We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its an experience. Go there!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castlewood House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castlewood House
Save
You added Castlewood House to your Saves list
The Wood, Dingle, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Dingle
Clonmel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Its an experience. Go there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Myself & my fiancée stayed here for 2 nights in August 2012. When booking over the phone i was met with a polite response which is always a good sign. When we arrived we met Brian who went through the map of Dingle and showed us where all the good restaurants & pubs were located at this was our first time in the area. We had planned on only staying one night but decided to stay a second.
On the first night we stayed in the deluxe room which was very nice.The decor was a good choice with a comfy bed but it was the small things that made a difference like the fluffy night gowns, slippers & chocolates. The shower is excellent & there is also a Jacuzzi bath. The room had an amazing view & you could easily sit there for the day looking out at it.
On night 2 we stayed in a junior suite. Again there was lovely decor and an even better bed. It was huge. This room had a better view as it has windows on 2 sides.
If I was to look for faults Id really have to look hard. The only thing I would have rather was fluffy night gowns in the junior room instead of the toweling ones but others may prefer those.
Breakfast was an experience. Helen introduced herself to us which was a nice personal touch as must other hotels we have stayed in dont take interest in the small things but she seemed to be actually interested in talking to people and happy to offer advise which was much appreciated. While being very helpful Helen & Brian were never in your face or over powering. They were the perfects hosts. Out of the 4 breakfasts we had between us I would recommend the pancakes & porridge. Believe me you have never had the likes of these before. There is wifi available which worked well for us. Overall its a great place to stay.
The first night we ate in the Bull. The food here is excellent and had a good variety. The second we were to sizzlers steakhouse which was also very good. As its a fishing area a lot of menus are full of fish options so if your not a true lover of fish check the menus outside before going in.
During the day time we visited oceanworld, took a boat trip to see fungi, did indoor rock climbing & of course visited Murphy's Ice Cream shop. The Guinness Ice cream is worth trying. Surprisingly its yummy. We really enjoyed our time in Dingle so if you have not been before you really have to check it out.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    29
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
128
493
16
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ktm44
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I, along with our two boys ages 20 and 17, stayed at Castlewood House in June 2012. Dingle was the last leg of our visit to London and Ireland, and we felt we saved the best for last. Castlewood House is a special property as so many of the reviewers have already stated. Lovely, up to date rooms, picturesque location, charming owners. Bigger than a typical inn, but small enough to feel personal. We had 2 rooms -- my husband and I in a king room, and boys in a room with twin beds. Both rooms were great. My husband and I enjoyed having a cocktail each night in the front room overlooking the bay. Breakfast is amazing -- not sure how they make pancakes taste the way they do. Also really enjoyed listening to a strings (I think) version of Bruce Springsteen over breakfast! If we're ever back in Dingle, I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

From the start we got a great welcome from Brian and Helen. The room was superb,and ensuite better than any hotel we have stayed in, either in Ireland or on the continent. The breakfast was amazing,and service excellent.Proximity to Dingle town very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This place was amazing! The food was tremendous, and the hospitality was out of this world! I have never met such a wonderful hostess! The view was great, and the cost was worth it! This place is immaculate, and it deserves all of the great reviews it has received. While here, we met the former Olympic swimming champion from the Atlanta Olympics and her family. Everything about his place and its town deserve a five star rating! est

Room Tip: The rooms that face the bay are the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Castlewood is one of the finest establishments we have stayed in. My wife and I have traveled all over Europe, the States, and Latin America, and, yet, we are had pressed to name even a single accommodation with which we were more pleased. Many other reviewers have amply covered the food, the rooms, and, of course, the exemplary level of service provided by Helen and Brian.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Castlewood thanks to the owners Helen and Brian. They were so friendly and informative about the Dingle area. The rooms were spacious, impeccable and relaxing. The jacuzzi tub was a perfect treat after all the walking and climbing at Blasket Island.

The breaksfast they serve daily was an amazing feast. Truley the best breakfast spread We ever experienced. Helen's porridge is a must with her special ingredient!

The walk downtown was the perfect distance from town. You can sit in the living room in front of the bay window looking at the mountains and bay. You really couldn't find a more perfect place to stay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My new bride & I stayed with Helen & Brian on our short honeymoon for 2 nights in Mid July. We were welcomed by Helen & felt at home straight away. We were shown to our beautiful spotless room at the back of the house. It may not have a sea view but it didn't really matter. The guesthouse has elevators as well which is great for people who have difficulty with stairs. On hearing we had been married the day before Helen brought us 2 glasses of Champagne & arranged for us to dine in private in the front room in the morning which was a lovely touch. Breakfast is superb & the full Irish as well as Brian's favorite Omelet hit the spot. We loved it so much we asked to stay a second night & luckily there was a room at the front with a beautiful sea view. Brian chilled a bottle of champagne that we brought with us & showed us a great collection of DVDs that we could watch in our room while sipping our drink. Bliss. It may not be cheap but it's well worth it. We also bought 2 prints by Helen's mother who has fantastic art on show around the house. I love the blanket inside the door you can use if you want to head out in the cols to watch the sunset. Also a flask with hot water is provided along with tea & coffee if you want a cup on your way out. They've thought of everything. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castlewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlewood House

Address: The Wood, Dingle, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dingle
#1 Family Hotel in Dingle
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxurious guest house is located on the shores of Dingle Bay, so it enjoys a fabulous view while just being a five minute walk to the vibrant centre of Dingle town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castlewood House Hotel Dingle
Castlewood Hotel Dingle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castlewood House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.