We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Visit Every Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Pier Restaurant and Accommodation

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Pier Restaurant and Accommodation
Save
You added The Old Pier Restaurant and Accommodation to your Saves list
An Fheothanach | Ballydavid, Dingle, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 73 Dingle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Must Visit Every Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

No matter were in Ireland we plan to travel we must stay at The Old Pier every visit.
Jackie & Paud are always so welcoming. Room # 5 has the best view in all of Ireland. Paud always manages to get me the freshest lobster. Jackie prepares the most amazing meals. We can rarely clean our very full plates. We are beginning to plan nest years trip - 1st part of plan...figure out the Old Pier Dates!!!

Joan & Michael Ontario Canada

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    11
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
33
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

difficult to find but well worth it - we had two in wheelchairs and navigated without difficulty. Great views even though weather didn't cooperate - staff more than helpful - food excellent. Avoid Coopers Pass unless you are braver than the average bear

Room Tip: we had three rooms - all were different and great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markt Nordheim, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

It started with a very warm welcome. We were shown different rooms and we chose the one with the breathtaking view. Big, two beds, two huge softchairs from which we had a tremendous overview of the sea and shoreline. In the evening a faboulous diner with delicious (sea) food - always nicely accompanied by the friendly landlord. In the morning lovely breakfast with everything - made by the kind landlady who gave us also good advice for hiking. We were sad to leave this wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had a very nice stay. We were shown to our rooms. Then the manager came up and welcomed us in again. He was very nice. Our room was very clean. The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner. We also had to ask for extra cups and milk. We had breakfast the next morning. That was nice. There was a buffet with great selection then I had a very nice Full irish. It was great but I was absoloutly stuffed then had to climb mount brandon after..!! HAHAH.. Great stay.!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Enjoyed a fantastic dinner here entirely by accident. A local down at the pub mentioned it in passing and we thought we'd walk the bit back up the road in the hopes it would be open and have something veg-friendly. And did they! Great atmosphere, great views, fantastic view. Would definitely eat here again should we find ourselves nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Having discovered The Old Pier last year with one son, I returned this year with my other son and one of my granddaughters. It's a magical hotel looking straight out into the remoter end of Smerwick Harbour and with the fabled Three Sisters mini mountains in direct view. Although the hotel is out in a country location it is only 15 minutes by car from Dingle although my Sat. Nav. didn't seem to have the short cut route in its memory - I'm writing to Garmin about that! The star attraction of this wonderful hotel is the restaurant which serves outstanding food (particularly seafood) and attracts diners from around the Dingle peninsular who know a good thing when they find it. Breakfasts are legendary and are of a higher standard than many a four star hotel I've stayed at in fashionable cities. The rooms are bright, clean and airy and there are good deals to be had if you are staying for a few days. One welcome addition to the services is the availability of Wi-Fi throughout the hotel although you would be better walking around the surrounding countryside rather than viewing your iPad! As with all successful enterprises, the Old Pier is run by a great team. Paud is the Maitre D and he is a great entertainer as well as Restaurant and Hotel manager. As a retired fisherman, there's nothing you can tell him about fish - and the range on offer on the menu is an education in itself. Behind every great man there is a great woman and Jacquie is a star. She works tirelessly in the kitchen with a support team producing the wonderful meals and she willingly tumbled dried the beach towels which my son and g-daughter soaked every day after their four hour sessions surfing in nearby Brandon Bay - and a flask of hot chocolate was always waiting for them on the hall table in the mornings. Do try the Old Pier, like me you will enjoy it and return again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband, 14 year old son, and I stayed with Jacquie & Paud and had a WONDERFUL, relaxing visit. Given that their inn is on the northern tip of the peninsula away a few miles away from the busy/touristy town of Dingle was a real benefit for us. We had easy access around the area and could easily drive into Dingle which we did. We booked their 3 night special associated with the restaurant which gave us a dinner as well as the 3 amazing breakfasts. They are wonderful innkeepers who are very helpful and knowledgeable and the food is unbelievable. Breakfasts were the BEST we had in Ireland: Irish cheeses, cereals, several homemade breads, toast, fresh fruit & fresh fruit salad all served along with a complete Irish breakfast or huge omelet of your choice made to order -- and delicious Irish smoked salmon. These breakfasts held us just fine until dinner, even while walking for hours on the beautiful trails in Dingle! For the dinner, we could pick ANYTHING off the very comprehensive and elaborate menu for a three course dinner! Although their specialty is fish, there were multiple other fantastic options!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Pier Restaurant and Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Pier Restaurant and Accommodation

Address: An Fheothanach | Ballydavid, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three Star Bed & Breakfast, Exquisite Seafood Restaurant, Luxury Holiday Homes; and all set against stunning backdrops of the Atlantic and Mount Brandon, the Old Pier on the Dingle Peninsula has the lot!All B&B rooms are en-suite with television and tea and coffee making facilities and provide breath-taking panoramic ocean views of Smerwick Harbour and the Atlantic ocean. Watch the sun rise behind Mount Brandon, the second-highest mountain in Ireland, and watch the moon rise over the harbour.All rooms are tastefully furnished with authentic pine furniture and comfortable orthopaedic beds. Every room is decorated with beautiful canvas and silk paintings of our local sights and attractions, courtesy of local Dingle artist, June McIntyre. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Pier Restaurant and Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.