We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ireland vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's B & B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Murphy's B & B to your Saves list
Murphy's B & B
Strand Street, Dingle, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 73 Dingle B&B and Inns
earth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ireland vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great place, location and people. This is a family owned business. Siobhan was a wonderful host and cook. She has a great sense of humor. Only stayed one night, but I would definitely stay there again. Close to shops and pubs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    62
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
39
81
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
nova scotia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Murphy's is centrally located on the waterfront in Dingle. We found it close to pubs and shops. Thanks to our very accommodating and pleasant hosts Mike and Sioban. The rooms are clean, basic and comfortable. Since we the first to arrive, Mike allowed us to choose the room we wanted. The house has a comfortable lounge with a large screen TV and a pleasant breakfast room. Breakfast (full Irish) was delicious. Sioban's brown soda bread was the best. Mike was very helpful, he gave us a map and marked the best pubs and restaurants to visit. Our favourite pubs were Currans and Dick Macs for a pint and chat with the locals. Parking is very convenient -free and just around the corner and there is a grocery store a couple of hundred yards down the street. . Murphy's Pub is just next door to the B&B (different owners). Enjoyed a nice meal there and some great entertainment by "The Shenanigans". Dingle turned out to be our favourite small-town stop on our tour of the south and was a great jumping off point to tour sights of the Dingle peninsula.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Murphy's pub side will allow you to enjoy the entertainment from your room until la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

My friend and I visited Dingle recently and stayed at Murphy's B&B. Michael and Siobhan were wonderful hosts. Murphy's B&B is in the middle of all the activity waling distance to restaurants and pubs. We enjoyed our nights out listening to music a few doors down. Breakfasts were great! The best part however was meeting so many nice people who were staying at Murphy's at the same time. We all shared our experiences and lessons of our trip. Michael told us stories of the old Dingle. My friend had a medical emergency and Siobhan was an absolute angel in helping us get the help we needed. I cannot say enough about the positive experience I had at Murphy's B&B

Room Tip: If you prefer a early night, a room in the rear may be to your liking. There is a pub next door but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Bay, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We only stayed one night, but it was a great one! The food was excellent at Murphy's Pub downstairs the beers were reasonably priced, and the music was great as well! Murphy's is a small, family owned establishment, and the Murphy's were great people . . . very friendly and served a wonderful breakfast,..you had options besides the standard "Full Irish Breakfast". The salmon and eggs was especially good. The room was very clean and comfortable. We truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Murphy's is a good choice for a B&B in Dingle. The rooms are fine, plenty of hot water, internet connection is excellent, TV is typically limited to a few channels and the breakfast is excellent. Negatives are parking, which is unsecured in kind of a muddy lot next door, and climbing a stairway with suitcases...the B&B is on the second level above storefronts. The location is excellent...right on the harbor, and near a bunch of restaurants. The innkeeper is a nice fellow, and very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in June. The room was clean and the breakfast was delicious. They were also very conscientious of my wife's gluten allergy.
What we liked the most was the location. Right on the main road by the harbor, right next to Murphy's Pub (not affiliated, or so I was told!), and just a few steps away from Murphy's Ice Cream, the best I've ever had. Great place to stay if you're going to Dingle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My daughter and I walked along the street by the harbor on a whim and got the last room of the night at this charming B&B. The proprietor, Mike Murphy, was lovely as was his wife. We felt so snugged in and safe at this place we decided to stay an extra night. The location is right where you want to be in Dingle. It is clean clean clean, the breakfast was hearty and it was fun to look out at the sights from the breakfast room while planning your day. Two large beds, huge bathroom and any directions or questions answered. The price was more than fair. I so want to return to Dingle and if and when I do I will try to book ahead to be certain I get to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murphy's B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's B & B

Address: Strand Street, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located overlooking Dingle pier. Managed by Micheal & Siobhan, providing comfortable, clean surroundings, giving individual attention to all guests. Home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Murphy's B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s Hotel Dingle
Murphy`s Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.