We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places I've stayed at.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlewood House
Save
You added Castlewood House to your Saves list
The Wood, Dingle, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dingle
Huskvarna, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of the best places I've stayed at.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

One of the best places I've stayed at. A little surprised it wasn't pushed to a 5 star. The rooms were pristine and modern. Fantastic bathroom and bed. A must stay. Would visit again. The breakfast was first class with fantastic buffer selection and ordered meals.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    28
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
129
493
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
berschweiler germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We know where we will stay the next time we are in Ireland! Wonderful hosts, wonderful rooms and a fantastic breakfast....it could not have been any better! Can not say enough good things about Helen & Brian and their little slice of heaven.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Brian and Helen, the owners of this lovely B&B, gave us the warmest welcome of the 5 places we stayed on our honeymoon. In fact, they treated us to champagne to welcome and congratulate us. Brian spent several minutes with us on check-in helping us to find a great place for dinner and some background on the local pubs. They also have a supply of menus on hand to help narrow down your decision making.
Our room was beautiful; a far-east inspired, spacious chamber with great views of Dingle Bay.
Breakfast was wonderful, homemade by Brian and served by Helen.
The location is good- easy to find on your way into town and nicely positioned at the beginning of the scenes road around Dingle Peninsula. Some may find the walks into and back from town a tiny bit far depending on where you choose to dine, but there are some really great restaurants and pubs just a few short steps away.
A lovely place to which we'll be sure to return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIncoln, NE
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This had to be by far one of our favorite places we stayed while in Ireland. We were recommended it by our local guide , Denis Ryan, who drove us around the peninsula one day. And by the way, if you'd like a relief from the drive, book a tour with him. He was the most knowledgeable guide we've ever had. He picked us up at this B&B in his car and returned us later that day. A must if you're in Dingle. The hotel was beautiful and Helen and Brian are outstanding hosts as well as chefs. They have a beautiful dinning room for breakfast and it was again by far one of our favorite B&B Irish breakfast. Highly stay there while in Dingle. A beautiful view of the water.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This guesthouse is amazing.Beautiful decorated rooms and bathrooms.The breakfast is one of the best we had ever ever !!! So much chioce one coukd not wish for more.Brian and Helen are most helpful and are great hosts.Would highly recommend the Castlewood and one day when we return to Dingle it will be our first choice to indulge in another piece of heaven.

Room Tip: pre book advised
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Considering we paid just a tiny bit more here nightly in comparison to the other places we stayed on our trip, this felt like the deal of the century. The accommodations and service were well above and beyond the price-point.
Helen & Brian were the most gracious hosts and made everyone feel as if they truly were house guests and not clients in a business. The breakfasts were the best we had in Ireland and the accommodations were truly a highlight of our trip.
I cannot say enough good about Castlewood House, but I think the tripadvisor reviews say it all. Thank you Helen & Brian.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A really late review of what was a fantastic weekend in the beautiful Castlewood House. WE stayed for two nights mid November and had a great time.The rooms are decorated to such a high standard, the bed was so comfy and the food at breakfast was amazing. We were welcomed by a lovely lady and met Helen and Brian the next morning and I cannot speak highly enough of all the staff. We got engaged during our stay and they treated us to champagne with breakfast which was such a thoughtful gesture. Staying at the Castlewood House is a must for anybody visiting Dingle. We will definitely be returning to celebrate next November.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Address: The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dingle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dingle
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlewood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.