We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm fire to sit beside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's Pub & Bed & Breakfast

Murphy's Pub & Bed & Breakfast
Strand St., Dingle 000, Ireland
353 66 9151450
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 68 Restaurants in Dingle
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A warm fire to sit beside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

It was full of people both local and travellers. The food was good and hot and the service good for the amount of people in the place. It was lovely to sit by the fire and have a drink with my husband.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    207
    142
    30
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“There Are Better Pubs In Dingle”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Don't waste your time on eating there. There are far better pubs in Dingle for both food and music so there is no need to waste time & money in Murphy's. The food was subpar, especially for Dingle's food scene. You are better off going to any of the other dozens of pubs for better food, atmosphere and value.

For atmosphere, I would put it much akin to what you'd expect in an American "Irish" pub rather than a true Irish pub in Ireland. It relies more on its great location (right on the main road in Dingle) rather than good food and service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will come again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was our second stay at this B&B.
Murphy's pub is ideal as a base to enjoy the delights of Dingle and surroundings. The B&B is excellent - modern room with a double and single bed, tv, bathroom with shower/hot water, all very clean. The music from the bar below could be heard in our room but this was not a problem as we were either below enjoying the music or elsewhere until midnight when the "crack" would end and a good nights sleep could be had. The breakfast was excellent and as good as any (if not better) than we had experienced in stays in starred hotels in the past. The staff were very friendly and helpful -we were able to get our hot water flask filled each morning and have it done with a smile! We had our evening dinner there most evenings and were very satisfied. Most of the pub grub around Dingle town is of similar fare and Murphy's is as good as any of the rest The other residents were a good mixture of all ages and all appeared to be very satisfied with the facilities - if the comments in the visitors book and general chatter are anything to go on. A secure free residents car park is available to rear of pub but the access road could certainly do with some resurfacing - appears this access road is used by other businesses also and is not solely Murphy's responsibility (public road? ) but someone should resurface.!!
All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and were pleased with our stay and intend to return again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

went here just for the murphys as it is my choice of beer,all i can say is wow, it was fantastic.returned here to eat,was not to bad but a little disapointed in the food,but the murphys made up for it

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meath
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“a must.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

first class food, drink and service. this was our first pub to try in dingle and we loved it.
went back again for more of the same.A1.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murphy's Pub & Bed & Breakfast also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Murphy's Pub & Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's Pub & Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.