We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B+B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James G. Ashe's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dingle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
James G. Ashe's Bed and Breakfast
Main Street, Dingle, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 71 Dingle B&B and Inns
Donegal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect B+B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

Surprisingly this B+B was one of the best B+Bs we stayed in. The room was great with lots of light and the bathroom had a power shower. The B+B was right in the centre of the town, and the breakfast was great. Even though it is above a pub/resturant we heard nothing. We were lucky enough to have one of the front rooms which looked onto the main street, I'm not sure if the other rooms were as good. Price was definately resonable and would stay again.

  • Liked — Location, breakfast, comfy bed and power shower
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cork
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

myself and my husband stayed at this b&b on may 22,the rooms were newly refurbished with new linen and carpets we were told on arrival,the staff were friendly without being overly fussy,the rooms were great,spacious and very clean,it also had satillite tv,which was a nice suprise,we ate in the restaurant bar down stairs as the menu looked interesting,and we were not dissapointed,friendly and efficent service,and the food was amazing,i highly recomend the chilli prawns or the fish stew.breakfast the next morning was great although we arrived down late,but it wasn't a problem,anna the proprietor was very welcoming and gave us great information on where to go on our travels,we will be back,sooner rather then later we hope

  • Liked — spacious clean rooms at a great price,and sat tv
  • Disliked — breakfast stops at 10
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

We stayed at this B&B over during our road trip through Ireland this summer. When we arrived in Dingle and set about to find a place to stay we happened to park right in front of this place and thought we would give it a shot.

The rooms are let out by the bartender who is a fairly young, but unfriendly lady who told us that we were traveling on the Bank Holiday weekend and were lucky to get their last room, for which she would have to charge us extra. So she raised the prices right there as we spoke. Being tired, we took the last room at her then higher prices.

The rooms were clean, but the rooms facing the front street, while larger than those facing the back, are quite noisy, especially when the bars are closing in the early AM.

The next morning we went down to breakfast, which is served in the pub downstairs, and found out that no other guests had stayed the night and that we were the only ones at the place.

The unfriendly bartender then proceeded to serve us our Irish Breakfast - which was fine, but we seemed to be bothering the woman by simply being there. She was much more interested in vacuming the floor of the other side of the bar. Oh well.

In summary, the rooms are clean, the food is decent, but the hospitality is lacking, especially compared to the other places we stayed on our road trip through Ireland. If you want to experience the part of Ireland we enjoyed the most, the great people, stay somewhere else in Dingle.

  • Liked — location is right in the heart of dingle - you can walk to everything
  • Disliked — lacks in hospitality
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

We had struggled to find any vacancies in hotels in Dingle so thought we'd chance it witha B&B ! We had been told that our room was the best one, albeit that it would be a bit noisy as it's on the main street. It was quite noisy as we stayed on a Saturday night but we are not light sleepers so it didn't bother us too much. Large enough room, probably would be better with just a double bed if you were staying for more than one night, they had added a single bed (but I guess this could be moved) Bathroom was spotless and the shower was the best out of all of our accomodation during our visit to Ireland. Bed linen was clean and fresh and breakfast was ample, and the service was friendly. One suggestion for improvement would be to change the carpet in our room as it was looking a bit stained in some places - other than that, a good B&B, friendly and in the heart of the town (with some noise....but probably best to therefore join them in the pub !)

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2007

The Location is the best thing this place has going for it which is right in the centre of the town, the pub is like sitting in your grandmothers front room, but full of locals not looking too happy to welcome in tourists. Bedrooms are average but at a more expensive price than other b&bs in the town and can be extremmelly noisy at night as windows are looking out over the main street, but I suppose this is to be expected staying above a pub. The Owners aren't completely friendly, again prefering locals to visitors..and we were not shown to our room on arrival. In general, not an overwhelming experience, best suited to the likes of a stag or hen weekend

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2005

We enjoyed two Globus tours of Ireland in 1999 and 2000. We only visited the pub for a few drinks on each tour but it was the highlight of our tour. The warm welcome and traditional Irish hospitality made our time there most enjoyable. At that time our hosts were Paddy and Sadie and they played traditional Irish songs while we had a singalong. My husband and I are doing a driving tour of Ireland next year and we are looking forward to returning to this place where we had a wonderful time. Next year we will also stay for a couple of days and mingle with the locals. It is thoroughly recommended by both of us. My ancestry is Irish (I am Australian) and I have a great interest in all things Irish.

  • Stayed April 1999
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2005

A big disappointment. Their web page was quite inviting and the breakfast menu shown there swung it for us (Hot Irish Porridge with Baileys Cream and a chioice of full breakfast complete with white and black puddings, American Style Pancakes with Dingle Honey or Scrambled Eggs with Smoked Salmon followed by a selection of Farmhouse Cheeses, home-baked bread and coffee, among the many choices). On arrival we found it to be very much a locals' pub (which is in it's favour as far as we were concerned) but a bit down-at-heel. Our rooms were adequate but a bit shabby and the beds looked as if they may have been slept in. A very pleasant young lady, Sinead, assured us that they were clean but that they never ironed the sheets; she changed them anyway, which was reassuring. Ashe's is convenient for the many great pubs in Dingle, and the attractive working harbour. However, the next morning we went downstairs for breakfast but found the breakfast room (part of the pub's bar) was still locked. All the curtains were still closed and there was no reply when we knocked on the door. This was 8am, and by 9am there was still no sign of life so, with a few hundred miles of driving and a ferry to catch, we reluctantly left without breakfast, leaving a polite note behind to say we'd gone and inviting the proprietor to deduct our cost from my credit card. This he did, but without any discount for our missed breakfast which was our prime reason for choosing Ashe's. And not a phone call or e-mail since to explain the situation. Of well....

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, owner at James G. Ashe's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, July 21, 2005
the guests were shown to their rooms and 1 guest was not happy with their sheets.So I change them.I am a bit insulted by the reference to our bar as 'Down-at heel' .Breakfast is served between 9-10am, As they were told on arrival & as stated in letter in room.Sorry but no note was found & the guests were charged €5 discount each.As we do not keep record of e-mail address after booking , it was not possible to contact my guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to James G. Ashe's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about James G. Ashe's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Main Street, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Dingle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation in town center. All rooms en-suite, sat t.v, Free WIFI,without breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James G. Ashe's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added James G. Ashe's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list