We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Smerwick Harbour Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Smerwick Harbour Hotel to your Saves list
Smerwick Harbour Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ballyferriter, Dingle, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Dingle
Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Drap smelly worn out carpets musty rooms and unfortunately we did eat the food which was horrible.This hotel is rated 3 star well all I can say is this must have been 100 years ago when hygene didnt matter.I hope It will be inspected soon and then shut down.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    39
    15
    19
    29
See reviews for
61
36
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

Very drab hotel , i m not quite sure how it managed 3 star status,i would barely rate it 2 star, very unfriendly at front desk,, thats when there actually was anyone at the reception desk which didnt seem to be often, bad atmosphere and v.poor attitude towards guests generally apart from a few hard worked foreign nationals who were the honourable exception,, signs in the rooms saying water cannot be drank and to use the water bottles left in every room ...of which there were none,, there was no hot water one day for showers/baths ,later on same day there was no cold water , no answer at reception when rang down (repeatedly) to ask why or when it would be fixed , theres no room service, room keys didnt work properly,
Plus points the rooms were big and reasonably clean, the location is great and this place could be a goldmine if ran properly, peak season and i would estimate it wasnt even half full which tells its own story , i cant imagine the % of guests who would want to return to be very high , One gets impression management want to make as little effort as possible for as much money as possible ,
despite all this the surrounding area/scenery and local people made the holiday very enjoyable ......despite the hotel .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Clare
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

If you want to stay in the middle of nowhere in a drab, worn-out hotel, then this is the place for you.
If you are a non-smoker, you DO NOT want to be in this place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Both my wife and myself stayed in Smerwick Hotel for past three days and we had a most enjoyable stay there. We had been very apprehensive about staying there, following some of the reviews published on your site. We had a most comfortable large double room at an incredible room only price of €59. We had an excellent breakfast each morning at a cost of €10 for a full Irish. This whole offer was a great price for one of the most scenic areas in the world. We will certainly return again. Certainly whilst the staff were very helpful generally, we would like to see them being a little more welcoming, on checking in.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Have just had a 5 night stay there with my wife and 2 children and were all sorry to leave. Thought the food very good and excellent value, particularly children's portions which were priced at less than half the adults menu. Bedroom, although not luxurious, was large , clean and comfortable. The bar was an oasis of peace where we could enjoy a couple of quiet pre dinner drinks which was a nice contrast to some of the busier pubs in the area. Combine the beautiful setting, and its a definite return visit asap. My only disappointment was, as most of the staff were foreign nationals with poor English, bar and food orders were not as easy as I would have expected.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claregalway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

When you drive into a hotel and there are 3ft weeds outside the side entrance, you start to get worried. The lobby is dreary and drab, with no character to it at all. The receptionist was polite but never asked us to sign in, or take a credit card swipe, just handed out the key.
The bedroom was musty, really old fashioned curtains, and duvet covers, and I had to think twice about getting into bed with the sheets. The Bath was dirty and the towels were ripped. There was a little basket of pot pouri on top of the toilet just gathering cobwebs, dust & flies. No smell whatsoever.
We were on a 2BB1D package, but decided not to eat, if the room & decor, & grounds were anything to go by I cant imagine the food was up to much. It could be a fantastic quaint hotel, with a bit of effort, okay so a complete refurbishment.
Until then I shall be steering well clear of the Smerwick Harbour Hotel in Dingle!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

I have just returned from the Smerwick Harbour Hotel it was Lovely. The staff are freindly and Profesional. The Food was Top Notch. Atmosphere was Friendly and Worm. The bar was a bit Quite with only a few locals but i like a quite few pints. I beleave that it has only recently come under new management. The room was spacious comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smerwick Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smerwick Harbour Hotel

Address: Ballyferriter, Dingle, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Dingle Peninsula > Dingle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Dingle
Hotel Class:3 star — Smerwick Harbour Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Smerwick Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smerwick Harbour Dingle

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smerwick Harbour Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.