We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay in Dingle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Neills Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
O'Neills Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added O'Neills Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
John Street, Dingle, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 73 Dingle B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay in Dingle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Mary and Stephen run a good B&B in the heart of Dingle. This is not on the waterfront but a short walk to several good pubs with great music. We found it to be one of the best assets. parking was easy out front.
The breakfast was big and delicious. After several of days with eggs the big breakfast, I needed a change. I asked Mary for oatmeal (porridge) and she obliged. Mary offered it up with a shot of Bailey's. If you haven't had it, try it. My wife and I had it every day thereafter.
The room was comfortable and clean. The bath was clean. Bed was comfortable. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen O, Owner at O'Neills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    38
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
88
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We arrived at O'Neill's after a somewhat treacherous drive through the Connor Pass (driving rain and narrow roads don't make for the best driving conditions :)), and we received the perfect welcome from Stephen. He showed us to our room (#1 - very large and comfortable, plus overlooking the lovely street below), got us a map, and immediately showed us the best area to look for a cheap pub dinner and some good music after. His recommendations (dinner at Murphy's, music at O'Sullivan's) were spot on - we really enjoyed our evening in Dingle!

Stephen also went above and beyond when it came to service - on rainy Connor Pass, I made the mistake of taking out my camera to snap some shots. The battery compartment must have gotten wet, because the camera started to malfunction. When we got to O'Neill's, we asked Stephen whether we could have a bowl of rice to dry the camera out in (a weird tip, but it really works to dry out wet electronics!), and he provided it no questions asked. Very helpful, and it saved my camera!

We slept very soundly - I was a bit worried with our room overlooking the street, but it was very quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was also very good - excellent brown bread, and the smoked mackerel was to die for!

Really wish we could have stayed longer - we'll definitely stay at O'Neill's the next time we're in this area! Thanks Stephen!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen O, Owner at O'Neills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and its good to hear that your camera is back working. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Travelling for two weeks around Ireland, we chose O'Neill's for a three night stay. This is the cleanest B&B we have ever been in. Great location, walking distance to town but not so close to the noise, great music pubs and restaurants just down the street, and a great base to explore the Dingle peninsula. Top off with a breakfast as hearty or light as you wish. Perfect.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen O, Owner at O'Neills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, it was great having you stay with us and we hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

O'Neill's was our first experience with a Bed & Breakfast and it certainly did not disappoint. It was a great location, clean, spacious, great food and excellent hosts! Mary was a delight and Stephen extremely helpful with arranging our outings in and around Dingle. We found ourselves comparing other accomodations to O'Neill's and felt as if we wanted to bring Mary along on the rest of our trip! I definitely recommend this B&B and feel confident that you will find it just as advertised!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen O, Owner at O'Neills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for you'r kind review it was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us and we hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at O'Neills B&B while in the Dingle area. A nice B&B that we selected based on tripadvisor and glad that we did. The rooms were nice and clean (the bathroom seemed recently rennovated). The breakfast was great - I had the smoked salmon on day 1 and the irish bacon on day 2 - both were very good. The B&B is also in town. It's located on a side street in town, so it's quiet, but you're only a 1/2 block walk to the main part of town. Mary was very gracious and helpful as host and provided great restaurant recommendations as well as things to do (she recommended we drive over the mountain on our way to Limerick the next day, which was a highlight of the trip - the views were spectacular). We really enjoyed the Dingle Area (and would definitely come back).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen O, Owner at O'Neills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write such a kind review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

A big thanks to Mary and Stephen. A brilliant spot in Dingle, the room was huge, clean and very reasonably priced. The mackerel for breakfast was the best I have had since getting to Ireland. Easy walk to everything. A pleasure and can easily recommend. Thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen O, Owner at O'Neills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure having you stay and we hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

WE arrived in DIngle without a reservation and were pleased to come accross this lovely well presented B&B right in Dingle which had just one room left for that night! We had a very pleasant room at the back of the house which was very quiet, clean and bed was very comfortable. Mary our host was very pleasant and helpful. We had a very pleasant stay with no noise ! B&B is adjacent to everything, pubs, harbour, restaurants etc. We will be happy to recommend this accomodation to anyone who visits Dingle and just wants to park the car and walk! We look forward to returning! Thank you Mary!
Dean and Deirdre

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen O, Owner at O'Neills Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Neills Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Neills Bed and Breakfast

Address: John Street, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable house, family run, quite location, only two minutes walk from town centre. All rooms ensuite with tv, tea /coffee facilities, hairdryer and clock radio. Guest lounge room with tea and coffee facilities. Free wi-fi available. Extensive breakfast menu, with private off street parking suitable for motorbikes and cyclists. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
o`Neills Hotel Dingle
o`Neills b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Neills Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.