We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our best lodging out of 5 stops in Ireland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlewood House
Save
You added Castlewood House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Wood, Dingle, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dingle
Austin, Texas, USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our best lodging out of 5 stops in Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This place is about a 7 minute walk to the town center of Dingle, and the priciest place we stayed on our 16 day trip (I think about US $165/night). But, the included breakfasts are excellent (starched tableclothes, silver service + order from a menu...eggs benedict, etc) and our room was very spacious and upscale. The hosts were very helpful. Dingle peninsula was a treat as well, so we highly recommend this stop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    28
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
139
517
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johnston, Iowa
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I spent three nights here on our recent trip to Ireland. The property was exactly as was represented on the website and all of the fabulous reviews here on TA. The hosts were gracious and very helpful with restaurant recommendations, etc. Our room (#8) was large and spotlessly clean. The large marble bathroom was completely updated and the best shower we experienced on our entire trip. Although there were other guests, we felt as though we were the only people there; it was so quiet at night.

Breakfast was delicious. We tried multiple items on the menu throughout our stay and all of them were wonderfully prepared.

Location is ideal - walking distance to Dingle should you want to walk.

Our only slightly negative experience (and this is very small) was the wi-fi...while we had it in our room, it was very off and on. We sat in the lounge one evening to check email, etc and it worked much better.

We would not hesitate to stay here again and/or recommend to others. A great experience!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Castlewood and were greeted with a hand shake by no other than the owner. The place smells divine and everything is very clean. We're assigned room 8 and the room is beautiful but the view of the bay is magnificent. In the lobby, there is a relaxing and peaceful sitting area with two chairs that face the bay PERFECT to sit down all afternoon to read a book or simply enjoy the scenery, whole sipping on coffee and eating some of the home made muffins.
The only "bad" thing is that from now we'll compare all future hotels to this one and I don't think any other will come even closer.

Loving our stay,
Ana R

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed in Castlewood House for 5 nights in February. A great place to stay and to explore the Dingle area. Close enough to town and lovely views from the rooms. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and beautiful. We had a deluxe room and made an agreement by reservation to switch rooms for one night. After that night the owners gave us a junior suite for our last two nights, which was a very nice gesture and we enjoyed it a lot.
Owners are amazing! Breakfasts keeps you going all day.
You will not regret staying here!
Thanks a lot Helen and Brian.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This review is a bit late, but I want to extend the highest of praises to this beautiful place that will live in my heart forever. The lovely couple that own the B&B are the epitome of world class Irish hospitality and Castlewood House is as cozy and warm as the name sounds. My fiance and I stayed there the night of our engagement and they had sparkling wine waiting for us in our room when we arrived, great restaurant suggestions and the most delicious breakfast the next morning. DO NOT MISS THIS BREAKFAST --- not only was it impeccably delicious and capped off a lovely trip, but it kept us going the rest of the long drive around the Ring of Kerry!
The room we had was #1 which included a large double/Queen bed and a single bed which would also be great for a family or few friends to comfortably stay in. The bathroom was modern, bright and clean. The decor was lovely kind of shabby chic with comfy white linens and flowery patterns and two billowy robes in the armoire that made it all that much more comfy. The B&B itself overlooks the inlet and is a short walk into downtown Dingle on the main road. Dingle is a gorgeous little town with great eats, bars and live music - highly suggest it for a trip out to the west of Ireland.
Overall, this was a beautiful stay with great hosts and food -- couldn't have asked for better!

Room Tip: Our room faced the front of the house which was great in that it faced the inlet, but negative in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

There is not much to say. The place is perfect. Close enough to town to walk but off the main thoroughfare. The owners are amazing and will do anything they can to make you feel welcomed and comfortable. Then rooms are great. Awesome town that everyone should go to and while there, stay at Castlewood.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed at Castlewood recently with friends, it is a fantastic B&B, beautifully clean, warm, cosy, great views, fantastic breakfast, homemade freshly baked bread, huge choice of food on the menu. just a short walk away from town. Helen , Brian and staff were wonderful, couldn't do enough for us,even booked our restaurant... this B&B is 5 star....


Frank Grainne & Friends

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Address: The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dingle
#1 Family Hotel in Dingle
Hotel Class:5 star — Castlewood House 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlewood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.