We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful for history and hiking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Blasket Island

Great Blasket Island
Dingle, Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 Attractions in Dingle
Type: Historic Sites, Islands, Outdoors
Attraction details
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful for history and hiking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Loved the long haired donkeys and the hike to the top. Wonderful peaceful place, not for shoppers. The island is full of history but is uninhabited except by the sheep and donkeys. If the weather is clear, don't miss this day trip.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    34
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Gorgeous scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Spectacular views of the ocean, mountains, seals, sheep...lovely hiking terrain and scenery. You can see the remains of the abandoned houses that were lived in while the island was inhabited up to 1953. The beach there is beautiful and I got a very good look at several seals! The mountain hike is a bit strenuous but well worth the views.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great history lesson about Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The visitors center was amazing. Our tour guide touched my heart with his information about the settling of Blasket Island and the people who lived a difficult but happy life. They spoke the original Gaelic dialect. Very interesting

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Illinois
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Worth Going to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We had a great time on the island. We took Dingle Bay Charters out to the island and they were great. The island itself is wonderful to walk around on. We saw plenty of seals, lots of sheep, a trio of donkeys and several Irish hares. I loved looking at the ruins of the islanders' homes. I really want to read more about their lives now. If you get good weather, go to the island, you won't regret it!

Take food/water with you as there is none on the island.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamaica
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So glad we made the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have been to Ireland several times over the years and always wanted to go across to the Great Blasket. We were so glad we went this time! The cost of the ferry is very reasonable. Be aware that you need to wear appropriate footwear..... for the hiking and possible wet weather as well as for safety getting on and off the rubber dingy. You take the dingy from the launch ( we left from Dunquin) to the small boat that takes you across to the island where you get on the dingy again to reach the access to the island. The climb up is steep but there are chains to hold on to. We went over in changeable weather which cleared up for most of our time on the island. Thanks to our informative host at our B&B we packed a nice picnic lunch and spent three hours on the island. There seemed to be no exact schedule for the boat....its just what we love about Ireland. We got picked up about an hour after we had originally planned since so many people left on the earlier boat that it was full. So plan to be flexible and make note that there are no facilities, seats, picnic tables etc. The atmosphere there is amazing and we enjoyed walking among the sheep & rabbits as well as watching the sea birds and seals in the water. As others have said, it was a trip of a lifetime!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Blasket Island also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle Peninsula, County Kerry
 

Been to Great Blasket Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Blasket Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.