We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in Dingle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlewood House
The Wood, Dingle, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Dingle
Roseville, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B in Dingle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here in July 2013 as part of a Rick Steves tour and loved it! The only minor comment is that it's a bit of a walk from 'downtown' Dingle, but it's not a bad one, unless it's raining. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the breakfasts were wonderful - cooked to order. The also offered a next-day laundry service which cost us 15 euro for a bag of laundry, returned clean and folded. The sitting room was a lovely place to unwind in the evening by reading the paper or a magazine, chatting, or using the wi-fi to catch up on the world outside. A charming place that we'd gladly stay at again if our travels take us back to Dingle, which we hope they do!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    685
    27
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
123
448
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel is just wonderful! This place combines all the best parts of a B&B and a hotel. It's large, and the rooms have great sound insulation (which most B&Bs don't). But, the service is very warm, like a B&B. We didn't have the pleasure of meeting Helen, but Brian was just great. He's also the chef at breakfast and boy can he cook!! There's also a round-the-clock complimentary tea service available. The hotel is just a tad bit far from the city center, but I didn't have a problem with that as the weather was beautiful. Make sure you check out Murphy's Ice Cream when you're in town. Also, I'd recommend getting some shrimp at the Boat Yard--they catch everything the same day, and it was by far the best shrimp I've ever had.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Clean, convenient, and comfy! Helen and Brian are there any time they are needed but are not overbearing. The chef who made breakfast was excellent (Loved the Eggs Benedict, Bagel with Cream Cheese and Smoked Salmon, as well as the Chocolate Croissants!). Our waitress was attentive and friendly. All of the staff were very professional. We liked the five minute walk to town which got us away from some of the "city" traffic and noise...plus a little exercise. The interior design and decorations were lovely and interesting. The room was well attired and the beds were great for a good night's sleep. There was a great view from our suite. The Junior Suite looks like the online pictures (which anyone who travels knows that online images are often not accurate) If you need help planning your activities, be sure to ask Helen. She is a wealth of knowledge and very willing to help. Of the seven places we stayed while in Ireland, this was definitely our favorite. Thanks, Helen and Brian for a great stay! You are awesome hosts!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Castlewood House is an absolute delight. The rooms are extremely spacious and beautiful, with a large, clean and gorgeous bathroom which has both a stall shower and a jacuzzi. The room looked out over the beautiful harbor. The breakfast prepared by Brian was just delicious. Brian also helped us find a private guide for a terrific tour around Slea Head Drive. We walked into Dingle town both nights for great pub dinners and during the day for a harbor boat tour, shopping and sightseeing. I would highly recommend staying at the Castlewood House, and for at least two nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lovely hosts, lovely spacious room with all we needed for comfort, and gracious hosts. Delightful breakfast cooked to order, and lovely hosts. A home built for the purpose of serving. Everything was immaculate, and there was even an elevator to the top floor to make taking our bags up easy. Just across from a lovely inlet, and right on the start of the Dingle Ring rid. Easy walk into the very interesting town. Nice tea set-up in room, a couple of candies and biscuits to welcome, and a refreshing bottle of water. Only negative--they were sold out for further nights so we couldn't stay longer. Book early--this place was the nicest of all our B&Bs in Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Castlewood is simply a fabulous place to stay in Dingle. It's a great little B&B with a great location. Being just outside of Dingle town you don't have to worry about parking, and you can easily walk into the town at night for an enjoyable evening at the pub. Our room was clean and welcoming (the big bottle of water in the room was a nice touch). And the rave reviews of breakfast are 100% correct - it's a nice way to fill up for a day of exploring. Truly a great experience that I would recommend to anyone staying in Dingle.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Our stay at Castlewood was a delight. The rooms are very nice and very large. The bathrooms are immaculate. The food is out of this world. Most Full Irish Breakfast menus are the same. Castlewood is definitely a cut above, offering temptations like bread pudding and fruit infused with vanilla syrup. The property is a five-minute walk from Dingle, so it is quiet, but accessible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Address: The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dingle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dingle
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlewood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Castlewood House to your Saves list