We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dingle Benners Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dingle Benners Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dingle Benners Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main Street, Dingle, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Dingle
Bridgewater, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were with a tour group and I must say the staff made us feel very welcome. The room was clean and bed very comfortable. The breakfast was bountiful and very good. A great place to enjoy the wonderful town of Dingle and visit Dingle Peninsula. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    173
    105
    25
    15
    1
See reviews for
32
145
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Benners in Dingle was one of my favorite hotels on our recent trip to Ireland. Rooms were clean and roomy, breakfast was good and I especially liked the cozy areas in which to relax. Location was great as well.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The Dingle Benners Hotel is a bit like a tired airport hotel. Our room was very small, a bit dingy, and dark (it had only a tiny, frosted window). Directly below the window was the roof, strewn with garbage. We also had to kill a few spiders in the room and then carefully inspect the room for more. The walls must be thin, because we woke during the night because of noise in the hallway. The hotel seems to be conscious of this noise issue, as they post signs in the hallway requesting quiet.

The common areas of the hotel seemed nicer than our room, but they were quite tired and heavily trafficked. Breakfast was fine, and we had a good experience with the wait staff. All in all, the hotel staff was very nice and helpful. The location was convenient, but in hind sight we may have preferred a B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, NY
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was one of our favorite places in Ireland.

Our room was very spacious and comfortable, even with a little alcove area by the window for reading. The bathroom offered ample hot water, but limited space for toiletries. The hotel offers free WiFi that we could access from our room.

Rooms come with breakfast, but the door to the breakfast room is locked until the nominal 8am opening time. There is a comprehensive continental buffet (including smoked salmon and haddock), and one can order cooked items. I don't recommend the poached eggs - they use the trick of adding vinegar to the poaching water, but apparently use too much because the eggs taste sour.

The hotel has a bar, and there are two pubs directly across the street. There is an excellent restaurant at the end of the block (the hotel does not offer evening meals).

Watch for 'trad' Irish music concerts at the church (between the two pubs) that are scheduled for Monday, Wednesday and Friday evenings each week during tourist season. The music is really good Irish folk music (not the stuff you hear in pubs), but seating is limited so you must purchase tickets in advance. You can also book reservations and pick up tickets at the door - there will be information available at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nenagh, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very Very Average sums up this 'hotel.' For my money its a guest house with a small bar and very limited restaurant. Rooms are in a pretty poor state of disrepair with stains on bedspread and carpets. Rooms facing the street are to be avoided as the noise during the night of people fighting below stopped us sleeping all 3 nights of the stay. Breakfast waiters were very surly and rude especially if you arrive close to their closing time......10:30am on a Sunday!! Bar tender was excellent and accommodating.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the main street side of the hotel if you actually want any sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Recently spent a night in Dingle with my wife on our honeymoon. Sure this isn't the nicest hotel we stayed at, doesn't have 5 stars - but if you are looking for a clean, friendly hotel to capture the REAL spirit of Dingle - this is your place. They remember your name, bend over backwards to help, and the bar in the hotel was one of the best in town. We made new friends and will be spending our 1 year anniversary there - thats how memorable it was for us. Give it a try - you won't be disappointed. Points to the manager, Cormac, for greeting us personally and being apologetic, even though there was nothing inadequate about our room. Job well done, a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I was so looking forward to staying at Dingle Benners and sadly was disappointed at how tired our room was and most important to us was the bed which was not comfortable. We really enjoyed the location of the hotel and the history. The staff were wonderful and helpful. The breakfast was great. D&J Ontario, Canada

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bennersmanager, General Manager at Dingle Benners Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the Time to write a review of your stay here at Dingle Benners Hotel. I'm sorry that you found your Bed uncomfortable and how this affected your stay with us. It's an unsual complaint for us as all our beds are supplied from a highly reputable bed supplier and are upgraded on a regular basis. I do apologies that it wasn't to your satisfaction. Again thank you for talking the time to give us this feedback and be rest assured we will be reviewing all our beds in the near future as we continue our ongoing maintance program and set out our new projects as we come in to the off season.

Cormac O'Sullivan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dingle Benners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dingle Benners Hotel

Address: Main Street, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Dingle Benners Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dingle Benners Hotel is located in the heart of Dingle town on the beautiful and breathtaking Dingle Peninsula. Offering great quality service, luxurious accommodation and old world charm, Dingle Benners Hotel is one of County Kerry's hidden gems. Enjoy great quality food in the relaxed surroundings of Mrs Benner's Bar or relax in the cozy atmosphere of our residents lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Dingle Benners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dingle Benners Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.