We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining experience par excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Pier Restaurant and Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Pier Restaurant and Accommodation
Save
You added The Old Pier Restaurant and Accommodation to your Saves list
An Fheothanach | Ballydavid, Dingle, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 73 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dining experience par excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We never fail to have an excellent dining experience at The Old Pier Restaurant . We have tried other restaurants in Dingle but for that special evening out there is nowhere like it .

It is expensive but you can't produce food of this quality unless you use top quality ingredients and they cost .
I rate it number one in the Dingle region .

Room Tip: A room with a sea view would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

History with charm, excellent food, nice people... that's about as good in all of Ireland. Even the Morse Code key on the mantle added to the mystery of the area. I plan to go back with my wife and I absolutely recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed one night at the Old Pier Restaurant and Accommodation, and found it to be quaintly charming. It is an old place which has been updated and modernized, but it still appears old. Our room was very large, and we had 2 chairs in our room so we could sit and watch the ocean outside the window. The bed was quite comfortable and the bathroom plenty roomy. We had dinner there (you might need a reservation), and found the menu to be extensive. Food was fine. We enjoyed breakfast and Jackie was able to chat with us quite a bit. She was very helpful.
The difficult part about this is this place, on the Dingle Peninsula, is that it is difficult to find. The whole Dingle Peninsula speaks Gaelic, and you will not find any English signs or directions, and your GPS is pretty much useless. Interestingly, we were the only English speakers at dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Great choice of menu and I long to go back for amazing fish main courses. Excellent well done all. Although the gentleman there needs to remember to keep it professional and not to be shouting! Always great food though!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinahely, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

What a delight to stay in the Old Pier. And my best advise: make sure you eat in their restaurant too. The hosts (Padraig and Jacquie) were lovely, warm, welcoming, had lots of information and beautiful stories about the Peninsula and its inhabitants, which made the trip all the richer.
Room / suite was freshly painted and with stunning views on the bay. I would recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Had a lovely room overlooking the sea .very quiet and peaceful ,the food in this establishment was second to none.jacquie I would think is the best chef I have ever come across .we are from cork but go to pauds at least every three months you get value for money here

Room Tip: Room no 5 fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The views were stunning, the food delicious and the hosts (Padraig & Jacquie O'Connor) were a true delight. The Old Pier wound up being a very convenient for sightseeing; Padraig and Jacquie gave us very good advise about which roads to drive, pubs to visit and such. Make sure to have at least one dinner at their establishment as their cooking and service are amazing. The portions are massive. I'm convinced the seafood chowder contained an entire salmon.

Friendly, cozy & beautiful. We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Pier Restaurant and Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Pier Restaurant and Accommodation

Address: An Fheothanach | Ballydavid, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star Bed & Breakfast, Exquisite Seafood Restaurant, Luxury Holiday Homes; and all set against stunning backdrops of the Atlantic and Mount Brandon, the Old Pier on the Dingle Peninsula has the lot!All B&B rooms are en-suite with television and tea and coffee making facilities and provide breath-taking panoramic ocean views of Smerwick Harbour and the Atlantic ocean. Watch the sun rise behind Mount Brandon, the second-highest mountain in Ireland, and watch the moon rise over the harbour.All rooms are tastefully furnished with authentic pine furniture and comfortable orthopaedic beds. Every room is decorated with beautiful canvas and silk paintings of our local sights and attractions, courtesy of local Dingle artist, June McIntyre. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Pier Restaurant and Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.