the Western Strands. It smells like a chippie and the staff were really unhelpful bordering on rude. The rooms are in need of a complete overhaul and the bathroom wasnt exactly clean. There were someone else's hairs in my bed and the only reason i slept in it was because I was shattered.
Never again. I'd advise you to stay in the Broadhaven or any of the lovely B&B's that are scattered around Belmullet.

  • Liked — The location was the one and only redeeming factor
  • Disliked — Everything - staff, cleanliness, smell!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

Very reasonably priced and clean. Rooms are badly arranged and need to be redecorated. However, breakfast is brilliant and the restaurant staff and bar staff are very friendly and helpful. Parking is a nightmare in Belmullet, we had to park a good bit away from the hotel if we came back early in the afternoon and move the car closer at night. If you are on a tight budget and are not too bothered interior design - this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Beds too close together in twin rooms, ended up tripping over beds/bed cover.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Western Strands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Strands Hotel

Address: Main Street, Belmullet, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Belmullet
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Belmullet
Also Known As:
Western Strands Belmullet

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Western Strands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Western Strands Hotel to your Saves list