We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gallarus Oratory

Gallarus Oratory
8 km (5 mi) northeast of Ballyferriter on R559, Dingle, Ireland
353-66-915-5333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 67 things to do in Dingle
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ancient church built over 1,000 years ago.
nc
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“A must see.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Not far from the center of Dingle town, this ancient stone building is a fascinating piece of history. You can walk around, in, and touch it. There is a fee...I believe 3-4 Euros. Next to the ticket office, there is a good video as an introduction.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    150
    32
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem OR
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Free Access to Gallarus Oratory”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Favorite historic site in Dingle area.
Worth the drive, go up road past large parking lot and enter for free. Fee by private land owner if you go to office at entrance. See Rick Steves notes on easy free access to Gallarus Oratory.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“local tongue lashing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were following the lane to the oratory as described in Rick Steve's book. It is very narrow, and another car came from the opposite direction. We backed down the lane to let him pass, and were given a 5 minute hostile lecture about how mean we were not to use the expensive paid parking lot and visitor center. The man turned into the parking lot, so he probably owns it.
Our only unpleasant experience in Ireland.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Tiny in size -- much larger in impact!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Before visiting the Gallarus Oratory in October, I'd read about it and seen pictures of it, certainly knew what to expect -- or so I thought. Actually seeing this tiny, water-tight structure that has survived intact for centuries, that was home to worship and prayer so many years ago made much more of an impression than anything I'd read. If you have an appreciation for places that have been important to people over the ages -- or even if you have an appreciation for a well-built structure that has survived for so long -- this is something you should not miss. There IS a fee for parking, unless you find the smaller, unadvertised place that is apparently a little further along. I am accustomed to paying for parking here at home so don't have a problem in doing so while on vacation, but I know some see it as a tourist rip-off. However you feel, though, don't confuse the parking with the structure itself; I found it well worth the visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Amazing ...Ancient History comes alive!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

It is hard to believe how well the structure has survived the centuries...staying dry inside over all the ages!!! Great testimony to the tenaciousness of the monks....of the hardships suffered!!
It is a bit of a walk but well worth a visit!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallarus Oratory also viewed

Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Gallarus Oratory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallarus Oratory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.