We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5***** Stay in Dunlavin House!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunlavin House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dunlavin House to your Saves list
Dunlavin House
Milltown, Dingle, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 73 Dingle B&B and Inns
bangor co down
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“5***** Stay in Dunlavin House!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Coming all the way from Co Down we were shattered but we were greeted by Denise who couldnt have been more friendly, she offered us tea and really made us feel at home! The rooms were just lovely, prefect location too, just 10 minutes stroll into Dingle so theres no noise in the evenings!!we staying in room 4 where there is amazing views of Dingle Bay!!and the breakfast was amazing,best breakfast we got while doing our self drive trip around Ireland,cannot wait to return!!thanks Dunlavin,will definately be returning!!!! :)

Room Tip: nice seaview in room4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
23
67
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We arrived at Dunlavin house after completing a ten hour cycle, It had been raining heavy all day & we were absolutely soaked right through & thought we wouldn't be prepared for tomorrow, Well we needn't have worried because Denise is a life saver. She dryed all our equipment & clothes & after we had warm showers we were greeted with warm bowls of soup & homemade scones to warm us up. Me & my wife have never felt so welcome & we felt like we were at home, An amazing hostess & a wonderful location. We will definitely be returning to Denise & the wondefull Dingle

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've read the other reviews and am glad that our experience was the exception. We arrived at the door weary from a day of travel to not be greeted by the husband who did not ask our names or give his. I asked if he just let anyone in his home and he kind of laughed. It was like staying at a hotel, except for that even at a hotel they ask for your name.

I felt like we were inconveniencing a busy family by being in their space. We had stayed in two other B & B 's before this one and were SO disappointed. There was no hospitality where we had experienced so much in our previous homes.

Wi-fi was advertised but didn't work. No way I felt comfortable enough to say anything. Americans we met in the breakfast room were great. Saved the experience.

We had no interaction with the hostess except to pay.

The view from the upstairs was fantastic. Dingle was amazingly beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owens Cross Roads,AL
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

From the moment Denise and her son met us at the door(late-10:00), we knew we were in for an enjoyable visit. It was a very spacious, comfortable home as a base for touring Dingle Peninsula. Absolutely yummy breakfast- homemade scones were marvelous as was the other breakfast items. Charming, atmospheric sunroom for dining with views of the bay and her lovely flowers. Eat dinner at the Mariner Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the front rooms with bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Dunlavin House was perfectly located at the end of town. 15 minute walk or 5 min drive.
We really enjoyed this B&B! Wonderful breakfast, large room with very comfortable beds and delightful hosts. We went Kayaking and Deep Sea Fishing while in Dingle and found the location of the B&B to be perfect! Far enough out of town to get peace and quite, but close enough to town that you only had to leave 5 minutes to arrive at the marina.

Room Tip: We had 3 individuals traveling as friends that did not want to share a bed. So we chose the Family R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We arrived at Dunlavin House after an overnite flight from the US and a quick drive to Dingle. Hoped we could drop our bags off and tour the town. Instead, Denise met us and offered us breakfast while she had our rooms prepared. An hour later we were resting in our rooms with a BIG thanks to Denise. Things only got better from there. Participated in a birthday celebration for our hostess, got wonderful suggestions from her, and really felt like friends by the time we left. After 17 days in Ireland and Scotland, I can only say that Denise is the BEST. Would recommend dunlavin to anybody.

Room Tip: Any of the 4 rooms are just fine. The front rooms are away from the kitchen and breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, SC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I and another couple arrived at Dunlavin House after landing at Shannon at 6:30 am, and immediately driving to Dingle. Despite our very early arrival, Denise welcomed us in and gave us breakfast while she and a helper readied our rooms for us - 5 hours earlier than check-in time! To say we were grateful is putting it mildly. Our room was comfortable, spacious, clean, and quiet. The lounge and breakfast room offered beautiful vistas of Dingle Bay and surrounding countryside as we enjoyed superb meals. We were within a 5 minute drive into Dingle and perfectly situated for exploring the beautiful peninsula. Everything about Dunlavin House was above expectations, but particularly being treated like a welcome part of a large and warm family. If ever in Dingle again, Dunlavin House will be our home away from home. Thank you, Denise, for a lovely welcome to Ireland!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunlavin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunlavin House

Address: Milltown, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dunlavin House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunlavin House Hotel Dingle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunlavin House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.