We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlewood House
Save
You added Castlewood House to your Saves list
The Wood, Dingle, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dingle
Culver City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay due to Helen and Brian's hospitality. The food is fantastic and the room and bathroom were beautiful. We wish our stay had been longer than two nights and hope we have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    29
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
128
493
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have been to Ireland twice and have visited Castlewood House both times. Everything about this Inn is fabulous! Brian and Helen are so welcoming and are very gifted hosts. They know how to make their guests feel very comfortable and valued. Their home is absolutely beautiful and the rooms are very comfortable with very modern fixtures. The view is breathtaking, and the breakfasts are amazing. If you're headed to Ireland don't miss the charming town of Dingle and definitely don't miss The Castlewood House!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our experiences echo all the wonderful comments others have made about Helen and Brian's wonderful hospitality. They truly understand hospitality. So, for us, we are in full agreement with others that this is an excellent place to stay and the host and hostess are exceptional. They did everything from book restaurants for us personally (thus helping to assure the outstanding treatment we received at both of them) to offer to take to the laundry any dirty clothes we might have. It was a memorable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here in late Aug 2012. Since my review dittos everyone else's, I will get to my point. You have to try Brian's Salmon Omelet. It was hand's down the best meal I had in Ireland. As for the room, you cannot beat the price (least expensive place we stayed), clean and a very nice bath. I wish we had stayed for more than two days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We've just had a short stay in Castlewood House, which our son and his wife had strongly recommended to us. Everything about this B and B is simply wonderful - - the location beside the lapping waters, the warm welcome from Brian and Helen, their help with all our touristy questions, the luxurious rooms , fantastic breakfasts, the short stroll into lively Dingle; this has been without doubt the best B and B we've ever experienced.
Patch47

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here on 26 September. The hotel is clean with large rooms, good duvets, modern showers and great views. It's perfectly located so that you only have to walk out the front door and turn left for five minutes to find good seafood restaurants and pubs with live music. You have Slea Head, the Gap of Dunloe and Connor Pass all within a short drive from the hotel and the host Brian is exactly as described on this site. He volunteered to drive us to a restaurant as it was late and went the extra mile in helping us with local advice and tips. Breakfast looking out over Dingle Bay is unique. Thanks Brian.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Dingle Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Castlewood for three nights in September while we were in Dingle. The stay here could not have been better. Brian and Helen are wonderful people and this place has the best breakfast in all of Ireland. The room was very comfortable and the house is charming. If you are looking for excellent value then you will not be disappointed. Every night we walked to town for dinner and a few pints of Guinness. I really enjoyed the 15 or 20 minute walk to and from town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Address: The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dingle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dingle
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlewood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.